Taking it Easy

3 Jun

Good morning and Happy Sunday! It’s a beautiful day here!

I think one of the reasons I haven’t been writing much is because I haven’t been running much. I still managed 71 miles in May, which is great considering I wasn’t really trying for that. A couple of 8 milers in there, plus a half marathon, certainly helped with that number!

So remember how I told you guys that I fell down the stairs? Something tells me that is what contributed to my sore shin – I think I may have hit my right shin with my left heel during the fall.

Last Monday Kevin and I ran 8 miles, then went out for a 5k loop the very next night.  A 5k loop that started with an 8:05 first mile, which left me incredibly sore afterwards (the rest of the run was slower – leaving us with a 9:12 average over the 3.1).

Ice, rest, yoga, more rest – my shin feels great today, especially since I haven’t run since Tuesday.

I’ve made the decision that between now and June 18th, when I start my Chicago training, will be easy, short runs, totally based around how my legs feel. That’s 16 days of simple, no stress, easy runs that should leave me feeling 100% healthy for the start of the 16 week Runner’s World program I told you guys I was following the other night.

We’ll be headed out for one of those easy runs later on tonight. I like this free and easy feeling between races, because as soon as June 18th rolls around I’m going to be all marathon business again!

I hope everyone’s having a fabulous weekend!

XOXO

Signature

P.S. We’ll be back to regularly scheduled Sunday programming (aka Sweat to Street) next Sunday. I purchased one item yesterday that can be both sweat and street that I’m wicked excited about!

11 Responses to “Taking it Easy”

  1. Jess Sutera June 3, 2012 at 11:25 am #

    Embrace this time friend, marathon training will be here before you know it!!

    • runcupcake June 4, 2012 at 12:44 pm #

      OMG I know right? The two week countdown is on, and I’ve never done a 16 week program before. I’m skeered! 😉

  2. krisranhere June 3, 2012 at 11:52 am #

    I didn’t realize you were training for Chicago (maybe I did and forgot :/ ) That is my favorite race! Can’t wait to read about your training!

    • runcupcake June 4, 2012 at 12:43 pm #

      I’m beyond excited to run Chicago! I cannot wait until it’s here already! 🙂

  3. jobo June 3, 2012 at 12:45 pm #

    sounds like a perfect plan! plan-less running until its down to business 😉 happy weekend!

    • runcupcake June 4, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

      Yes, indeed! Happy weekend it was! 🙂

  4. Miz June 4, 2012 at 5:41 am #

    you know me. I neeed the sweat to street to ANY FASHION TIPS

  5. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) June 4, 2012 at 8:23 am #

    Sounds like a great running plan to me. Enjoy the runs don’t force them or feel that you have to put in a certain number for no particular reason.

    • runcupcake June 4, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

      I’ve really been enjoying it this past couple of weeks, just doing whatever/whenever. Once I’m back to race training it’s all strict all the time.

  6. loramarie03 June 4, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

    Awesome, way to hit that # of miles in May!!

Leave a Reply

