Today is the Day…

18 Jun

Day one of the next sixteen weeks of my life…

16 weeks that will probably have you sick of hearing the words “Chicago” and “Marathon”

16 weeks of torturing running with Kevin because he told me he’d run my training plan with me (if only the race wasn’t sold out…*evil laugh*)

16 weeks of kicking ass and taking names because I plan on owning this race come October.

Week 1 is an easy week:

Monday: Upper body/core workout

Tuesday: 4 miles @ 9:55 pace

Wednesday: Upper body/core workout (a.m.) 4 miles of hills (p.m.)

Thursday: 4 miles @ 9:55 pace (a.m.), yoga (p.m.)

Friday: Rest Day

Saturday: 4 miles @ 9:55 pace

Sunday: 9 miles @ 10 pace

Aside from a quick treadmill mile with my very first personal training client on Saturday morning, and some yardwork, I took the entire weekend off in preparation. My legs are really happy right now, I’m completely healed from my injury, and I’m ready to run.

We have 4 weeks until the Jamestown Half Marathon – the first race of the summer! That week will also be the beginning of the high mileage weeks involved in the plan I’m following – it tops out at 48 miles a week toward the end of the plan. I’m a tad nervous about that, since it typically takes me two weeks to run that many miles, but I trust in this plan and my body, I’m ready for it!

Is anyone else training for a fall marathon? What type of plan are you following?

10 Responses to “Today is the Day…”

  1. Miz June 18, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    Im SO excited for you and shall happily cheer you on as I dont train for a race 🙂

  2. EmilyS June 18, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Congratulations! I remember the feeling of training and running my first full marathon…you’ll never regret that accomplishment…although you might doubt it during some 3 hour runs and around mile 22! My only advice is to do some ice baths aftre some of your long runs. You don’t need to totally imerse your body, just your legs. and it’s doesn’t haev to be “ice” just cold wter. I would listen to three songs (about 10 mins) and then take a luke warm shower. I felt that this really helped with recovery! That and a good massage therapist! Good luck and have fun!

  3. the MF Dre June 18, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    wheeeee!

  4. jencollum June 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    You are awesome! I am running my second half marathon at the beginning of October and my first full marathon the second week of December. I am following Hal Higdon’s Novice 2 training plan but my official training doesn’t start until the end of July so for now I am just working on slowly building my mileage and I have a 10k on July 7th! I can’t wait to hear how your training is going! It inspires me to know that so many other people out there are training for marathons too!! 🙂

    -Jen

  5. Jess Sutera June 18, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    This makes me excited for the marathon, more than nervous — because YOU are so excited!! YAY for marathoning with friends 😉

    PS. 48 miles in a week, eepers! My heaviest week tops out at 40 miles and that scares the pants off me as it is LOL!

  6. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) June 18, 2012 at 1:41 pm #

    Looks like a good workout week ahead!

  7. jobo June 18, 2012 at 3:30 pm #

    Excited to follow your training along the way, dear! I am sure you will do just fabulously as always 🙂 XOXO

  8. Shannon Chenoweth June 18, 2012 at 7:00 pm #

    So exciting! I’d love to run Chicago one day (New York is tops on my list though). I’m running my first full marathon in either January or February. My training just started and I’m both excited and nervous already. Ha. Good luck in your training! If you get the miles in, you’ll be great!

  9. Meredith @ DareYouTo June 19, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Woohoo!!! off to a great start ! I’m not following a particular training program right now, just trying to get back into my running with 5ks this summer. Feelin good!

  10. livelovenrun June 19, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    You ladies with your 40-something-mile training weeks…you’re crazy! 😉

    I have a second half marathon planned already, so I’ll be upping the miles as soon as the weather starts cooling down again after the RNR Chicago. Eep!!! One month to go. Freakin’ out!

    Looking forward to watching you kick some serious training booty…and from what I can see from #1, you’re already bustin’ some!!!

Leave a Reply

