I Wasn’t Careful

2 Apr

Yesterday, I ran. I didn’t know what to expect yesterday morning, so I threw on my capris, a tank, a hoodie, some old sneaks, and headed out to the driveway to start my car so I could go spend an hour with  my old friend Mr. No Armed Elliptical Trainer (my hip was sore).

Suddenly I had this wild idea to run around the driveway.

And you know what?

IT DIDN’T HURT!

So I did what anyone would do – I ran back in the house (literally), bounded up the stairs (again, literally) and announced to the world (or my stepdad and dogs, since they were the only ones home) that I could use stairs like a normal person and I was going for a run!

I changed into shorts, strapped on my new sexy patellar strap, calf sleeves, and good running shoes, and away I went.

I didn’t know what to expect, but this blew my mind:

Post Injury 4

Yeah. I did that. During right before hitting Mile 2, I looked down at Mr. Garmin and he was flashing 8:50 at me, and I couldn’t even tell! I did slow up because I was headed up hill, about the only caution I exercised through this entire run.

As I headed back down said hill, I took a peek at Mr. Garmin again and he was proudly proclaiming that I was running at a 7:35 pace! WOWEEEEEEEEE!!!! Now granted I was going downhill, but STILL, amazing.

I struggled to continue my sub-9 pace through the end of mile 3 – but only in the breathing department, my legs still felt so strong! I need to rebuild some of my endurance. So, I figured two super speedy miles was enough for one day, I slowed up to cool down.

Now don’t worry, I’m not about to get all crazy runner girl on you guys again – yet. My knee and hip are sore today – but not painful. I iced, I foam rolled, I popped Advil like candy and washed it down with wine. (I did read the bottle to see just how many Advil you can take in one day – only 6…shucks).

Tomorrow I attend my first physical therapy session, I let you guys know how it goes! Oh and here’s my new long run schedule to prove I’m not going to go completely crazy (I really do plan on sticking to this, injuries suck!):

2012-04-01_19-38-34_455

And now in other news, I went to Whole Foods again.

Oh. yeah. I have to, you see, because I can’t find non-dairy yogurt (other than coconut and I’m not a fan of the saturated fats found in coconut yogurt) in the regular grocery story.

AND AGAIN I ONLY SPENT $20.

I’m proud of myself. This time it was on rice yogurt, almond yogurt, bananas, tomatillos, and chicken bratwurst (which BTW with sauerkraut and mustard tastes exactly like it’s porky counterpart, minus about 17 shit tons of fat).

And So Delicious French Vanilla flavored coconut milk coffee creamer – wow, say that 10x fast (go ahead, I dare ya). FINALLY I think I’ve solved my coffee creamer dilemma – and get this, it’s fat free! Both my brother and I are completely befuddled by that, but I’m not going to question it!

Did you do anything crazy this weekend? Throw caution to the wind? Buy cool stuff at Whole Foods (or anywhere else)? Let me know!

Signature

13 Responses to “I Wasn’t Careful”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) April 2, 2012 at 8:59 pm #

    Girl, I know how you feel about just getting out there again. Just please be careful. I hope the patellar band helps. I know hit helped me tremendously. And yes, lots of stretching and rolling and not running consecutive days. Baby steps. And you’ll be back in no time flat!

  2. Wild Things Run Free April 2, 2012 at 9:00 pm #

    yaaah!! so glad you got out there and it didn’t hurt!
    Take PT i stride. I just started last week and was miserable. but thats part of the deal. If it doesn’t hurt a little you’re not making improvements! (or at least thats what I am telling myself!)

  3. Jess Sutera April 2, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    You know I’ll tell you to pleeeeease be careful and don’t go all crazy runner girl and go out too fast and think the knee thing is magically gonna disappear. I wish that were the case but sadly, it’s not. so pleeeease be careful my friend! <—and ennnnd runner PSA blog comment 😉

    Now onto the fun stuff — crazy things we did this weekend? How about throwing out the training plan entirely, nixing the 9 mile run I had planned and not caring AT ALL that I missed it. Yup, crazy town for sure.

  4. jobo April 2, 2012 at 9:21 pm #

    Yay!! So glad you had a great run and are feeling confident. nice speedy run too! asslap 😉

  5. janscottphotography April 2, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    I’m not sure which is more miraculous–your run or the small amount you spent at Whole Foods. Great work on both!

  6. MizFit April 3, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    You lost me at 20.00
    You’re my heroine.
    🙂

    Glad you’re on the mend.

  7. cottercrunch April 3, 2012 at 7:00 am #

    wahoo!!!!! let’s keep that hip pain free! keep us posted.

  8. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf April 3, 2012 at 8:54 am #

    Yay! So happy to hear that you had a good run! I hope that PT goes well and gets you back on track real soon. And, do they sell anything under $20 at Whole Foods?? 😉

  9. Krissie J April 3, 2012 at 10:56 am #

    I ran a 5K then played 2 soccer games (about an hour a piece). That was definitely insane and my muscles are dying from it now. I think I’ll just do one or the other from now on. 🙂 Hooray for you being able to run again without pain!!! 😀

  10. misszippy1 April 3, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Woot to running! I’m happy for you. Be a good girl and take it nice and easy for a while (you make me nervous!)

    Congrats on the reasonable Whole Foods bill–that’s not easy!

  11. Paige @ Running Around Normal April 3, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    Hooray for the successful run! And this weekend I did the same at WF…unheard of 😉

  12. Caitlin April 3, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Good for you! So happy that you had a good run. I love your idea of putting up mileage with goals. We’ll toast to each accomplishment at Mohegan this month! And good job spending $20 at Whole Foods – that’s usually just my salad before I even get to any groceries 😛

  13. triing2survive April 4, 2012 at 12:33 am #

    I didn’t know there was such a thing as chicken brautwursts! I was craving a braut the other day. I’ll have to go get some this weekend & give them a try.

Leave a Reply

