Running Naked (Guest Post!)

4 May

Hi Friends, I’m Andrea from theMFDre and while Samantha is out kicking some asphalt this weekend, she’s generously let me fab for her on Running and Cupcakes!

So who is theMFDre you ask?? Among many things, I’m “born again runner”. A few short years ago I was told running was not likely in my future and that I should probably learn to enjoy walking.

WALK NO RUNNING

{wait….what???}

I was a dedicated athlete, a soccer player, and a marathonee-in-{heelstrike}-training. I was in the best shape of my life.

This was fiercely interrupted by a snowboarding trip gone waaaaay bad.

Busted

3 surgeries fixed a shattered wrist, a severely ruptured {then re-ruptured} disc and relieved some of the excruciatingly painful nerve damage down my right leg and foot.

I felt lucky to be finally able to walk virtually pain free and my new bionic wrist was a pretty good rain/bad hair day indicator, but I was discontent with the idea of possibly not running again. As you might suspect, after that kind of injury NO ONE backed me up when I said I wanted to run again – they all said I was crazy, off my rocker and worse. Looking back, it’s probably safe to say that not many of these “supporters” were athletes or even casual gym goers. Of course they didn’t get it.

So I read and I read and I read and read some more. I wanted to make a running comeback and I wanted to learn how other runners and athletes had become born again runners after injury and more specifically back surgeries. In everything I read, the key to preventing injury and protecting my body was proper form.

I learned

it was time

to

RUN NAKED.

Time to to get uncomfortable with running. Time to strip my running down to its barest form. Time to start over and teach myself how to run all over again using these tips.

  • Head Position: No one who is bold enough to Run Naked would ever cower down. Look ahead at the horizon, not down at your feet.  This will cause the back and neck to come into alignment.
  • Stride: Run like your feet are Naked! Don’t over-stride and land on your heel, as it causes a braking action – and thus FAR MORE impact on your ankles, knees, hips, back etc.  Like when you’re barefoot, your feet should land directly under your body, and you should land on your midfoot.
  • Posture: Show off the goods! Your body should be at a slight forward tilt from your ankles, not your waist.  Keep your hips forward as well to maintain a balanced posture.  Keep your back straight.
  • Shoulders: Keep your shoulders low and relaxed – don’t hide your face!  Unless you are hauling it in a sprint to the finish {like I am here}, keep them down. If they are too high, the tension will take energy away from your running.

Run Naked

Training my body to run a different way than it felt programmed to do was not easy. Try doing your hair or brushing your teeth with your left {or right} hand? Learning to midfoot strike was not a natural feeling for this heelstriker. The other changes seemed less difficult once I had the strike down, but it took time. The good news was that I hadn’t run in more than a year so I was able to start from scratch – sort of.

And with time, focus and determination, I made a STRONG comeback!

I’ve continued my comeback at the LA Marathon, Boston Marathon, and most recently at the San Luis Obispo Half.

So what’s next? Actually an opportunity for YOU lovely Running and Cupcake fans

{and I hope soon to be theMFDre fans too} to get your NAKED form on!

clip_image002 clip_image004

The Naked Foot race series is passionate about getting people of all ages outside & moving, while having fun. More importantly, their events provide pre-race clinics and training on how to run “like you are barefoot” (whether in shoes or without). Plus –their courses are barefoot friendly if you wish to do so.

They also partner with Soles4Soles – a charity that collects and delivers shoes to people in need all over the world – and encourage runners to bring gently used shoes to the event to donate to this great cause.

So where do YOU win?

Sign up and get $5 off your registration from ME!

Using the code: RUNNAKED12

I’ll be at the Santa Barbara event in October! Join me there! Or Join any of the other races – bring your friends, bring your family and Kids Under 12 run free!

Time to get your NAKED form on – and Sam – thanks for letting me fab on being NAKED with your fans!

{MF Dre}

7 Responses to “Running Naked (Guest Post!)”

  1. Tommy May 4, 2012 at 9:21 am #

    Yay, MFDre! I’ll be at the Nashville event (driving up from Atlanta). So are you going to run barefoot or just follow the barefoot posture/strike approach but with shoes?

  2. Jess Sutera May 4, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Oh how awesome of a story!! I am so glad you guest blogged here so I could get to know you a little bit better — what a comeback is right! Amazing. I love your tips on running naked, I will surely take these with me on Sunday when I’m racing with Sam 🙂

    • the MF Dre May 4, 2012 at 10:51 am #

      Thanks Jess!! Good luck running on Sunday – you ladies will do fabulous!

  3. Lora @ Crazy Running Girl May 4, 2012 at 10:14 am #

    Wow you are awesome!! Thank you for sharing your story.

  4. Paulette May 4, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    Wow, the snowboard photo is so scary. I’m a skier and that freaks me out a little. What a great story, so glad to read about your accomplishments!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. DT Alert: Eataly. « themfdre - May 4, 2012

    […] of all, you must go check out my guest post today on this girl’s blog.  She too shares a love for running and delicious foods {cupcakes}.  Since I posted all about […]

  2. Milestone Monday. {whoops} « themfdre - May 15, 2012

    […] trying to DO MORE GOOD!  If you didn’t read my post on Sam’s blog last week on how I run Naked, there will be more opportunities for a discount this week for the Naked Foot 5K races.  And just […]

Leave a Reply

