Running after Baby

8 May

/Disclaimer: I love the concept of Stacey’s post, but I am in no way, shape, or form with child. This is, however, extremely important and useful information for those of you that may be pregnant and/or may be thinking about it for the future (I know a few of you who fit into both! *squeal*) /end disclaimer

Hello readers of Running & Cupcakes! I’m so thankful for Samantha for allowing me to guest post today! I’m Stacey and I blog over at Here’s to Life which is a blog about giving thanks, fitness, celebrating life, beer (mmm), and, most recently, becoming a new mom. That’s me below at the height of my running career (post-marathon!).

Me_Photo1

My baby boy arrived eight weeks ago via c-section and, per doctor’s orders, I’ve been doing a lot of resting, recovering, and relaxing. While I waited for the man with a medical degree to tell me it was okay to exercise, I had dreams about running again and took my little baby on a lot of walks. Although, I do have to admit that it was kind of nice to have a break from my usual sweat sessions. And, spending all my time with the sweet little guy took my mind off jogging.

When I got the okay to start exercising again, I eagerly laced up my sneakers and hit the pavement. Turns out….it was hard. Like, really really hard. I only ran 2.2 miles (in about 25 minutes) and it took a lot out of me. I had to take walking breaks, I was extremely thirsty, and I started….uhm….leaking through my sports bra.

During my cool down, I realized I made a few rookie mistakes. To help other new moms avoid a not-so-pleasant first post-partum run, here’s a few tips:

1. Get permission from your doctor to start running again. Regardless of the type of delivery you have, it’s important to let your body rest and heal after having a baby. Be sure to get the OK from your medical provider before you lace up.

2. Hydrate! Hydrate! Hydrate! Obviously runners need lots of aqua but, if you’re breastfeeding, you are already in need of extra H2O. Make sure to drink up before you head out and bring a small water bottle with you.

Hydrate_photo2

3. Feed the baby before you run (breastfeeding moms). You’ll be a lot more comfortable if your jugs aren’t full of milk when they start bouncing around. Plus, you can avoid the embarrassment of springing a leak.

4. Dress appropriately. The running shoes you wore while still hitting the pavement at 7 months preggo probably need to be replaced. Your foot has most likely swelled while pregnant, stretching your kicks and breaking down the support, so invest in a new pair.

Dress_Photo3

Also, be sure to wear a supportive sports bra. If pre-pregnancy you were small-chested and are now enjoying the ‘perks’ of being a mom or were big-chested to begin with and just trying to manage your mondo-boobs, you’re going to need more support. Get fitted for a running bra to keep the girls comfy.

5. Be patient. Your body just went through the ultimate endurance test….childbirth. While you may be mentally prepared to log miles like you did before getting knocked up, hormones are still surging through your body causing all sorts of changes physically. Start slow and take breaks. It’ll take awhile to get back to where you were pre-baby, so don’t put high expectations on your body. Pat yourself on the back for getting started and you’ll get your stride back in no time.

4 Responses to “Running after Baby”

  1. kate May 8, 2012 at 10:40 am #

    love this! i wore the cotton breast pads during my first run back after child birth. They were definitely necessary!

  2. Sarah May 10, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    I totally can relate to all of this! I have had three children in less than 2.5 years, my youngest is almost 5 months and I’m just getting into the running routine. I really really really wanted to start running RIGHT after my youngest was born (V-BAC, I felt no pain, or even tenderness after 3 weeks), but was good and waited for the recommended 6 weeks, and then waited even longer for warmer weather. I’ve actually blogged about similar issues. It’s really great to hear from someone in a similar situation 😀

    -Sarah
    http://onehotmessymamma.wordpress.com/

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Guest Post! « here's to life - May 8, 2012

    […] take a minute to read my guest post over at Running and Cupcakes! Click here to read about my first post-baby run and tips for new moms who are ready to hit the […]

  2. Proper Equipement « One Hot Mess-y Mamma - May 10, 2012

    […] Running after Baby (runningandcupcakes.com) Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

