You Say It’s National Running Day?!

6 Jun

That’s a “holiday” I can get on board with! After taking a week off of running because of the shin thing I’ve been talking about – Kevin and I set out for some speed intervals last night.

He’s never run intervals in a training run before so we agreed on a few 400m intervals. He kicked my ass. That’s what I get for telling him to run 400’s “balls to the wall.” I did say not so hard that the next intervals were too hard – oops. Oh wait, that was just my DAMN LUNGS.

K's First Speedwork

6:44?! That’s a 400m PR for me! My lungs were SCREAMING – Hence the slow down on the 3rd interval by a minute, and then the walk break.

Once my lungs (and stomach) returned to normal we started running again, and agreed to just work toward a constant speed increase for the final mile.

Not to be outdone by a boy (he may kill me for this) I pushed the last 1/4 mile or so and ended with a killer kick, and I won (were we racing? Yes, I’m always racing…)! I’m really enjoying having someone to run with that can kick my butt in the short distance speed department, while I whip him into half marathon shape for his FIRST half marathon (I feel like I told you guys this already? yes? no? Am I losing my mind?).

Then tonight I got home from work and somehow pulled this off:

National Run Day Run

The day after intervals with a fast finish? I have no idea where this run came from but it felt great! I’m feeling it now – but I stretched, I’m hydrating, I drank my protein smoothie, and I’m swaddled in compression.

Now I’m off to write up some fitness questionnaires for a new project I’m working with another blogger on – more on that soon!

Did you celebrate National Running Day?!

Signature

3 Responses to “You Say It’s National Running Day?!”

  1. Jess Sutera June 7, 2012 at 7:57 am #

    Rock on with your speedy intervals! Love it! And am jealous since I didn’t get to run on nat’l running day (in the office all day, red sox at night with the team) and won’t get to run today either (back in the office after I teach this AM). ITCHING to run — tomorrow ought to be a killer good run then, I do believe (hope!!). 🙂

  2. christa June 7, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    Yup, I ran 3 miles on my beautiful quiet dirt road before work.

  3. jobo June 7, 2012 at 9:48 am #

    Wow, nicely done!! Good work to you AND Kevin!! Amazing. Asslap 😉

Leave a Reply

