Dairy Free Smoothies

15 May

Now that I’ve had to go dairy free, I had to revamp my smoothie recipe. The biggest challenge for me was finding protein powder that was affordable, dairy free, and soy free.

Last weekend Jess told me about this company called True Nutrition. They sell vitamins, sports nutrition, herbs, natural foods, etc. But what drew me to the company is the ability to create custom protein powder. You can choose any blend of various proteins, carbohydrates, supplements, and fats! You can also choose from a very wide variety of flavors. I created my own powder out of:

  • Gemma Pea Protein Isolate non-GMO (55%)
  • Psyllium Seed Husk Fiber (5%)
  • Dextrose (5%)
  • Fructose (5%)
  • Whole Grain Brown Rice Carbohydrate (5%)
  • BCAA’s – Branched Chain Amino Acids (15%)
  • L-Glutamine (10%)

The right amount of everything that I feel my body needs to recover after a hard workout or run.  It arrives tomorrow, so I’ll be sure to keep you posted on how I feel about it.

In the meantime, here are a couple of smoothie recipes that I’ve really been digging lately, and they’re dairy free!

Chocolate Covered Cherry Smoothie

  • 1 cup chocolate almond milk
  • 1 cup frozen cherries
  • 1 6 oz container vanilla rice yogurt
  • 1 banana
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1 scoop protein powder of your choice

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

Berry Fruity Smoothie

  • 1 cup orange juice
  • 1 cup frozen mixed berries
  • 1 6 oz container strawberry or blueberry rice yogurt
  • 1 banana
  • 2 large handfuls spinach
  • 1 scoop protein powder of your choice

Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

This smoothie can be made in a variety of ways – the oj, spinach, banana, and protein powder are the key ingredients. You can change things up by changing up what type of fruit and yogurt you use!

Do you have a favorite smoothie recipe? Share it below!

6 Responses to “Dairy Free Smoothies”

  1. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) May 15, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    I just have never gotten on the smoothie train. My husband likes them. And they’re always tasty when I try them. Maybe I’m just lazy 😉

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      I love them! Easy way to get a ton of fruits and veggies in one sitting too!

  2. jobo May 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    I still prefer to chew my meals BUT I will say, on occasion, this is a great idea for something different, or something refreshing when it gets warmer! these look so yummy!

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      I like these for breakfast, especially if I work out in the morning. The only other time I have smoothies is post-really long run or really hard workout!

  3. readytogetsweaty May 15, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    That protein powder sounds interesting – can’t wait to hear about it. This may be a stupid quesiton, but what type/brand of rice yogurt have you been using? I can’t seem to really find a brand that I like.

    P.S. I love the fact that Jo says she would rather chew her meals – so funny!

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      It’s Ricera. I’ve never tried actually eating it, I don’t think I’d like it after so much time eating Chobani. But it works well in the smoothie!

Leave a Reply

