An Open Letter: To YOU

29 Apr

Dear Running and Cupcakes Readers:

On April 29, 2011, when I wrote my very first blog post I never dreamed I would be where I am today. You see, when I started writing this blog, it was just my little way of keeping myself accountable on the journey to my first marathon.

I had a lot going on in my life leading up to the days prior to the start of this blog, and I needed something fun and light hearted to keep my mind at ease. So, I ran. Then I wrote about running. And it was fun.

As the days went on, I wrote about food. I wrote about races. I wrote about my new dog (who is now my dog of almost one year). I wrote about Coachy, and I wrote about my family.

And through it all – there was you. You the readers.

You were there to support me when I had a bad run.

You were there to cheer me on when I had a great run.

Bad day, bad run, good day, good run – it didn’t matter. Day in and day out, you guys tune in to whatever it is I have to say.

You give me advice. Sometimes you just listen. Whatever words spill from my fingers onto this page, you read, and you respond.

And I want to thank you.

Thank you for helping me through this past year. You see – I was doubted. I was told “You can’t run.” “You have bad knees.” “You have asthma.”

Well guess what? I’ve done it all. I’ve run from 5k to marathon.

I’ve broken through boundaries I never dreamed of.

All because of you. Your support, your love, knowing that you’re all here for me no matter what.

So, on this day, one year from the day I decided that sharing my life with a bunch of strangers was a good idea, thank you.

THANK YOU. So many of you have become friends – some still just internet friends (but that WILL change), many of you now in real life friends.

Some of you, very close friends that I now cannot imagine my life without.

And none of this would have happened without the support of all of you that tune in here, to Running and Cupcakes, to see what I’m up to every day.

I’m honored.

I’m humbled.

I’m about to cry – this really means so much to me.

I’m living my dream. And it’s all thanks to you.

I love you guys. As long as you want to continue to read, I will continue to write.

XOXOXO

Love,

Samantha

P.S. This song came on Pandora while I was writing. It’s fitting. I hope you all had a great Sunday!

 

26 Responses to “An Open Letter: To YOU”

  1. TwinsRUNinOurFamily April 29, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Thanks for inspiring us to start our own blog! The support we’ve received in just a few short few months is awesome! 🙂

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 9:00 am #

      I’m so glad to have inspired you, the blogging world is truly amazing and inspirational! 🙂

  2. Lindsay (@LeanGrnBeanBlog) April 29, 2012 at 11:08 pm #

    xoxo love you girl!!

  3. krisranhere April 30, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    Happy Blogging Anniversary!!

  4. MizFit April 30, 2012 at 7:53 am #

    Love. Love. THIS is what blogging is all about. Here’s to 50 more years 😉

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      If I’m still running in 50 years I will be a very happy girl! Maybe by then I’ll be running with a walker chasing the elderly guys around the nursing home? 😉

  5. Carissa Bealert (@CarissaAnneB) April 30, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    Congrats!! happy anniversary girl!

  6. jobo April 30, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    aww!! I love this post!! So happy to have met you here AND ‘live’ and to have gotten to be such great friends. You are amazing, you have done amazing things and you will continue to do amazing things. Live the dream girl, you deserve it 🙂 XOXO

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      🙂 Thank you love! I’m so glad we’ve met and became friends. I said to Jess and I say to you, I know we will be friends for many many many years! LOVE YOU! XOXO

  7. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) April 30, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    congrats girl and happy blogiversary! Here’s to another great year!

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      Thank you! I’m so glad that we were able to meet! Hopefully we will meet up again!

  8. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 30, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    What a great post It’s just amazing what happens through blogging isn’t it? The friendships are what it’s about. The support, the inspiration.

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      Exactly! I can’t wait til we get to meet IRL! 🙂

  9. Meredith @ DareYouTo April 30, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    Happy blogiversary! Thanks for being an inspiration. Have another faaabulous year!

  10. Jess Sutera April 30, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    YAY! I love this!! SO SO SO glad to have met you through blogging, you are such a fabulous friend and inspiration and FUN person to be around. LOVE YOU!!

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      🙂 Same goes to you my friend – I’m so glad our paths crossed and I know we’ll be friends for many many many years!!!! XOXO LOVE YOU!

  11. Kierston April 30, 2012 at 3:21 pm #

    Happy Blogiversary!!! 🙂

  12. Wild Things Run Free April 30, 2012 at 4:24 pm #

    happy bloggy-birthday!!! 😀
    Reading all of your accomplishments in SUCH A SMALL amount of time, I am in awh. You’re amazing!! Can’t WAIT until we can meet later this summer at providence! Going to be an awesome day!

    • runcupcake May 2, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      Thanks hun! I cannot wait til we meet, when it gets closer we’ll have to plan more – perhaps a pre-race dinner, etc!

  13. Jim Dodis (@RunBikeSurf) May 1, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Touching post Sam! Guess what, KEEP WRITING!!! Love you too, -coachie

Leave a Reply

