A Perfect Run

14 Jun

Tonight, rather than set a number in my mind and run for it, I set a destination. I told myself I’d run to the reservoir and back. I’ve run this route a few times before and I knew I was in for a hill challenge.

I wasn’t really feeling like any kind of push tonight – just an easygoing fun run. I threw on my headphones, started up Pandora, and away I went.

I think I looked at my Garmin maybe 4 times. If that. I let myself get lost in the music and in the feeling of running without exertion.

Running without exertion.

That’s something even a year ago I didn’t feel comfortable saying. But tonight was different.

Tonight I felt on.

Tonight I felt like I could’ve run forever (if only I had water and fuel…and my fave running partner).

Tonight reminded me of why I run. It’s not just for the PR’s and medals (although, those are pretty sweet), but it’s for *that* feeling.

It’s not about speed or distance but just living in the run, loving the run, and taking it all in.

PhotoGrid_1339714395856

Every last breathtaking bit of beauty.

Have you had a run or workout like this lately?

Signature

5 Responses to “A Perfect Run”

  1. Jess Sutera June 14, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

    LOVE!!!!!! The best feeling EVER isn’t it? Nice work friend!

  2. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) June 14, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    I absolutely love runs like that – that’s what keeps me going back for more!!!!

  3. loramarie03 June 14, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    I love runs like this!! Especially when they happen in the summer months since they are what I remember in the winter when I’m having a rough running day 🙂

  4. Elle June 14, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

    LOVE that kind of run… good for you! It’s what keeps me coming back that is for sure.

  5. jobo June 15, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    I LOVE runs like this!! And I feel like I had one of those today! Weather was IDEAL and everything just went. And I saw 5 bunnies 😉

Leave a Reply

