Five for Friday: Run-dition

27 Apr

Happy Friday! I’m blogging at 10 at night…why you ask? Because I love you guys, and because my nails and toenails are drying. I’m going out with a girlfriend tomorrow night and I have a bridal shower to attend on Sunday, so I just had to look beauteous! Winking smile

This Five for Friday is brought to you by (of all things, haha) RUNNING!

1) Running on tired legs is rough. As this beautiful friend of mine brought up in her post today, running on tired legs takes a run from YAY to MEH in a heartbeat. I experienced that feeling this morning as I dragged myself through 4 miles of legs that didn’t want to move.

2) I am a minute faster. Because I’m overly obsessed with numbers (I was going to be an accountant at one point in my life) I compared todays run with the same day last year. I found that last year I ran 5 miles at a 10:36 pace. Today I ran 4 miles at a 9:45 pace. Woot woot! Both of them “recovery” type runs while training for the Cox Rhode Races Half Marathon.

3) Upper body & core strength make for a good run. Even though my legs didn’t want to go this morning, the rest of my body felt very strong. With two weekly upper body/ab sessions and one weekly yoga session, I can feel the difference in every single run. It’s been key in rebuilding my endurance. Plus I always feel so refreshed, centered, and balanced after yoga.

4) A 4:30 a.m. alarm on Friday morning is dreadful. But once I got my butt up and out the door to run those 4 miles, it was amazing. I clicked my Garmin on at 5:07 this morning. Nothing but me, the wind in the trees, and the birds chirping. The occasional car – but I’d say I saw no more than 6 total cars. And there’s something to be said about having your workout done before 6 a.m. (And I do run alone – with mace and a cell phone – you can never be too safe).

5)  8 Days til Cox Rhode Races. I once again meet the Cox Rhode Races half marathon course. This race is my PR race – I haven’t been able to PR the half marathon distance in a year. I actually have myself convinced that half marathons hate me. From the awful rain at Rock N Roll Providence last year, to my hip giving out at the Amica Half in Newport, to severe stomach problems at the Half at the Hamptons – me and 13.1 aren’t friends. Next Sunday, while I run next to Jess, Scott, Christine, and possibly Amy, I am going to stare down that 13.1 and own it. Even if I don’t PR – It WILL be an amazing race. I just know it.

I hope everyone had an awesome Friday! I’m off to bed. I plan on spending all of tomorrow (until my girls night out of course) studying my head off! And enjoying every second of this weeks rest day!

Goodnight! XOXO

Signature

14 Responses to “Five for Friday: Run-dition”

  1. Alex @ therunwithin April 27, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Sounds like a good Friday!

  2. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal April 27, 2012 at 10:45 pm #

    You are my hero for 4:30! I get up for work at 5:30 and I’ve always said the 4’s is impossible so therefor, I workout after work….you clearly proved me wrong 🙂

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:47 am #

      You can do it! I usually get up at 5:30, but I really wanted to get this run in so I could have Friday night off. Just remember the benefits of getting it done early!

  3. jobo April 28, 2012 at 11:24 am #

    asslap on 4:30 wakeup!! Got it done, though, nice!! And yes, totally goes from yay to meh when your legs are tired! Glad today’s run post-barre n9ne wasn’t heinous (luckily I had a pretty full class so I didn’t DO much of the barre!). And I am so impressed by your pace gains, your upper body and core strength and all that you keep learning. Keep it up girl!!

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      Thank you thank you! It’s amazing how much you can continue to learn and continue to improve, I’m surprised by it all the time!

  4. Jess Sutera April 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Yay for feeling speedier and stronger and ready to rock 13.1 with us on May 6. One week from tomorrow, whee!!!

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:45 am #

      ONE WEEK FROM NOW! We’ll be lining up ready to rock! I cannot wait to enjoy 13.1 miles with you and Scott. It’s going to be amazing 🙂

  5. runwiki April 28, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    It is such a great feeling to get faster and feel strong… congratulations! plus the mental strength it takes to get up at 4:30 is awe-inspiring xo

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:45 am #

      🙂 It takes a lot of overthinking before I finally decide that early runs are a good idea HAHA

  6. racingtales April 28, 2012 at 7:33 pm #

    Yes, yes, yes is all I can think as I’m reading this. Totally agree that strength training really helps running and that yoga provides a restorative balance. And yes that 4:30am alarm sucks (which is why I don’t have one…but will over the summer when it gets too hot to sleep in!) but it feels great when the run is in the bag. And congrats on being a minute faster, that’s huge!

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:44 am #

      It does feel great when the run is done! Then you have the rest of the day for whatever you want!

      Thanks for the congrats, I”m pretty excited!

  7. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 28, 2012 at 7:38 pm #

    Haha it always takes forever for polish to dry and I still somehow mess it up 😉 Love that feeling of being out there running early in the morning. And that says volumes b/c I am NOT a morning person.

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:44 am #

      I totally only buy fast drying nail polish, I don’t have the patience to wait for it to dry otherwise! That’s why I love shellac mani’s – if only I could afford to get them every two weeks, right?

      I’m not a morning person either!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mind Article : The Psychology and Heart in Running | mindbeingfit - April 28, 2012

    […] Five for Friday: Run-dition (runningandcupcakes.com) […]

Leave a Reply

