Manic Monday

21 May

I know I know, totally cliché – but totally true. I feel like I’ve been in a whirlwind all day! But we’re not going to let that get us down now are we?

Let’s talk about what I am currently loving on this Monday, shall we?

1) My new training plan. I took a training plan from Runner’s World, and I’m going to follow the basic concept. I’m going to look at some of the Hal Higdon plans – and probably do a combination of the two. Either way, this will be the plan I follow that gets me through the Jamestown Half, the Rock N Roll Providence Half, and Chicago.  I start tomorrow with an easy 4 miler (10ish pace).

2) Beach weather. I took Lexi to the beach on Saturday. Turns out she’s not a fan of the ocean. I don’t think she’s my dog Winking smile I can’t blame her though, the water temps right now are around 59 degrees. Brr. It felt so nice to walk barefoot down the beach though, oh how I love summer!

Lexi No Ocean

3) Simple homemade recipes. Homemade rice pilaf – recipe to follow later in the week/weekend.

Rice Pilaf

4) Passing the NASM Certified Personal Trainer practice exam on the first try. This is a giant confidence booster. Post-practice exam I went through and read up on the stuff I didn’t know well, and even made some flash cards. I have so many flash cards now:

5) My last week of reception duties at my job. I move into the new position next Tuesday. I’m embracing it for now, while I continue to search elsewhere (hello Saucony, I’m looking at you!).

What are YOU loving this Monday? Have anything exciting going on like trainer exams and job transfers? Tell me all about it!

12 Responses to “Manic Monday”

  1. jobo May 21, 2012 at 11:39 pm #

    Manic Monday, like whoa. What a long freaking day. Srted at 4:45 am on the East Coast and ending at 8:45 (PT!) on the West Coast. Yawn 😉 So excited for your new training plans!! XOXO

    • runcupcake May 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

      I’m tired just reading that! Can’t wait to see you Saturday!

  2. readytogetsweaty May 22, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    Love to see that training is back :). I need to figure out a good plan and may also look at Runners World. I’ve been scared to try running on a regular basis again, eventhough I have the okay. Enjoy your 4 today!

    • runcupcake May 23, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

      I understand. I was scared for a while too, just start slow, you’ll be back in no time.

  3. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) May 22, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    Congrats on passing. That’s awesome! Too bad your pup didn’t love the ocean darn it. But at least you got to visit the beach right?

    • runcupcake May 23, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      She liked everything but the water, so it’s a start! HAHA!

  4. christa May 22, 2012 at 11:05 am #

    I’m running the Providence Rock and Roll too

  5. Meg May 22, 2012 at 4:01 pm #

    congrats on passing the practice exam! 😀 It’s great to have that extra bit of confidence!!!!!!

    • runcupcake May 23, 2012 at 4:28 pm #

      Thank you! It is great, I feel so much better now!

  6. Pavement Runner (@PavementRunner) May 22, 2012 at 4:56 pm #

    UMMM… is it okay if it’s Tuesday? I am loving my avocado right now. Eating it with some tortilla chips. It’s my “i-want-guacamole-but-this-will-do” lunch. 🙂

    • runcupcake May 23, 2012 at 4:27 pm #

      Your response made me LOL Ever mix avacado with salsa for “quickie guac”? YUM!

Leave a Reply

