Project 10: Week 1

13 Jun

So during my first week as the official Fitness Advisor (that’s what they’re calling me! I like it!) for the Project 10 ladies we’ve had lots of discussions.

This is a call to my readers, I want your help – help me answer these ladies questions, I’ve done my best, but would love some insight from the rest of you.

1) How do you deal with the eating habits of others in your household – husbands, children, etc.?

I am not always incredibly good at this one. Example, my mother brought home mini-Mounds bars tonight. So I had 2.

A few of the ladies struggle with their husbands eating habits and others clean their kids plates.

How do you stay on track?

2) How do you avoid overindulging?

My favorite tip here is drink a glass of water before and after your meal.

Once upon a time I followed Weight Watchers, and my points allowance was so low because I only had about 10 pounds to lose, so I “shrunk” my stomach.

I don’t know the exact science behind this, so don’t take my tips on this as professional (plus I’m not a nutrition expert), but the less you eat, the less your stomach gets used to, the less you end up eating. Easier said than done, I know, but within a couple of weeks you get used to it.

Eat 4-6 small meals a day as well – I typically have 5 meals a day, all small, that leave me satisfied but not stuffed.

3) How do you fit workouts in with ________ (fill in the blank: kids, husbands, long hours, long commutes, etc.).

Make a schedule and stick to it! Even if you have to make a weekly schedule because things change.

I know things may still change, but if you have a workout scheduled for the day, give it everything you’ve got to make sure you don’t miss that workout.

I use Daily Mile to track my workouts and I really enjoy seeing all the little bars filled in on days I know I should have worked out – it makes me feel successful.

4) What are your favorite at home, minimal to no equipment, workouts?

I have at least three posts that I could recall on this:

Work that Upper Body

Work those Legs (Wow, creativity with the titles huh?)

Blast that Belly (Okay I really need new names for my workouts…)

Friends and readers – here’s your chance to help me help these ladies! Fill up my comments with answers to any and/or all of these questions and I’ll pass all of your fabulous advice on to the Project 10 gals!

Signature

11 Responses to “Project 10: Week 1”

  1. Marilyn June 13, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    I liked the three workouts you linked too. I really liked how the upper body workout had photo examples. The photos make it easy to follow. Might you consider doing the same for the legs and belly workouts? Thanks. 🙂

  2. Jess Sutera June 13, 2012 at 8:34 am #

    Love this. 1 – If I need to, I’ll make myself something different for the main protein at dinner from what Scott is having if I’m looking for a lighter meal or just want something different than him. Like fish for me, grilled chicken for him, stuff like that. I eat what I want regardless of what others are eating around me. It’s not always easy but it can be done. ;-P 2 – I’ve learned to “plan” for indulgences (wine, a really good homemade chocolate chip cookie or our homemade pizza) by eating lighter during the day to make sure I have room in my calorie “budget” to enjoy that indulgence. It definitely takes practice and I’m surely not perfect but that’s my usual approach and it works for me. (the water thing is good too – to make sure you’re truly hungry vs. thirsty before eating something) 3 – I get up early in the morning to make the best use of all the hours of my day. I sometimes do a morning workout and a PM workout if needed (like barre n9ne in the AM; a run in the PM, or vice versa). 4 – favorite at home work is always body-weight based: planks, pushups, tricep dips, etc. 🙂

  3. Robin June 13, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Hey Sam, I love answering questions like these as these are the same things I have struggled with throughout my weight loss and maintenance. Here are my answers..

    1) How do you deal with the eating habits of others in your household – husbands, children, etc.?

    How do you stay on track?

    I cook for myself and my family has gotten used to it. My husband and kids still get to eat fun food when we go out to eat but at home, we only eat things that I allow myself to eat. This has enabled my kids to learn to love foods that most kids won’t touch.

    2) How do you avoid overindulging?

    I allow myself to indulge in small treats in order to feed my craving but stay on track. This may sometimes include finding a healthier alternative to my old favorite foods but I usually can find something that will take care of that craving. I also use my food scale a lot in order to avoid overindulging on snacks like pretzels and chips. I measure out a portion and shut the bug.

    3) How do you fit workouts in with ________ (fill in the blank: kids, husbands, long hours, long commutes, etc.).

    While I was working, I woke up incredibly early in order to get my workouts in, sometimes 3:30 in the morning. It seems like it is too early, especially now, but your body gets used to it as long as you are going to bed at a decent time.

  4. Stephanie Kay (@stephmommybrain) June 13, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    Can’t wait to see what other tips are suggested!

    • melissa June 13, 2012 at 9:28 am #

      Awesome post!!! I love the schedule idea. I’m learning more and more that in order to manage everything in my life, I need to live by a pretty strict schedule. And honestly, that helps me be more productive too!!

  5. sarah June 13, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    i had a really hard time adjusting to living with my husband at first (before we were married) because our eating habits are so different. now i just really try to focus on making the correct portion size choices for me without being swayed by the fact that he can eat 2x as much!

    i don’t cook us separate meals, but i do like to prep things i like and the freeze leftovers, so that if he wants to get pizza one night and i don’t want to eat it, i can pull something from the freezer. that REALLY helps me!

  6. Sarah {Soxys Diamond} June 13, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    This is great! The hardest thing for me is going to be the workouts. Time is the biggest issue, but another one is I just do NOT enjoy it at all. Hopefully this is something you can help me with when we meet up.

    Overindulging happens to all of us – but like both Jess and Robin above I allow myself small treats, and if I know I’m going to have pizza (as an example), then I make sure my other meals are as healthy as possible. Yesterday we got both pizza and ice cream at work, but I had a green juice for dinner.

    I’m lucky that my husband is supportive if I want to cook a separate meal for myself. Unfortunately when I do that he tends to eat less healthy, and while he doesn’t need to lose any weight I want him to lead a healthy lifestyle as well! Slowly but surely we’re finding healthy meals we both enjoy.

  7. Meredith @ Dare you To June 13, 2012 at 11:40 am #

    These are some really great questions that SO MANY of us deal with. #1 –the eating habits of OTHERS– is one of my greatest challenges. If the food’s there, I’ll eat it, sometimes even if I know it won’t make me feel well after. The best solution is to talk to those housemembers, make your concerns known, and have them limit the amount they bring home, or to put it in another spot. **One thing that really worked for me temporarily was putting the “temptation” food items in a different spot of the kitchen. Taking it out of it’s normal place will make you think twice before going to reach for it. That moment is sometimes all we need to re-think our choice.

  8. Megan June 13, 2012 at 2:02 pm #

    Thanks for bringing all your tips into one place, and i’m going to go through your comments to see what others have to say. Love having you as our fitness advisor and can’t wait to meet you in person 🙂

  9. Rachael @ Ready to Get Sweaty June 14, 2012 at 10:30 am #

    Hey this is great and I love all the tips so far, super helpful!
    1) I live alone so this is really only a problem for me when I visit my parents. When I’m there I typically bring some of my own foods (protein powder, nutritional yeast, etc) with me and suggest healthier options or veggie restaurants I love. My dad uses me as an excuse to visit his favorite vegetarian restaurant when I’m home.
    2.Haven’t quite figured this one out yet. I use the water before, during and after a meal trick too – which has been helping a bit. I also put all my snacks into individual serving size baggies as soon as I get home from the grocery store so I know exactly how much one serving is.
    3. I’ve started going to the gym in the AM to get my cardio/running in because I just don’t have much time in the afternoon anymore. I also try to fit in as much activity/exercise as I can on the weekends.
    4.I love any of the Tone It Up videos, blogitness, or zwow workouts. There are so many to choose from and I can always find one to fit into my schedule.

  10. Carla @ All of Me Now June 14, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Thanks for joining the Project 10 ladies on this fun adventure!

Leave a Reply

