Rainy Days and Mondays

23 Apr

Aren’t going to get this girl down! I woke up this morning bright eyed and bushy tailed, ready to hit the gym.

Okay that’s a lie. I snoozed my alarm until 5:30 and realized I better get up or I won’t get my entire session in, dragged my butt downstairs for some coffee, then got dressed and ready to hit the gym.

Bright Eyed Bushy Tailed

Source

Once I was at the gym I was really ready and hit the weights with authority! I did Day 1 of my Upper Body Strength Workouts for the sixth week! I’m going up in a couple of weights again next week, but some exercises still have me at the same weights I started at. My shoulders are weak – but I think they’re coming around. I also threw in 60 crunches – some of my runner friends and I are doing a 100 pushup/100 crunch a day challenge, for 4 weeks. We’ll see if I can make it. Right now I’m at 50 pushups and 60 crunches for the day.

I no sooner stepped into the shower when I realized “Oh, shit, I forgot my bra and underwear.” No joke. While I bathed I thought of all possible scenarious – drive home to get my undergarments, go without them, go home and just stay home (that would’ve been the case if I went home – rainy, dreary, cold Monday is a recipe for the couch, tea, and soup, right?).

I could’ve been pissed off for being so forgetful, but instead, I laughed and was grateful my outfit would work with the missing underthings. You see, since the weather was crummy, I was wearing pants (rather than my typical skirt), and I had also brought a built-in bra tank top to wear under another top that was going under a caridgan.

Crisis averted. My coworkers were none the wiser. What would you have done?

*Side note: Around noon I received a package, which I promptly threw under my desk to take home and open later. What was in this package? Bras and underwear. Is anyone else laughing as hysterically as I am right now?*

The day almost panned out to be a typical work day – but then I got an e-mail from WordPress requesting me to approve a Pingback on a post. This post in particular.

And who was posting about this post? RUNNER’S WORLD! The post is called “Boston Race Reports from the Blogosphere.”

CAN YOU EVEN STAND IT? I’m stoked – I feel like a cool kid being mentioned by Runner’s World Magazine. I’m still in shock, excited, running around like a hyped up monkey.

Me, mentioned by Runner’s World. ME! Little ol’ Running and Cupcakes me. A year ago, when I started this blog, I never imagined cool things like this would happen. Smile

This post is wicked all over the place, hyper, crazy. I think I’m on a duck sauce sugar buzz from the Chinese food I had for dinner (talk about a mega craving, glad I satisfied that…).

And my final hyperactive spastic thing for tonight:

Giveaway Week Banner

That’s right – Giveaway WEEK. Starting next Sunday, on my one-year blogiversary, I will be hosting epic giveaways, thanks to some super generous brands. Brands that will remain a secret until their designated giveaway day!

There may even be a super duper bonus giveaway straight from yours truly.

You do NOT want to miss this!

It’s going to be a fun week over here in Running and Cupcake land – just as I start to rebuild my mileage, I’m going to have to start tapering (wah!).  I get to hang out with Coachy, Jess, Jo, and their boys, plus RI Jess, and one of my best high school friends and her husband. I’m going to be off the wall next week.

Be prepared. (Am I the only one that sings that, a la Lion King style?)

Okay that’s enough nuttiness for one night. I hope everyone had a fantabulous Monday!

Signature

15 Responses to “Rainy Days and Mondays”

  1. Carolyn Conroy April 23, 2012 at 8:18 pm #

    Awesome about runners world!!

  2. RunnerOnTheRight April 23, 2012 at 8:24 pm #

    Hilarious! I am notoriously terrible at packing my gym bag for days I am going to lift at work. One day I forgot both shower sandals (gross) and boxers (uh oh). Great minds think alike, and I did the same thing you did. It happens, just got make some lemonade, right? And congrats on the RW mention, that is very cool and well deserved!

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      Ooh yeah forgetting shower sandals IS gross, I’ve done that too.

  3. Jess Sutera April 23, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I’m totally jealous of the Runner’s World mention!! I love it!
    ALSO – cracking up that there were bras and undies in the package you got at work!! How is THAT for comedic timing huh?? hehehe

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:43 am #

      I can’t believe the Runner’s World thing, still…it’s so surreal to me, like did that REALLY happen?!

      I’m still cracking up about the package… too funny

  4. Meredith @ DareYouTo April 23, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    Congrats on the write up! So cool. And way to take charge on a dreary day and get your workout in and done.

    Only once did I ever find myself stuck without a bra — I had traveled in my sportsbra preparing for a workout, and just like you, when I had to change afterward, realized I had nothing. No choice but to go without! So funny about the package though; almost spooky!

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:42 am #

      I was cracking up when I finally realized, a little too late of course, that I had a package of bras and underwear. DUH! Oh well, no one could even tell!

  5. cottercrunch April 23, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    don’t that too… way too many times. Now i keep extra undies in my car. haha.

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:41 am #

      That’s a hilarious but great idea!

  6. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 24, 2012 at 8:14 am #

    LOL – that is freaking hysterical. One time I got to the gym and pulled out what I thought were my shorts and they were a pair of hubby’s tech undies. Thank goodness I did have another pair stashed in the depths of my gym bag. And nice job going up in weights. I love when that happens. And congrats on the Runner’s World mention. I think that’s so cool!

    • runcupcake April 24, 2012 at 8:39 am #

      HAHA Tech undies instead of shorts! That’s hilarious!

      I love when going up in weights happens too – it’s so nice to not only see progress, but feel it!

  7. jobo April 24, 2012 at 9:46 am #

    SO FUNNY about the package with bras and undies!! that is awesome. I would have totally gone without. Whatever, nobody knows but you right?? And you are awesome, Runner’s World? Life is complete 😉

  8. Caitlin April 24, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

    I’m excited for your giveaway week! I have a few giveaways coming up on my blog as well – I need to get around to posting them, but writing the reviews to go along with the posts has been taking a lot of time.

    I can’t believe you tossed a package of bras/underwear under your desk unknowingly. OF ALL THINGS! I would have laughed too. I also would have done what you did in your situation. At least you didn’t forget pants, right? Or a shirt? That’s a more obvious missing piece of an outfit…

    CONGRATS on your Runners World mention!

    • runcupcake April 25, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

      Awesome! I’m glad you’re excited, I’m SO excited!

Leave a Reply

