Monday, Monday

14 May

So, here we are, it’s Monday again (actually it’s Sunday night – all of my posts for this week are being pre-written now so I can get to studying. My NASM exam is in 11 days!). But, as usual, I want to perk up your Monday. Sit back and enjoy another round of what I am loving now!

1) Going temporarily planless.  From now until June 4th I am run planless.

That’s all. Just run. I ran 5 easy miles yesterday (first since last Sunday’s race) with Jess (I love love having a run partner!) and it was perfect. This week, I’m just going to see how I feel. Slow, short, fast, long? I don’t know. Whatever will be will be and I’m going to enjoy every planless second of it.

2) A new weight routine. I’ve owned the Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred DVD since it came out. Yet for some reason I’ve never followed through and actually tried a level past Level 1, nor have I ever used the DVD for a month straight. I’m going to do it twice a week for 4 weeks combined with running and yoga!

3) Speaking of yoga – I did headstand and tripod headstand in class on Saturday! It was pretty crazy – there were only 6 people in class (apparently not many like yoga at 7:30 a.m. on Saturday?) so as soon as the instructor saw I was attempting tripod headstand she came over to watch/guide me. She helped me get proper arm/head placement, and guided my legs up. Once my legs were up she only spotted me and I held it! Then she taught me traditional headstand, because I didn’t know the difference, and I held that also! I am so happy to see my yoga practice progressing like this!

4) David Guetta Pandora station. From work to laundry – this station keeps me moving!

5) Being trained and certified to help save lives. I took the Adult First Aid/CPR/AED Course from the American Red Cross last Tuesday. It’s an amazing feeling knowing that I now how the know how to potentially save a life.

What are you guys loving this Monday? Spill it!

Signature

8 Responses to “Monday, Monday”

  1. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal May 14, 2012 at 7:50 am #

    Congrats on the headstand!!! I’m loving getting some sleep last night 🙂 I totaled 8 hours for the rest of the weekend, so it was much needed.

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      8 hours the entire weekend? YIKES GIRL! Glad you got to catch up on that! 🙂

  2. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) May 14, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    Great plans for running – just enjoy! That’s what it’s all about. Monday….um….the only thing I’m loving is knowing that this time next week I’ll be waking up to the ocean.

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Oooh ocean. I love the ocean so much, I don’t think I could ever leave it!

  3. Jess Sutera May 14, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Plan-less up in here tooo! So far I’m really loving it. It’s resulted in two REALLY good runs since the race last weekend and should really help me get through this week in Cali. Of running when I can, not running when I can’t, and just going with it. Sometimes our bodies (and minds!) need a repreive from all that planning!

    PS YAY on the headstand!

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 12:16 pm #

      Definitely need a reprieve from the planning – especially OATT’ers like us, right?! 😉

  4. jobo May 14, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Headstand? Damn girl. That’s awesome. And running planless is what I am doing lately too, semi-effectively 😉 Trying to loosely plan my week’s runs and adjust as necessary. Trying to run on fresh legs rather than after I teach b9, but that proves tough when I am teaching a lot this week! But it’s a great way to run!

    • runcupcake May 15, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      Yes, headstand, crazy right? I can’t wait to do it again!

Leave a Reply

