Playlist Thursday: All Pop, All the Time

7 Jun

Are you ready for another edition of Playlist Thursday? I most certainly am – I think this may become one of my fave new weekly posts!

Since I’ve only done this once, here’s a little reminder as to how it works:

Three songs, one post:

Something Old: These will be songs that are at least 5 years old. I know that isn’t too long to be considered old, but music turnover happens quickly.
Something Current: These will be songs that have been released within the past year. I know, but you have to give me some leeway here.
Something to Consider: These will be songs that are not typically heard on the radio and may be by artists you’ve never heard of or considered running to. This is the wild card category, can be old or current.

The theme of my Playlist Thursday for this week is All Pop, All the Time. I’ve been OBSESSED with listening to Today’s Hits Radio on Pandora. At work, in the car, at home, you name it, hence my inspiration for this post.

Something Old:

Artist: Montell Jordan

Title: This is How We Do It

Oh yes, I went there! Can you guys believe this song is from 1995? Wow.

Fave Quote: “You gotta get your groove on, before you go get paid…”

 

Something Current:

Artist: Usher

Title: Scream

I love Usher! Ever since the days of “You Make Me Wanna” (hello, 1997? where does the time go…seriously…). This song is no different, it just screams (hah! no pun intended) RUN! MOVE! And it features Jay Z., which is always a win in my book.

Fave Quote: “Got one life, just live it, just live it” (Amen, Usher!)

Something to Consider:

Artist: The Fray

Title: Heartbeat

I wouldn’t normally consider The Fray as music that I’d like to run to – but this song has a great beat for a mid-tempo run!

Fave Quote: “We gotta keep on running ’til we see the sun” (There are days I feel like I could/should do that!)

 

What are you listening to this week? Anything new for me to consider?!

Signature

10 Responses to “Playlist Thursday: All Pop, All the Time”

  1. krisranhere June 7, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I forgot about Montell Jordon. You just brought back so many memories, lol. I’m obsessed with Call Me Maybe right now. So so catchy.

  2. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) June 7, 2012 at 8:19 am #

    LOL – I’m going to be singing that first song in my head all day now. Thank you 😉

  3. jobo June 7, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    great songs!! I also have Montel now in my head…thanks a lot ;-P I use that Usher song quite often in my b9 playlist 😉

  4. fancynancy14 June 7, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    Oh Montell Jordan!!! Love it!! I’m really into Pit Bull these days…then again I feel like I always am! I do however giggle to myself when I think about what my students would say if they knew I listened to the same music as them!!!

  5. who's running this place anyway June 7, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    Something you probably have never heard since I’m 36, and you look much younger than me 🙂 : It’s called “Sandstorm” by Darude – and it’s made it on to every one of my running playlists. Even at 35 weeks pregnant when I hear it – I can’t help but pick up my pace and run my little heart out!! It starts out a bit tame but picks it up around a minute – and then reaches a point where it goes back to quieter again and then kicks it into high gear. If you happen to check it out and like it, then let me know! I am curious to see what someone else thinks about it 🙂

    • runcupcake June 8, 2012 at 6:29 am #

      Im not that much younger than you! And I love that song – perfect for getting the body into motion!

  6. Rachael @ Ready To Get Sweaty June 8, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    Scream is one of my favorite songs right now. Definiltey helps pick up the pace on the running list.

  7. Pavement Runner (@PavementRunner) June 20, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    “This is how we do it” was the song they played repeatedly in 8th grade… yep.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playlist Thursday Goes Rock | PavementRunner - June 14, 2012

    […] @runcupcake — Running on Cupcakes: All Pop, All The Time (6/7) […]

Leave a Reply

