Monday Love: Random Style

9 Apr

Hey everyone! I hope everyone had a great Easter (if you celebrate!) and weekend! My weekend was super busy – filled with cooking, cleaning, yard work, family time, and of course me and mom found time to squeeze in a pedicure too! I have a brain full of randomness to share with you in this edition of Monday love!

1) New (to me) chips. They’re like healthy Doritos – and SO YUMMY! Do you see that 16g of whole grains per SERVING?! And a serving is 13 chips, you can’t go wrong!

Healthy Doritos

2) Trying my hand a cupcake decorating. As much as I love to bake cupcakes, I’ve never really gotten into decorating because I didn’t have the tools. I did get a pretty cool decorating toolbox for Christmas, perfect for making carrots on top of carrot cupcakes (which, my brother raved as “Your best cupcakes ever.” Why thank you little bro.)

Carrot Cupcakes

3) Never “fully” growing up. Yesterday I was blowing bubbles with my cousin’s daughters (and trying to teach her 14 month old son how – all he wanted to do was eat the bubble wand). Today I found some delicious “kids” bars at the grocery store. Kids or not, these things are delicious, and the perfect pre-workout fuel. And I like them way better than grown up Clif Bars.

Clif Z Bar

4) Spending lots of time in the kitchen. I spent more time in the kitchen this weekend than I have in a long time. I baked cupcakes, I made quinoa stuffing with leeks and cherries, I basted asparagus in olive oil, sea salt, and fresh cracked pepper then grilled it, and I roasted tomatoes and garlic (for the fun of it, the tomatoes were going to go bad, and I love the smell of roasted garlic).

Food Collage

5) Family time. I spent pretty much all day Saturday with my mom – we cooked, cleaned, cleaned up the yard, and got pedicures. Then yesterday was spent with both my mom’s and stepdad’s family. We don’t often get both sides of the family together on a holiday – and while it was a bit chaotic (my parents house is a little cramped when there’s 17 people {and 2 dogs} in it), it was great. Everyone ate, drank, chatted, laughed, and just had a fun time together.

6) Pain free (fast) running. I set out for 6 miles yesterday, uncertain of what I was going to do/how it was going to go. My legs felt great after my warm up so I decided on 4 mile repeats, then a cool down. I stretched, rolled, and iced post-run, and I feel great today. I still have at least 4 more physical therapy sessions to attend, but I think it’s already working wonders.  If only it could help with my breathing, which is a little off due to high pollen counts/not much running. I plan on re-introducing interval style speedwork this week to begin rebuilding my lungs. It shouldn’t take much.

Mile Repeats

You know the drill – tell me what YOU are loving on this Monday!

Signature

16 Responses to “Monday Love: Random Style”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 9, 2012 at 8:49 pm #

    Woohoo on the painfree AND fast run! So glad you’re feeling better. Love lots of family time and kitchen time.

  2. Jess Sutera April 9, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    YAY for happy feet, happy tummies (those food pics are drool-worthy! what’s the item in the bottom right hand corner, yummy!), and happy memories with family. The best way to spend the weekend on a holiday if you ask me 🙂

  3. jobo April 9, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

    I love your random post! Mine was sort of random too! 😉 I love that you had a great run and great weekend with the fam. Your recipes look delish!!! Love the combos. And that Z bar looks yummy too. Sorta like Chobani Champions…made for kids, but so so good! Random good for a Monday? the mint chocolate chip skinny cow cup I just ate as my reward for a good run and barre n9ne classes tonight 😉 mmmmm!

  4. Nicholas April 9, 2012 at 9:39 pm #

    Where did you find the chips at? I have to try them. I miss snacks 😦 And wow the other baked good look great- I’m hungry again. Glad to hear physical therapy is going well and running is pain free. Keep up the great work 🙂

  5. eatingforexcellence April 9, 2012 at 10:49 pm #

    I love Late July products!! So so good. I’ve also been meaning to try those Z bars…yum!

  6. MizFit April 10, 2012 at 5:11 am #

    it was my off from school daughter 🙂
    all day.

    • runcupcake April 10, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

      Aww, love! You’re such a sweet mama!

  7. OFitCarla April 10, 2012 at 6:39 am #

    I’m loving that most of my bosses are out and I have the office to myself. Time to catch up on some work!

    • runcupcake April 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      Nice! Mine’s been out too, it makes work that much easier!

  8. Caitlin April 10, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    glad you’re continuing to experience pain-free runs! i love the smell of roasted garlic too!
    13 chips in a serving, child’s play compared to my fave TJ’s veggie chips, 26 IN A SERVING. i love it.

    • runcupcake April 10, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

      OMG I have NEVER been to TJ’s. I’m obviously missing out.

      • Caitlin April 10, 2012 at 8:47 pm #

        ahh! it’s OK i hadn’t been since a year ago or so. once you discover it you’ll make up for lost time…in the form of spending $! ha

Leave a Reply

