Updates Galore

19 Apr

Well hello there! I have so much stuff not related to this past weekend to tell you guys! I’m going to jump right into it.

I’m making great strides with physical therapy. So much so that one of the PT Boys called me his “test monkey” today – as in, he wanted to see how my form reacted doing squats with the stability ball against a wall, with my hands interlaced behind my head. They love me there because I love to stretch – no matter how much I go “ooh, ow, ooh…” I still push harder and farther. With that being said, I’m down to possibly only one remaining visit. I talked to them about my running plans – 10 on Saturday, (hopefully) 4 on Tuesday, and 4 on Wednesday, with a return to the PT office on Thursday. He wants to evaluate me after my longest post-injury week. If all is well I’ll be released from care. They did say I’m welcome to come back, and if I continue to go once a month, my prescription from my doctor will stay good for a year. I may take them up on that. Why not right? Who doesn’t love heat and trigger point therapy?

I’m also making great strides with my runs. This past Saturday was the third Saturday in my half-marathon training cycle, and I had 8-miles on the agenda.

8 Mile

I set a goal of sub 10 minute miles. That’s a minute slower than a sub 2-hour half, which I am still working toward. I’m not saying I’m going to do that in Providence – whatever happens then, happens, I’m not striving toward anything in particular, but I do want to be training with purpose. Love the hills or what? Sheesh. I did stop 3 times on this run – once because I was overheating (the sun was STRONG because I procrastinated and ran mid-day), so I found shade and rested; once to refill my water and fuel up; and once because I didn’t turn where I thought I had turned and ended up with a big ol’ hill to climb (see that right around Mile 7? yeah that one). The pollen count is wicked high – combined with a slight loss of fitness from less running – and my lungs are feeling less than stellar.

Then yesterday I did this:

 Hilly Tempo

I did stop a couple times on this run too – pollen count/HILLS were kicking my butt! I pushed as hard as I could on that last hill trying to keep all of my miles in the 8’s, a 9:03 was all I had in me, but I’ll take it. 8:37 for a 4-miler? I’m pretty sure that’s a PR, especially on these hills. After all I am still going for quality over quantity in my runs.

I have 10 Miles on tap for Saturday and I have plans for 6 of those miles – but I’m not sharing those plans. It seems every time I share a time goal, I don’t get it. I’m jinxing myself, and adding way too much pressure, so time goal in my head only. I’ll tell you guys when it’s all said and done.

Next update is dietary – I’ve done really well with my new eating habits this week – eating LOTS of fruits, veggies, whole grains, and whole foods in general. No junk binges, actually not much junk at all. I ate dinner out Friday night (2 crab cakes and a small salad), brunch on Sunday (smoked salmon eggs benedict – which was phenomenal), and a Dunkin’ Donuts breakfast sandwich on Marathon Monday (what else do you do at 6 a.m. when you’re in a town you’re not familiar with, over an hour from home?). Other than that – the eating is going very well. Combined with three full dairy-free days, and my abs have decided to show themselves again.

Abs No Dairy

I’m pretty sure this is the first time I’ve ever shown my stomach on the blog. I am still working on them, but with the dietary changes I am very happy with what I see. And more importantly, how I feel. No bloating, no discomfort. My tummy is happy!

Final update – Sunday, April 29, is my one year blog-iversary. Time flies when you’re having fun.

Speaking of fun – I have got some SERIOUS fun in store for you guys for blog-iversary week. Stay tuned! (Lets just say it includes giveaways – lots of giveaways – you don’t want to miss this)

Hope you all had a great Thursday!

Anything new and exciting you’d like to share with me?

Signature

28 Responses to “Updates Galore”

  1. jshade77 April 19, 2012 at 10:15 pm #

    Wow! Those are some nice looking abs! Sounds like the training is going really well-can’t wait to run long again. I am thinking maybe in another couple of weeks, I will do part of one with you. 🙂

    • runcupcake April 19, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

      I would LOVE THAT! We need to talk – talk about the Cox race and where you’re spectating, and if you’re coming to lunch. Jess and Jo are DYING to meet you!

      And thank you 😉

      • jshade77 April 20, 2012 at 11:05 am #

        Yes, where do you think is best for spectating. I am definitely in for lunch, I can’t wait to meet them too! 🙂

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      That would be AWESOME! I can’t wait until we can run together again!

  2. Krissie J April 19, 2012 at 10:16 pm #

    Awesome runs! I think the month off killed my speed. I have 10 miles on tap for this weekend as well. I plan to do them Sunday morning. And nice abs! Can you share? 😉

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:51 am #

      Share? Of course! LOL 😉 Taking time off did kick my butt in the fitness department, but it comes back pretty quick!

  3. nycrunningmama April 20, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    That’s awesome that you are doing 10 this weekend!! You will go into marathon training with a great base!! I’m excited to see what you have on tap for those 6 – if I were a betting girl, I’d say 6 at MP / HMP =)
    Glad to hear that you are feeling great and almost done (hopefully) with PT!!!

  4. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 20, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    Good luck with your 10! And seriously, pollen is no flipping joke. So glad PT is going well. That’s definitely great news.

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      The pollen is out to get me! 🙂 It is great news, I think even the PT is impressed HAHA

  5. erickaandersen April 20, 2012 at 9:31 am #

    Congrats ont he blogiversary! Mine is around the same time 🙂

  6. erickaandersen April 20, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    Not sure if my comment went through! Said congrats on the Blogiversary. Our blog were “born” close to together! 🙂 — Ericka @ The Sweet Life (sweelifeericka.com)

    • runcupcake April 20, 2012 at 9:54 am #

      They were?! How cool! Congrats to you too!

  7. Jess Sutera April 20, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    I love all of these updates – you are getting so much healthier and stronger these past few weeks, it’s so awesome!! Nice abs btw, hehe 😉

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:50 am #

      I feel amazing! It’s so great to feel the transformation and watch it happening right before my eyes!

  8. Tina Reale (@tinareale) April 20, 2012 at 10:12 am #

    Hope everything keeps going overall well and you hit your secret goal for this weekend’s run! And that you get cleared even further on your next visit. 🙂

    Also – lookin’ sexay!

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:49 am #

      Here’s to hoping it all goes as planned, I’ll update post-run! 🙂

      hehe thank you!

  9. jobo April 20, 2012 at 1:43 pm #

    Love the updates! Rockin the abs! I am impressed! see what happens when you make some tweaks? You are doing great! XOXO

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:49 am #

      Thank you love! You and your sis always inspire me, just seeing what you guys do, and following your lead, helps tremendously!

  10. Meredith @ DareYouTo April 20, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Lookin’ good! Way to go on the clean eating. I find my stomach (and abs) look and feel better when I nix dairy and oversnacking, too. Now I’ve just gotta follow your lead!

  11. bendiful April 20, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    I want abs! You’ve inspired me!

  12. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf April 20, 2012 at 7:28 pm #

    So happy that your PT and running are both going well! Good luck with your 10 miler this weekend. And um, your abs have totally inspired me. Happy Blogoversary!

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:48 am #

      Thank you! My abs inspired you? Cool! It definitely gets easier once you start eating right and working on them!

  13. Wild Things Run Free April 20, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    weeeee! so happy your running and PT are going well. I’m betting your 10 goes excellent this weekend!! 😀

    • runcupcake April 21, 2012 at 6:47 am #

      Thank you girl – I couldn’t be happier that it’s going so well! 🙂

  14. Luv What You Do April 21, 2012 at 7:32 pm #

    I want your abs!!! I have been ~90% dairy free and I love it…hopefully my abs will decide to arrive soon…haha!
    Congrats on a sucessful week and a fun year of blogging!

Leave a Reply

