AMAZING Memorial Day Weekend Recap

29 May

Hey everyone! Sorry for the unexpected 4 day blogging hiatus – I last minute decided to unplug for the weekend, and it was well worth it.

It all started Friday morning when I took my NASM Certified Personal Trainer Exam and I PASSED! Stay tuned for MUCH, MUCH more on that in the very near future.

Then, Friday night  I went out with someone who is going to be an integral part of my life going forward. Someone who I ran 8 miles with last weekend and had an amazing time (followed by an almost as amazing breakfast). Someone who I ran 8 miles with yesterday as well – and took great care of me as I suffered in the heat of the day. Someone who fit right in with my friends on Saturday night as if he’s known them as long as I have.

I know, I know, I’m being vague, but I’m not sure how much I want to divulge right now. Perhaps more later? We shall see.

Speaking of that party – more amazingness. Jess really is the hostess with the mostest, I am not joking. She threw a party for her hubby’s birthday Saturday night and it was a fantastic time. I sure do love these gals (and their boys, and all of their other friends/family that I got to meet!):

Girls

Thanks for the pic, Jo!

Things are really falling into place for me right now. I changed positions at my company – I’m still not sure how  I feel about staying there while I build up my fitness career, but this new position is WAY better than my old one. I have to think, trouble shoot, problem solve, and prioritize. All of that without having to answer phones, DOUBLE BONUS!

So, back to that 8 miles yesterday for a minute. OMG. That is all. It is way over average temperatures for this time of year right now – it was 83 during our run yesterday. Mostly in the sun. I am so not used to that!

It got me to thinking though – in the past couple of years it has been HOT in Chicago in October. How am I going to meet my goal if I run early morning’s all the time, not in the heat of the day? So, I decided it’s time to start heat acclimating. I’m going to run after work from now on, and get used to this weather!

Starting tonight…it’s going to be about 80 by the time I head out for my run. I’ve drank 75 oz. of water, 16 oz. of Nuun, and 11 oz. of Coconut Water throughout the day. I’d say I’m hydrated! Wish me luck!

I hope everyone had as amazing of a weekend as I did!

Signature

 

12 Responses to “AMAZING Memorial Day Weekend Recap”

  1. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal May 29, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Your vagueness is killing me, lady! 🙂

    • runcupcake May 29, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      There will be more deets very very soon 😉

  2. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) May 29, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    I so wish I could have been there for the birthday festivities. Might be a bit jealous. Sounds like we had a similar 8-miler. It was already flipping 80 when I started and 87 by the time I was done. I thought I was becoming one with the pavement! I am soooo happy for you and the way things are looking up!

    • runcupcake May 29, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

      We will def have an epic party while you’re here too though!

  3. Paula Salisbury May 29, 2012 at 7:44 pm #

    so, you ran 8 miles yesterday? 🙂

  4. jobo May 29, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

    YAY!! I can see you smiling as you write this post! I am so happy that things are falling into place for you and that we got to spend so much time together on Saturday!! SUCH a fun EPIC evening! And I LOVE how that pic came out of us! So cuuuute 🙂 just as cuuuuute as a certain vague someone 😉 heehee! (oh and awesome job on knocking down those 8 milers! rocking!)

  5. Lindsay (@LeanGrnBeanBlog) May 30, 2012 at 12:58 am #

    love that pic of you guys! congrats on passing!

  6. krisranhere May 30, 2012 at 6:26 am #

    Congrats on passing your Personal trainer exam!!

  7. Jess Sutera May 30, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    looooove how happy you sound in this post. the joy and glee in your words is so obvious, I LOVE IT!!! Thank you SO MUCH for coming to the party this weekned, it was EPIC I must say 😉 xoxox

  8. readytogetsweaty May 30, 2012 at 12:51 pm #

    That is a great pic of you girls! Congrats again on passing your exam 🙂

  9. scanney May 30, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

    Congrats on passing! Can’t wait to see you start building your fitness career!

  10. livelovenrun May 31, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    First off, congrats again on your CPT exam!!!!

    Second, I LOVE that picture of you three. LOVE it. Seriously. Can you tell I love it?

    Third, I’m terrified of the heat in Chicago this July…so I’ve been running later, too. It’s hot. It’s gross. But I have to do it. lol

Leave a Reply

