Product Review: Zensah Women’s High Compression Shorts

24 Apr

A while back Zensah was kind enough to send me a pair of their Women’s High Compression Shorts to review.

I’ve been wanting a pair for a while, but at $63.99 a pair, the price tag scared me away. So naturally I jumped at the idea of being provided a pair to write a fair and honest review.

From the Zensah website:

Zensah has developed compression shorts with a high level of compression. The compression shorts feature our innovative seamless and compression technology. Run, bike, and recover faster with the best compression shorts available. The compression shorts provide support to the upper leg, allowing for unrestricted mobility in the lower leg. They also aid in increasing oxygen and blood flow, keep your legs warm and loose while running, cycling, or during any tough training such as CrossFit.

My thoughts:

The feel –  These shorts are TIGHT, but I don’t feel restricted in them. They’re soft and stretchy and feel nice when they’re on. I do find myself fidgeting with the waist band a lot, but I think that’s more me and not liking things right at my waist.

The fit – I received a Small/Medium which says they fit women sizes 4-8. I wear between a 4 and a 6 depending on where the pants/shorts are from, but I think if I wore an 8 I’d feel a bit restricted. Honestly, if you wear a size 8 pants, you’re probably better off going up to the large. They do stretch, but like I said, they’re tight. The shorts themselves go down to just a couple of inches above my knee, so your hips, butt, and thighs are all wrapped up nicely in compression.

The technology – These shorts work wonders. I wore them after every single long run while I was training for Rock N Roll New Orleans, and my hips/butt/thighs always felt great the next day. I now wear them after every long run and after every speed workout. I sometimes even wear them to bed!

The quality –  I have washed and dried (on the delicate cycle of course) these shorts after every single time I’ve worn them and they still look brand new. They haven’t lose their shape or any of the “compression quality”, and they don’t have any pulls or pills on them from being washed and dried.

Overall – If you’re in the market for compression shorts, Zensah has the product for you. I thought the price tag was kind of steep – but I did some research and realized that most compression shorts are about the same. I’m a big fan of Zensah, I have two pairs of compression socks and two pairs of compression calf sleeves as well, so I say if you’re going to spend the money, go with Zensah.

Had I known how my long run recovery would go with these shorts, I would’ve spent the money a long time ago.

I hope this review helps next time you find yourself in the market for a pair of compression shorts! (They come in men’s too!)

Signature

Disclaimer: Zensah provided me with a pair of women’s high compression shorts in exchange for a fair and honest review. All opinions expressed herein are my own. I did not receive any monetary compensation for this post.

16 Responses to “Product Review: Zensah Women’s High Compression Shorts”

  1. MizFit April 24, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    I ADORE ALL THINGS ZENSAH!!
    from their apparel to their brand to their social media team.

  2. Julie (@ROJRunning) April 24, 2012 at 7:23 am #

    oooh a lil jealous you got shorts! I have the socks and they’re great, but I need new shorts and bras up in here lol and I’m too broke to go invest at the moment. Glad they worked out and thanks for the sizing up tip

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      Keep an eye on Amazon – I’ve found the socks/sleeves there at a decent price!

  3. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 24, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    I stil would like to try compression sleeves for my calves after a long run. I just haven’t broken down to buy them.

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:40 am #

      Do it! Socks or sleeves are WONDERFUL post run!

  4. Jess Sutera April 24, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I need to buy compression SOMETHING. I’m thinking the socks or the sleeves would work best for me but have yet to just suck it up and buy them. I think it’s time, huh?

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      I run in the sleeves and wear the socks for recovery. Honestly, if you can afford it, get both. Once you start running 16, 18, 20 milers, you won’t regret having them on during the long run, but IMO the socks are too hot for running in.

  5. Heather Simpson Mursch April 24, 2012 at 10:21 am #

    You have me intrigued. Great review!

    • runcupcake April 25, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      Thank you – they’re definitely great 🙂

  6. Pavement Runner (@PavementRunner) April 24, 2012 at 1:36 pm #

    I have a pair of thigh sleeves… i’m also on board with the price tag being “scary,” but I use them while I sleep and feel great in the morning. I bought L/XL and they don’t stay up while I walk in them. Guess it’s my giant man thighs.

    • runcupcake April 25, 2012 at 1:20 pm #

      Giant man thighs HAHAHA – I sleep in mine all the time, I feel so good in the morning!

  7. Don't Eat Crap April 24, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    I love my compression sleeves. They feel good on and I feel like they support my shins. I can go long distances and my legs aren’t sore. Now they need to come in ZEBRA!

    • runcupcake April 25, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

      Zebra would be AMAZING! I’d buy them!

      • Don't Eat Crap April 25, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

        Maybe we should send them a message!

      • runcupcake April 25, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

        YES! That’d a great idea!

Leave a Reply

