Weird, Wild, Wacky Wednesday

4 Apr

What a day! I have all sorts of randomness for you today.

First, I ran “naked” yesterday, on the urging of this awesome runner and even awesomer friend. I’m just coming back from injury, time and distance should be the last thing on my mind right? I did a small loop from my house that equals about 2.3 miles in about 24 minutes – but I didn’t even care about that. I know the loop well and I know it presents a decent challenge (starting uphill, BIG downhill for almost an entire mile, then rolling back up and down hill to home). I ran, I walked (side stitch from guzzling water on my drive home, less than half hour before my run), I ran some more, stopped and took a picture, ran, walked again (holy huge uphill – I’ve lost a little fitness, and the pollen count is ridiculous), and then finished strong right to the end of my driveway. It felt so nice to just run.

Spring

Speaking of running naked, I agreed to do something totally crazy. I am going to run the Cox Half WITHOUT my Garmin. Jess dared (yes dared) me to do so. I am running with her and the hubs (have I told you guys this enough yet? have I mentioned how much I love running with others and to run with THEM? Awesome, something I’ve been wanting to do for MONTHS. I. am. super. stoked.). Jess and Scott both don’t run with Garmins, they run by feel. I am just going to put one foot in front of the other and enjoy this race with my friends, without a worry about time. Again, I’m coming off of injury and this may (will) be the only time I’ll have the opportunity to just run a race for the fun of it, no time pressure or anything. Just me, my friends, gorgeous scenery, and a fun race.

Then I was going to run tonight but decided not to, and I’m glad I did. Physical therapy, a run, and leg weights (all within 24 hours) have left my legs feel pretty darn fatigued – and I have physical therapy again tomorrow!

I haven’t told you guys about physical therapy yet have I? I’ll dedicate an entire post to it, likely tomorrow, so I can tell you everything. This super blabby random post is already getting long!

But I do have to tell you guys, a really weird thing happened at work today – last week the boss asked for a list of exactly what I do, how long it takes, and what’s considered clerical (if you don’t know, I’m an office manager at a construction company – but I am also the receptionist – since they laid her off a couple years ago). Not ideal, but I get paid well, with great benefits. So anyway, today I got called upstairs and informed that there’s probably going to be some re-arranging going on, receptionist hiring, etc. and that I may end up in another position, if I want it. It’s a better position, one that actually requires brain work, and no phone answering (MEGA Bonus).

This falls hand in hand with an apartment my mom found for me in Providence – wicked good rent, including all utilities, in a nice area walking distance to tons of stores, shops, Whole Foods, bars, etc. And two miles from where my bro is moving.

Soooooooooooo what does that all mean? I have no idea, honestly. Remember, everything happens for a reason. I’m going to hold off on the job search for a bit while I finish the NASM Certification, and see where this all brings me – who knows, something really butt kicking could happen at anytime.

And finally, I made some really yummy zucchini burgers for dinner. Just like the ones they have at Ruby Tuesday (if you’ve ever had those). They were delish! Recipe to follow – soon. For now, here’s a tease:

Zucchini Burger

I hope everyone had a great Wednesday! I have yoga tomorrow and then Friday is my glorious (and long awaited) rest day, that I’m going to spend with three of my favorite people in the world eating dinner and bowling!

Signature

10 Responses to “Weird, Wild, Wacky Wednesday”

  1. Krissie J April 4, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

    I skipped my run yesterday to let my legs rest and I am so glad I did. Some days you just gotta let things heal.

  2. Rachael @ Ready To Get Sweaty April 4, 2012 at 9:31 pm #

    So glad that your run went well… I’m actually a little jealous 😉 And it seems that things are falling into place along every aspect of your life – double bonus!

  3. Banana Buzzbomb April 5, 2012 at 5:31 am #

    How exciting. Don’t you just love when things come together?

  4. Jess Sutera April 5, 2012 at 8:05 am #

    Ohhhh I love love LOVE this post!! Everything about it (and not, not just because you called me an awesomer friend – awesomer is totally a word btw) – especially that the “just run” thing stuck with you. I’m SO excited to see you run this race “just running” style — I promise you it’ll be awesome, and amazing and a brand new experience for you (and us – have never run a race with anyone else except for Scott!). So exciting! 🙂

    PS. LOVE the update on the job front — you are absolutely right, everything *does* happen for a reason. Follow that path, trust that process!!

  5. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 5, 2012 at 8:25 am #

    See – it’s working out perfectly – you’re getting to run with Jess and Scott! So exciting. And fingers crossed on the job front. Hope it all works out for you.

  6. MizFit April 5, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    the plan for your tomorrow makes me smile.
    xo

  7. jobo April 5, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    Yay! I love this post and update too. Glad you followed the advice of Jess and went ‘naked! It absolutely is the only way to go IMHO (but keep in mind for me, it’s because it totally stresses me out otherwise!). And I love the job update too, everything DOES happen for a reason and if it means staying put for awhile, then so be it! Even if I would rather you be like, right next door 😉

  8. urbannerdrunner April 5, 2012 at 2:47 pm #

    As Jess will tell you I’m a HUGE proponent of running without a Garmin. It’s just one of those things where you can just stay in tuned with your body while on the run. It’s very liberating!

    Best of luck with everything on the job front too!!! Exciting times!!!!

  9. Carissa Bealert (@CarissaAnneB) April 5, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

    Exciting! Glad everything is looking good with the knee and job!

  10. Wild Things Run Free April 5, 2012 at 7:10 pm #

    I run without my watch at races that I’m not worried about the time. It’s SO much easier to just let go and let the “high” of the race atmosphere and energy take you through the course! I bet it ends up being one of your favorite races! 😀

Leave a Reply

