A Tale of Two Runs

22 Apr

Can you believe it’s Sunday night already? Where does the time go?

This weekend proved to be interesting in the run department. As I mentioned on Thursday I had a 10 miler planned for this weekend.  And I mentioned I had a secret plan for 6 of those miles, right?

The 10 miler did happen, the plans for the 6 miles did not. So apparently I just need to keep my mouth shut completely and not even hint at my plans, so that I don’t jinx myself? I’ll try that next time.

Yesterday was my planned long run day – 2 mile warm up, 6 miles at half marathon pace (hopefully 9 minute miles), 2 mile cool down.

I ran my two miles, then kicked up the pace, but it didn’t feel right. My legs were feeling tired, my breathing was off, but I continued to push. I stopped and stretched.  I pushed my butt off, up and down hills, it felt bad. I was sore, but not in the injured sense, just sore. And then all at once, I felt it – my face was on fire, and I was more than halfway through my big Nathan handheld bottle already. It was only 61 degrees when I started but the humidity was soaring at 87% – well that’s something I’m not used to.  It was 70 by the time I was done, the sun was blazing, and there wasn’t a cloud in the sky.

I was also wearing a hat. I do this every spring/summer. I figure – I’ll throw on a hat and protect my hairline/scalp from sunburn. Then I overheat. And I vow to only wear either a real running hat or a visor for the rest of the summer.

So, overheating combined with legs that just wanted to stop moving made me stop my run at 5.25 miles.

5.25 Miles – 50:54 (1:03:16 including all the breaks I had to take for shade, stretching, and breathing issues). That’s a 9:42 pace, I’ll definitely take that for a run I thought was really crummy. At least it was a pretty day.

IMG_20120421_102648

So that’s Run #1 – I left that run with the idea in my head that “Tomorrow’s another day, try again then.” Not realizing if I actually made the 10 that would be more miles in two days than I’ve run in weeks.

Onto Run #2 – I got up nice and early again today (no sleeping in this weekend, I must really love to run…). 10 miles on the agenda, and I wasn’t letting anything stop me. I got up, I fueled, I paid my bills while the food settled (perfect way to make the best use of “food settling time”), then got dressed and drove to the bike path. 

I was nervous. I wasn’t sure if I was really going to be able to do it or not. The first couple of miles I still felt a little stiff/dead legged, but luckily this time they loosened up. The weather was also on my side – a cool, breezy, overcast 60, with the occasional sprinkle.

Well, I did it!

Post Injury 10

Highlights from this run:

  • Stops were limited – once to stretch, once to talk to a nice old man and his dog (He says he could see me in my bright leggings {aka Zensah sleeves} from a mile away), once at the car for more Nuun and a Hammer Gel (I figured I’d take it just be on the safe side), and then for a couple of road crossings. I like it when I can run my long runs with minimal stopping because who stops during a race, unless it’s some sort of emergency, right?
  • There was NO walking. I slowed WAY DOWN in the last two miles (my legs were done by then) but I didn’t walk at all. I’m pleased considering this is my first double digit post-injury run.
  • “We are Young” by Fun is a kick ass running song. See Mile 5 and Mile 6? The song came on while I was in Mile 5, but then I stopped at my car. I restarted the song and ran most of Mile 6. My friend Don says “The song’s beat is slightly faster than 90 beats per minute, which would translate into 180-190 steps per minute. That’s the theorized optimal foot turnover for running.” Well that explains it. I felt great running to this song – I need more songs in that range, my legs felt natural and continued to pick up the pace as I moved along.
  • I only used my Garmin for distance. I knew I wasn’t going to be able to break any land speed records today, so I started my Garmin and then flipped it back to regular watch mode, so I couldn’t watch my pace. I am beyond pleased that my “not watching” pace is right around 10. That means when I get back into really running again, I’ll be able to kick my own butt and really pick up the pace.
  • I set some mega post-injury personal records today:
    • First post-injury double digit run.
    • First post-injury back to back days running.
    • Highest post-injury weekly mileage (19 miles)

Right now I’m swaddled in compression, iced until I was numb, and had some wine and Advil. I’ll let you know how I feel in the morning HAHA.

Hope everyone had a great weekend!

Signature

32 Responses to “A Tale of Two Runs”

  1. jshade77 April 22, 2012 at 10:48 pm #

    Woo hoo! Sounds like a great running weekend! 🙂

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:54 pm #

      It was! I can’t wait til we can do it together again! 🙂

  2. the MF Dre April 23, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Great Job Sam! Way to get back out there and try again. You rocked the weekend.

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      Thank you miss! It felt great! 🙂

  3. fancynancy14 April 23, 2012 at 4:37 am #

    You did great!!! 15+ miles over two days….way to be strong!!! Don’t you just love when a kicking song comes on? You just can’t help but pick up the pace!!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

      I was doing runs like that – 20+ in a weekend, before getting injured, so this makes me so happy to know how far I’m coming along!

  4. krisranhere April 23, 2012 at 6:30 am #

    Great job!! You’ve convinced mentodownload “We are Young” Usually I hold out on songs for awhile but the beats per minute thing
    is cool. Have a great week!

  5. urbannerdrunner April 23, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    Ok Ok, I know you weren’t looking at your time, but still those are some awesome looking splits!!! Great job! Be proud of this run!!!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      That’s what makes this run so great – I had awesome splits without even trying for them!!!!

  6. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 23, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    Woohoo – nice job on the double-digit run! So glad that run #2 turned out better for you. I always run with a hat – I sweat too much not to LOL. I guess I’ve just gotten used to it. What does bother me is shirts – hate for them to stick to me. I get super claustrophobic feeling.

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

      I sweat pretty bad too, but I have a TON of hair too, so between the hat and the hair, it gets too hot!

      I hate sticky shirts, it feels gross too!

  7. eatingforexcellence April 23, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    GOOD FOR YOU! The fact that you listened to your body the first day is great. Sometimes that’s all you can do. What’s even better is that you got up on Sunday determined to get those miles done! Congrats, you should be so proud!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Thank you thank you! I am proud, it would’ve been much easier to just say forget it, I tried. But, I am not about to give up when I’m just coming back!

  8. Jess Sutera April 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    Yayyyyy!! What a confidence boost this run must have been for you!!!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

      It WAS – I no longer feel like you and the hubs are going to be impossible to keep up with next weekend! 😉

  9. Caitlin April 23, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Glad to hear that your second attempt at the 10 miler went well! There’s always another run on the horizon 🙂 and I know you enjoyed it way more than you would’ve if you’d made yourself trudge thru 10 on Saturday!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      You are absolutely right! Maybe it was all that awesome food we had that fueled me through it! 😉

      • Caitlin April 24, 2012 at 9:20 am #

        Garlic bread is the best fuel!

  10. jobo April 23, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Great work my friend!! I find lately that every other run is great and the other is meh…so I get this ‘tale’ of two runs. I am so glad you got this 10 miler under your belt and are feeling strong! nice work!!!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

      I hope that every other “meh” thing turns around for you! And me too! Here’s to more better runs all the time for both of us!

  11. Pavement Runner (@PavementRunner) April 23, 2012 at 1:57 pm #

    “We Are Young” is the best. I have been starting my runs with it for the past month or so. Congrats on two GREAT runs… way to get the miles in and conquer the weekend.

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      It IS the best, I LOVE running with that song!

      My post-injury confidence is definitely coming back after this weekend!

  12. Robin April 23, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

    Way to get that run done. I love that you gave it a 2nd try and it was so successful the 2nd time around. I love the We are Young song!!!!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Thank you! I was so nervous about trying the run again since I haven’t run that much post-injury, I’m glad it went well. I was ready to bail on it any given second if I absolutely had to, so that I wouldn’t get re-injured.

  13. Wild Things Run Free April 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm #

    I already said it on twitter, but I’m saying it again here – so pumped for yo, that you had a good LR!!! it can be so easy to just throw in the towel on a LR entirely after you try the first time & don’t do as well as you planned. proud of you for kicking its butt the second time!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Thank you for replying via tweet and here, you’re so sweet! I really needed that run to go well in order to feel good about my race, and well, now I feel pretty darn good!

  14. nycrunningmama April 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm #

    I’ve had runs like this as well! Glad that you stopped on Saturday, regrouped and tried again on Sunday. There is definitely something to be said for trying to “push through” and finish a planned distance run, but honestly, I think it’s smarter and more beneficial to stop while you are ahead and give it another shot the next day =) Congrats on a great run!!!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

      Thanks for tweeting me so fast on Saturday, I felt better about it when you said you’d quit and try again too. 🙂 I think I would’ve tried to push through the leg thing, if I wasn’t overheating. But that just opens another whole can of worms!

  15. Marty April 23, 2012 at 6:12 pm #

    Some running humor a friend sent to me…

    It cracked me up!

    • runcupcake April 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      I’ve seen that! It is hilarious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today’s Run…Picking Up the Pace « Asics Mom - May 5, 2012

    […] A Tale of Two Runs (runningandcupcakes.com) Share this:ShareFacebookLinkedInPrintEmailTwitterDiggRedditStumbleUponTumblrLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

