The Beauty of it All

23 May

Now that my passion for photography has grown by leaps and bounds (and since I discovered how easy it is to edit pictures in Picasa!) I take a million more pictures than I ever did, and I put a lot more thought into them.

With that came the thought – I sure do live in a beautiful place. I’m surrounded by forests, 45 minutes from the beach (if I leave my house early enough to avoid traffic), 2 hours from the mountains. It’s really a helluva place to live. I was also thinking that as I wandered the beach with Lexi on Saturday, so I pulled out my phone and started snapping away (every picture here was taken with my phone).

2012-05-19_13-47-17_4482012-05-19_12-31-50_12012-05-19_12-31-26_262012-05-19_12-23-31_5702012-05-19_12-23-01_9892012-05-19_12-13-03_2272012-05-19_12-08-40_695

Gorgeous, right? These were taken at my favorite beach, Narragansett Town Beach. It’s owned by the town and not the state so (in my opinion) it’s more well cared for. You also have to pay to park and to get on the beach – so less tourists flock here than the state beaches. (And if you’re local you know the secrets to not paying – and no, neither of them are cheating the system!).

I also took some pics on a running route that is right out my front door. Even though I live on a main road, it doesn’t take many miles to find the beauty. Some of these were even taken on the main road!

2012-04-24_18-07-47_2492012-04-24_18-07-34_5422012-04-24_18-02-08_1852012-04-24_17-56-05_71

I’m so lucky to live in such a beautiful area. The winters may suck, but I’m pretty sure I’m never leaving.

How do you feel about where you live?

Signature

P.S. I’m venturing onto more creative posts, versus the typical “This is what I ran today, this was my workout today.” I figure I’ll just recap those once a week, and channel my creative side more other days, as well as address stuff I want to talk to you about. I really enjoy posts like this, and last night. Whaddya think?!

10 Responses to “The Beauty of it All”

  1. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal May 23, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    I love Colorado and know that I’ll never leave permanently! There is something about the Rockies that makes me feel happy and alive and I can’t imagine ever living far from them. I spent some time living abroad and even though I loved it, I was dying to return home to my mountains 🙂

  2. Jess Sutera May 23, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    write from the heart, it’ll never steer you wrong! I dig this post, so pretty!

  3. wilddaughter May 23, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Great post – thank you for sharing some of your local beauty! How lovely.

    I’m pretty lucky where I live – I straddle an interesting mix of suburbia / small-town Americana and farmland. I can run out narrow winding roads through farms and see scenes like baby goats that are only visible in the tall grass because one is standing on the other’s back. Head out another direction and I can run into town, on pretty little tree-lined streets with quaint houses and nice sidewalks. I can target my run to gentle rollers or some steep hill repeats. My development of new homes (about 10 years old) is outside of the town proper, but has a paved walking path that circles around it and, at the back of the development, connects to an easement that drops me on a quiet side-street with sidewalks, meaning I can avoid two busy-but-narrow roads that don’t have shoulders. (I love this little community connector so much I don’t have words for it. On nice days, I see people using it as a safe route to work– there are a couple businesses out past my development. Ten years ago, that would not have been a safe walk, due to old roads that are overburdened with traffic.)

    Last night, I ran from my house to my nutritionist’s office, had my appointment, and ran home. It was a beautiful night for a run! On the weekends, I can strap on my backpack, hop on my bike and ride to any of several different farms to pick up amazing local food (within biking distance, there is a raw dairy, an American Bison farm, a Black Angus farm, a bee-keeper, an organic poultry farm and a couple great vegetable stands. The dairy expanded their farm store a few years ago and now carries a wider variety of food from other local, family-run, sustainable farms within a 30-mile radius. How lucky am I?)

  4. Elle May 23, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Great pictures… you have a goooood phone camera! And a good eye for it, too.

    I do love where I live. And appreciating getting to know it better all the time.

  5. jobo May 23, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    This post made me miss New England like whoa!! Can’t wait to get home. Gorgeous pics 🙂

  6. Reserved Love May 24, 2012 at 12:02 am #

    I liked this post, I could tell in your writing that this is really something you care about.

  7. nycrunningmama May 24, 2012 at 4:26 am #

    I can’t believe what your daily runs look like! So so so gorgeous! I’m excited to run where we are moving to b/c it’s a lot less populated then where we currently live….so running on the streets won’t be as tough! But we are about 1/2 mile from the beach and 1 mile from the southern tip of Staten Island! I’ll have to take some pics and share when we move!!
    Love the idea of doing more creative posts !!!

  8. christa May 24, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Beautiful, while I love where I live, so close to the mountains and Lake Champlain…I love the ocean, thankfully it’s only a 3 hour drive away.

  9. ahimsamaven May 24, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    ❤ beautiful!

  10. Rana May 24, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    wow- your photos are great!! just came across your blog, and knew I would love it right away, i love both running and cupcakes…. so this seems like a blog I will be reading a lot of in the future- keep up the great work!!

    newfoundlandlove.blogspot.ca

Leave a Reply

