(Re) Learning How to Eat

12 Apr

When did my life get so hectic that I cannot make the time to eat properly? Lately I’ve found myself going the easy route – afternoon snack consists of a granola bar, breakfast is a bagel from Dunkin Donuts and a large coffee with cream (hello, that’s dairy! duh!), dinner a soup or salad and sandwich from Panera (if there’s nothing else planned – and lets not talk about their chips).

Granted this is probably only 25% of my eating habits, but there’s also another damn near 25% that consists of sweets. Chocolate, biscotti, gummy bears, you name it, if it’s sweet it’s in my mouth.

After gorging myself on frosting and Easter candy this weekend I was disgusted.

I thought about counting calories (I’ve tried that a few times, and failed. I failed at Weight Watchers too – I hate tracking stuff).

I thought about just weaning myself off of the sweets.

Then I thought – I’ve been working my abs (hard) for the past 5 weeks and have seen no difference. I feel a difference, I’m definitely getting stronger. But a 6-pack is no good if it’s inaccessible because it’s covered in a fatty layer. (And no I’m not saying I’m fat – but my belly does jiggle, and I dislike that. A LOT.)

Then I read Carissa’s post about how she’s eating clean to get ready for her upcoming vaca. And it dawned on me.

DING DING DING You win! Your abs are hiding because you’re NOT EATING RIGHT.

Well duh.

Yesterday I picked this up:

Clean Eating Mag

I haven’t looked through the entire thing, but so far I like what I see. Today I started my transformation.

I am not dieting.

I am not following the Clean Eating Plan to a T.

I am adjusting back to ways of fueling my body for health, for wellness, for my workouts, and for my hidden abs.

I plan on discussing all of the aspects of clean eating and why I don’t want to follow it to a T (other than the fact that me and strict plans DO NOT get along).

I did well today – I am proud, considering I had zero preparation. I decided when I went to bed last night that today would be the day.

I started my day with coffee (of course) with a little bit of Hazelnut Coffeemate (bad – but I ran out of coconut milk creamer and it was my only non-dairy option in the house).

I also drank a 16 oz. glass of lemon water – post coffee, pre breakfast.

Lemon Water

Breakfast consisted of oatmeal drizzled with agave nectar and mixed with peanut butter, with one slice of whole wheat bread with peanut butter, and a glass of orange juice. Unpictured because my phone sucks and didn’t save the picture.

Mid morning snack:

IMG_20120412_103451

Lunch was an egg salad sandwich on whole wheat (95% good – there was mayo) with mini-triscuits and a mini V8.

Afternoon snack:

IMG_20120412_153005Granny Smith

After yoga I had a banana. Then I made my rendition of the Panera Mediterranean Veggie Sandwich instead of stopping at Panera and just buying it. It helps that my bro prepped all the veggies for me! I had that with a side of Tostito’s heated up with a little salsa and a little cheese on them.

I’m still working on cutting out dairy. I know I need to, it’s just HARD.

So, what do you think? I am very pleased with how I did for my first day, considering I was entirely unprepared and just threw together whatever I could find around the house.

Edited to add: I am NOT giving up the foods I love (chocolate, cupcakes, cookies, etc.) – but I am re-learning moderation and self control!

Do any of you follow “clean eating” or any other type of “diet” plan? What would you do different? Enlighten me!

Signature

12 Responses to “(Re) Learning How to Eat”

  1. Heather Iacobacci (@hriacobacci) April 12, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

    I hate that the word diet has become intertwined with weight loss and not the way someone eats – as in their overall diet. I try to eat as clean as possible, but I do indulge (hello cheese dip and pizza, sometimes in the same night). I do try to keep processed foods and sugars at a minimum. Definitely can tell a difference when I get off track.

  2. Tara Burner (@taraburner) April 12, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    I’m a clean eater…have been for awhile now…it’s a lifestyle 🙂

  3. Anne April 12, 2012 at 10:29 pm #

    Im right there with you on all of this. I’ve got to get sugar lessened in my diet. Not chocolate, because like you that will never leave, but processed crap like granola bars, excess flavoring in coffee, etc. I also love peanut butter but am trying to switch more to almond butter, though I know it’s not a huge difference. I’ve just been picking up food too much, which also means spending too much. Good luck us!

  4. Sherry April 13, 2012 at 12:31 am #

    Can I borrow your brother? The prepping is the hardest part for me. And no, I’m not giving up all the goodies. I didn’t go to pastry school for nothing!

  5. Lindsay (@LeanGrnBeanBlog) April 13, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    good luck girl! sounds like a great plan!

  6. Jess Sutera April 13, 2012 at 9:16 am #

    You’re on your way to a cleaner “diet” (hate that word, as you know) – great steps my friend! LIke I’ve said before, for me, eating nourishing, whole, real foods coupled with the things that I love that aren’t “nourishing” per se but taste damn good (dove chocolate – just one, does the trick! red wine – a must!) is a lifestyle for me, it’s just what I do now. But it definitely didn’ thappen overnight — this past year has been a work in progressfor me but I’m finally at a point where I feel really good and at peace with food and the choices I make everyday. You can totally make this your lifestyle without giving up the things that you love (in moderation). You got this my dear!

    • jobo April 13, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      Couldn’t agree more with Jess (duh)…your approach is all about wholesome real foods and moderation and that is key! you are doing great!! you got this 🙂

  7. Krissie J April 13, 2012 at 10:05 am #

    Good luck with your new focus! I also hate that diet has become associated with so many negative things. And that wanting to cut back on bad habits can be misconstrued as being restrictive and bad as well. I’m also envious you have a food-prepping helper! I could certainly use one! 🙂

  8. Kalee April 13, 2012 at 11:43 am #

    I can SO relate! I switched to clean eating about a year ago, and I love it. Like you, I don’t follow it to a T, but I can still see and feel the difference. I kind of combined two of my favorite “diet” books — Joy Bauer’s 90/10 Diet and Tosca Reno’s The Eat Clean Diet (Recharged!). I fix a lot of Tosca’s recipes (just made the sweet potato oat bars–yum!). I also try to follow the rule “if it has a mother or it comes from the ground –I can eat it”. So an apple gets eaten, but the chips don’t. It makes it easier than trying to have all of the write combos each meal and all of that. lol! I also tie in Joy’s 10% “free food” where you get to eat whatever you want/crave that day! So I eat about 1300-1400 calories and 250 calories are for m&ms, ice cream, etc. I do plan out my meals and roughly watch calories, but the eat clean diet doesn’t do calories. 🙂 I’ve done 3 weeks worth of meals on my blog if you need ideas 🙂 (it’s under the nutrition tab). I’m also working on about 2 more weeks now. No push, but you can see how a sugar/panera addict cleaned up. 😛

  9. Caitlin April 13, 2012 at 2:57 pm #

    this time of year with easter, taxes, what have you making us busier, it’s easy to get off the clean eating track. and it’s nice that youre concentrating on quality of what you eat and how it makes your body feel, not the quantity and calories. once you’ve been “eating cleaner” for about a week it’ll get WAY easier because you’ll feel so good and get back to craving those clean foods again!

    as for dairy…i don’t know if i could ever cut it out. i feel so bad that you have to because of stomach issues. maybe if you kept a diary of how you feel whenever you eat it, and how you feel when you don’t, it will effectively remind you of the benefits of cutting it out!

  10. Carissa Bealert (@CarissaAnneB) April 14, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    Great post! I think your approach is perfect! I’d say to read clean eating magazines and books and find what you think can work for you. Make little swaps that don’t leave you feeling deprived and you’ll be amazed how much you can clean up your diet!

    Good luck!

  11. triing2survive April 15, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

    Thanks for this post. I need to get better at clean eating. I suck at it. Honestly, I eat ALOT of frozen meals, etc. I know that’s not the best. Maybe I should pick up the clean eating magazine you talked about in this post. It’s just tough because I currently live with my parents and they don’t live the same healthy lifestyle as I do. Thanks for the ideas in this post.

Leave a Reply

