Playlist Thursday: Inspiration

14 Jun

I have to thank Pavement Runner again for introducing me to this weekly series of his – being the giant music lover that I am, I’m having loads of fun with this!

How it works (again, in case you forgot!):

Three songs, one post:

Something Old: These will be songs that are at least 5 years old. I know that isn’t too long to be considered old, but music turnover happens quickly.
Something Current: These will be songs that have been released within the past year. I know, but you have to give me some leeway here.
Something to Consider: These will be songs that are not typically heard on the radio and may be by artists you’ve never heard of or considered running to. This is the wild card category, can be old or current.

This weeks theme: Inspiration. What songs inspire you with fantastic lyrics? Get you moving during a long day, a hard workout, a tough spot in race?

Here are mine for the week!

Something Old:

Artist: Rush

Song: One Little Victory (Especially this version, I hit play on YouTube and got insta-goosebumps)

This song isn’t that old as far as Rush music goes – it’s off of Vapor Trails, which came out in 2002. One reason I love this band so much is because they are so good at progressing their sound with the times.

Fave Quote: “Celebrate the moment, As it turns into one more, Another chance at victory, Another chance to score.” (Kinda says it all, doesn’t it?)

Something Current:

Artist: Gym Class Heroes

Song: The Fighter

This came on during mile 4 of my 7 mile run the other day. The final three miles of this 7 mile run are the hardest miles in this particular loop, lots of up, very little down/flat. I just ran my heart out while covered in goosebumps – it was truly an incredible feeling.

Fave Quote: “Give em hell, turn their heads, Gonna live life til we’re dead., Give me scars, give me pain.”

Something to Consider:

Artist: Dropkick Murphy’s

Song: Tessie (The Live on Landsdowne version is way better – again I may be biased – but I couldn’t find video)

Maybe it’s the giant Boston Red Sox fan living inside of me that finds this song inspirational, but it’s a great pick-you-up song no matter what!

Fave Quote: “We’re not here to mess around”

What songs inspire you?

Signature

2 Responses to “Playlist Thursday: Inspiration”

  1. Melissa @ Live, Love, & Run June 16, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    I’m not gonna lie, The Fighter just made me cry…like sob cry. I haven’t sobbed over a song in a long time, and my instant thought was about me and running. I’m going to write a post for Monday explaining this…you inspired me to bring it up again. (I haven’t in three years.)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Monday Runspiration – 5 Weeks Out – We’re All Fighters | Live, Love, & Run - June 18, 2012

    […] has been resonating in my head for the past couple of days, thanks to Samantha’s playlist post, and it’s the reason I decided to write this post today. What I found in her post was […]

Leave a Reply

