Food, Food, and More Food

26 Apr

I’ll admit, when I set off on this “cleaner eating” mission a couple of weeks ago, I was skeptical. I mean, I really thought I ate right. These past couple of weeks have been eye opening – and now, more than ever, I crave the foods I need, rather than the foods I think I want. Here’s a sneak peak into what’s been going into my belly the past two weeks:

Honest AdeHonest Ade 2

 

 

Honest Ade – 100 calories per bottle, 100% organic, 100 % freakin delicious.

 

 

 

Homemade Greek salad!Homemade Greek Salad

Balsamic chicken with lemony green beans & mushrooms (Recipe compliments of Clean Eating Magazine)Green BeansChicken & Green Beans

Who doesn’t love fruit salad?Fruit Salad

Larabars are by far my favorite go to “convenience snack”LarabarOrange

Who says Z Bars are just for kids? No high fructose corn syrup? Count me in! And it’s chocolate!Z Bar

Tomato Basil Quinoa with Lemon in Salad

Quinoa SaladApples, Almonds, and Nuun – a perfect afternoon snack!Apples & Almonds

Obviously this is all a fraction of what I’ve eaten in two weeks. I’ve also eaten a lot of oatmeal, which I’ve been CRAVING lately (Thanks Jess, Thanks Jo – I swear this is your fault).

Water, lemon water, and coconut water are my best friends, as well as Nuun. You can’t go wrong with Nuun – I hydrate during and after every workout with it.

And I did eat demolish Chinese food on Monday. Cravings. What can I say?

Oh, and wine. Less than usual, but I’m certainly not going without (I did have two glasses of Sauvignon Blanc last night – I was stressed, and had a headache).

The point of this is – I am seeing and feeling a difference. I’m glad to have finally taken the 99.9% plunge into clean eating/intuitive eating. It sure does make a difference!

Signature

27 Responses to “Food, Food, and More Food”

  1. Elle April 26, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Clean Eating is a great publication. And Tosca also has published several cookbooks.

    Sounds and looks like you are doing really well.

    • runcupcake April 27, 2012 at 7:00 am #

      I love the magazine, I’d make just about everything in it!

  2. jobo April 26, 2012 at 5:19 pm #

    Yay! All of these look SO YUMMY! And so much of what I eat daily as well! Oatmeal!!! YES! So filling and satisfying and good, right?! Mmm wine. I’d like some right about now!!

    • runcupcake April 27, 2012 at 6:59 am #

      Oatmeal is amazing, and I’ve found myself craving it! Once it gets warm out I won’t so much but right now, mmmm good!

  3. Jess Sutera April 26, 2012 at 5:20 pm #

    Yayyyyy! <—this "yay" is mostly about the reference to oatmeal. Just kidding. Kinda. It's about ALL of it. SO glad you are finding clean eats that work for you and that you LOVE. Kind of awesome, right?

    • runcupcake April 27, 2012 at 6:58 am #

      It is awesome, and I am really loving oatmeal. It’s your fault. And your sister. 😉

  4. meganhawkins April 26, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    That Greek salad looks delicious-it’s by far my favorite kind of salad. I have yet to try Lara bars, or really any kind of bars for that matter (Luna, Think Thin, Clif) etc. but I think I’m going to pick up a few on my next grocery run!

    • runcupcake April 27, 2012 at 6:57 am #

      Oh you definitely should! Especially Larabars – they’re amazing!

  5. Run To Munch April 26, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    I’m a z-bar addict too! What are those black things in your greek salad? Me curious!

    • runcupcake April 27, 2012 at 6:57 am #

      The tiny little black things? Those are chia seeds!

  6. Kalee April 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    I’m so glad you like 99% eating clean!! I follow the same diet, but I am going 100% starting May 1st (I’m doing it with a few people so we agreed on May 1st, but I am already cleaning my diet up until then). I’m glad to know you can also already tell a different! 🙂

    • runcupcake April 26, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      100% huh? That’s awesome, I wish you the best of luck! I know that I couldn’t do that, even if I tried.

  7. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    MMMM love fruit salads. I kind of forget about them though. And wine….just going to say it’s a must. That is all.

    • runcupcake April 26, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      I forget about fruit salads too, then it just dawned on me the other day so I made it before I forgot.

      Wine is a must, absolutely. I’ll never do away with it. Never ever. hehe

  8. nycrunningmama April 27, 2012 at 4:46 am #

    All of these look seriously delicious. It’s 4:45am and I’m now hungry. Thanks. LOL =) I agree 100% though…I always find that once I start eating healthy, that is what I start craving…I no longer crave the sweets or fried food =) Now to get back on that healthy eating train =) HAHA

    • runcupcake April 27, 2012 at 6:56 am #

      My first thought when I saw the email telling me I had a comment was “Who is up reading blogs at 4:45 in the morning?” HAHA Now I know we were both up to run!

      I still get sweets cravings, but usually just during Aunt Flo’s visit 😉

  9. MizFit April 27, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    YES you nailed it for me when it comes to clean eating and mindful eating. I FINALLY crave the foods.I.NEED.

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:52 am #

      It’s truly amazing. I love it! 🙂

  10. lgsmash April 27, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

    It’s such a different feeling when you’re eating the right foods, huh? When I did ‘hardcore’ paleo for a month, I noticed a marked difference in what I wanted to eat and how I experienced hunger. Even with clean eating and paleo, I’m in the camp that it’s okay to indulge once in a while! drink that wine if you’re out with friends! Enjoy chinese food if you’re craving it! Everything in moderation. 🙂

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      Everything in moderation indeed! I could never live 100% strict to some sort of “diet” unless my body told me I had to (like gluten free or some sort of food allergy).

  11. angienewton April 27, 2012 at 2:19 pm #

    Way to go, you did an amazing job. I need to start focusing more on nutrition. It’s my biggest struggle. The homemade Greek salad looks really good!

  12. angienewton April 27, 2012 at 2:20 pm #

    Way to go! Nutrition is where I struggle the most. Need to work on it.

    Your Greek salad looks yummy!

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:51 am #

      It’s my biggest weakness too – I love rich, bad for you food so much! But once you start, within the first couple of weeks you realize you start to crave the good stuff more and more!

  13. Robin April 27, 2012 at 2:24 pm #

    You take amazing food pictures. I made that same fruit salad after you posted it the other day.

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:50 am #

      Thank you Robin! I love taking pictures of food, probably because I love food so much! Isn’t that fruit salad amazing? I want more…

  14. pacifiersandfruitloops April 28, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    i have an assortment of random food intolerances (gluten/dairy/soy….)…which in the grand scheme of things isn’t too horrible. definitely forces me to eat right! larabars used to be my favorite, but then i recently discovered Pure Bars…have you tried??? they’re ridiculously good…

    • runcupcake April 29, 2012 at 7:46 am #

      I have not tried Pure Bars, thank you for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

