Work Those Legs

10 Apr

I had my third PT session today. Today was they day they made me run on the treadmill while observing my hips, legs, etc.

When I run my hips swivel. Not all the time, but they don’t always swing like a pendulum, like they should. When this happens my legs swivel inward, causing my legs to touch, my knees may brush each other, etc. (this could also be a cause of inner thigh chafe).  I do, however, have very good running posture (yay for a strong core!).

I was told that I not only need to strengthen my quads, but also my glutes and hips. An additional exercise was added to my therapy regiment, along with the stretches and foam rolling I have been doing. This will all align my hips, legs, etc. and hopefully open up the space between my legs a bit, in order to have the “pendulum” rather than “swivel” when I run.

Today I was sitting at work, wondering about what I’d do tonight. I had thought I’d run 4 miles, then I thought, I ran after PT last week and it was slow and a bit stiff. So I continued to contemplate (aka be a complete flake) what I was going to do. Then around 4 it dawned on me – why don’t I work on leg strength?!

I’m trying for quality over quantity in my runs right now – no recovery runs, no running just to run – I need to rebuild strength, so those runs aren’t going to do much for me. I’m limiting myself to two runs a week while I’m still in physical therapy, and I’m not running on the days I go to therapy because I don’t want to undo everything they did. So I will run on Wednesdays (hopefully speedwork) and Saturdays (long-ish in preparation for Cox Rhode Races Half Marathon).

So I created my own legs and abs workout. This is in addition to the leg work I do on Wednesdays (squats, step-ups, and calf raises) and also yoga.

Legs and Abs

Do each exercise 5 times (per side if it’s a one-sided exercise) and do each set 5 times. Rest for 2 minutes, then move on to the next set.

It’s actually not a short workout because these moves require a lot of focus and form – it took me 45 minutes (and multiple falls off of my stability ball).

I’m feeling pretty good, I’m ready to tackle my first speed workout in ages tomorrow (just two miles of 1/4 mile intervals, baby steps), and most importantly I feel happy. I am focused and ready to attack anything and everything necessary to come back better, faster, and stronger than ever!

Do you ever have one of those “light bulb moments” when you know exactly what you have to do? That’s how I was today with this leg strength. If you try my workout, I’d love to hear how it went!

Signature

 

8 Responses to “Work Those Legs”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 10, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    Glad they watched your running like that. Hopefully all the exercises can get you back on track too. I think those are some really good exercises for glute & ham. Maybe add in some weighted step ups and deadlifts (single leg can be good for imbalances).

  2. Nicholas April 10, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    I’m glad to hear you’re thinking about the post run before running. It’s sometimes better to slow down and think rather than just react. Proud of you. Keep up the good work 😀

  3. Jess Sutera April 10, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    Ohh I kind of wondered if PT would tell you to work on hip strength too – that was a biggie for me when I went to PT for my first running injury a few years ago. Was such a surprise to me to hear that — was all like DUH, it’s my knees that hurt, why are you talking about myhips?? It’s allll conneected, duh me. haha. Yay for strength training!!

  4. jobo April 10, 2012 at 9:20 pm #

    Wow! That session was SO telling, wasn’t it?! I am so glad they did that and are helping you fix the thing happening when you run. Who knew, right? You’re gonna be amazed at the difference with the strength gains and how that helps your running!! I noticed it SO much from barre n9ne and all the strength I’ve gained in my legs and hips (even though I have the tightest hips ever still…workin on it!). Nice job on the weight workout you made too. Smart 🙂

  5. Krissie J April 11, 2012 at 10:47 am #

    I’d love to have my running assessed. My lower body needs some help and I’m the worst at remembering to strength train it. My quads do more work than my glutes and hams, so both of those muscle groups are sad.

  6. portia o. (@runportiarun) April 11, 2012 at 10:58 am #

    Thanks for sharing the suicide plank – it’s fun! I’m glad to hear you’re getting PT and taking it sort of easy. I’m sending healing vibes! (I used to live in California, sorry.)

  7. krisranhere April 22, 2012 at 7:17 am #

    Totally sympathizing with you. I have quite a few muscle imbalances and have committed myself to working on my strength…something I never paid much attention to before. Good luck and wishing you a quick recovery!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Project 10: Week 1 « Running and Cupcakes - June 13, 2012

    […] Work those Legs (Wow, creativity with the titles huh?) […]

Leave a Reply

