A is for Acceptance

31 Mar

Yesterday I sent the e-mail asking to have my race registration for the Cox Rhode Races dropped from the full marathon to the half marathon. I’m a little sad, a little angry, a little excited… and fully accepting that this had to happen.

Why am I sad? I am sad because running the full Cox marathon this year would have been the perfect “tri-fecta” of Cox races for me. I “ran” the 5k in May 2010 as my very first road race (and still finished in 42:19 – a time I will always be proud of!), without having any clue about running other than put one foot in front of the other. Then I ran the half last year (it was supposed to be my first half, and ended up being my third) with a time of 2:10:13 (which is still my PR as I try so hard to reach the elusive sub-2 hour half marathon). So, naturally, I wanted to run the full this year, and I wanted it to be my sub 4:30 race. I’m sad because that is not going to happen.

Why am I angry? I’m angry because I honestly don’t know exactly what happened to trigger the knee/psoas thing. I ran my butt off in New Orleans – but I have never felt so awful post race as I did that day and the week that followed. It took days just to walk normal again (maybe THAT’S what happens when you run at very top of your ability?). Or maybe it’s the terrible roads in New Orleans? (I’m blaming it on that haha!)

Why am I excited? I still get to participate in my favorite race series. I get to run with Jess and Scott. I get to be at the finish line cheering on Coachy as he finishes his 11th (I think…) marathon. And my friend Don, who got out of really running for about a year-ish while his wife was pregnant and giving birth to their first child will  be running his first marathon since…(I don’t know when but I think it’s been a couple of years). Not to mention (even though I have a million times) – I LOVE the Cox Half course. It’s beautiful and enough of a challenge to keep your attention but not enough to have you crying for mercy.

Cox Elevation

The only really challenging hill is the one at about 6.5 miles – the rest are small, but what I like about running hills versus running flat is that you constantly have to change up the way you’re running, so then your legs don’t fatigue from moving in the exact same fashion for 2 hours as they would on the flat. (This is from my Garmin data from last year’s race)

IMG_1812

IMG_1827

Some of what you’ll see on the course (photos courtesy of my bro)! And this year may be even prettier because so many trees are already blooming thanks to the early summer like weather we had last week!

And acceptance… There’s no use wallowing in self-pity because I can’t run the race I had intended to run. Instead, I re-wrote my long run schedule, starting with a (hopeful) 4 miles tomorrow. And slowly re-building from there. I’m not setting a time goal for this race, I’m just going to run. I’m going to run with my friends and have a great day. And I’m going to celebrate – celebrate the fact that I can run, that there is nothing seriously wrong with me, and that this summer is going to bring some hard core marathon training my way. (I have some plans and ideas for training for Chicago, but I’m not ready to reveal them just yet).

Now I’m off to do some P90X X-stretch and foam roll, to prepare myself for my big 4 miler tomorrow!

Have a GREAT weekend everyone!

Signature

 

21 Responses to “A is for Acceptance”

  1. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 31, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    Love this post and the honesty. Seriously, injuries are really shitty. But, they make you think in a different way don’t they? You change your perspective, maybe get a newer, better perspective. So it’s all in how you look at things and deal with it. You’re going to be so much smarter and stronger after all is said and done. Maybe this will be your half PR race.

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Injuries are shitty indeed. But, we can’t focus on that, right? Your attitude and perseverance toward healing with your injuries inspired me!

      I’m thinking that this half could be it – everything happens for a reason 😉

  2. Lindsay (@LeanGrnBeanBlog) March 31, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    you’re a champ, girl! stay strong…you’ll be healthy in no time!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      🙂 Thanks Lindsay! I sure hope so!

  3. jobo March 31, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    I love this turnaround! You went through your frustration and anger phase and now that you allowed yourself to feel what you needed to feel (as I would need too!!), you are moving forward with a fantastic plan B. And you will rock it. Good luck on your first run out of the gate!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      Thank you! It hasn’t been easy (as you know) but I’m trying to not let it bring me down.

      Fingers crossed for tomorrow!

  4. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal March 31, 2012 at 10:46 am #

    I’m sorry to hear about the race but at least you’ll have so much fun watching all your friends and cheering them on!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      Right, no matter what it’s fun. I think one of the best parts is that I don’t have to travel for this race, it’s in my own backyard.

  5. eatingforexcellence March 31, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

    I’m sorry to hear 😦 But you have a great attitude! Keep your head up, you’ll do fantastic on race day 🙂

  6. Julie (@ROJRunning) March 31, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    Wow that had to be hard, but at least you’re still getting to do something and you’re finding the positive in the situation. Good luck w/ the 4 miler tomorrow

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:48 pm #

      It was VERY hard. Thanks for the luck, I feel good now, hopefully that carries over!

  7. Wild Things Run Free March 31, 2012 at 6:09 pm #

    as much as it STINKS you had to drop to the half, your attitude is going to make it worth while! You are staying positive when I know I would be throwing a fit, and kicking/screaming like an infant!

    have fun with the race – that’s honestly probably the best approach. just have fun and enjoy the fact that this is a race that means so much to you! You will crush it 😀

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      Oh believe me hunny, I want to curl up in a ball and scream and cry. It’s beyond frustrating. Unfortunately, I can’t undo it, but I can deal with it.

      And you dealt with your knee injury just fine (at least on the outside!!).

      I think this race is meant to be.

  8. Happy Fit Mama March 31, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    Injuries seriously blow! But bravo to you for having the maturity to look at the positive side. You can still run! You’ll do the full one day and you’ll have the race of your life! Sending healing vibes your way! 🙂

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      Thank you so much! I’m good at getting into my own head so I have to stay positive!

  9. triing2survive March 31, 2012 at 9:35 pm #

    That looks like a GREAT course. Like you said, it looks a little challenging, enough to keep your attention, but not enough to make you want to die. Good luck on your 1/2. I’m sure you’ll do great.

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

      It is, plus the scenery is gorgeous. Thank you!

  10. Christine McCarthy (@OatmealBowl) March 31, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Its best you are listening to your body. It could be worse if you ran it when you should not.

    Love the scenery.

  11. Jim Dodis (@RunBikeSurf) March 31, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Smart girl! Running for a lifetime, as a lifestyle, is all about being smart and knowing when to pull back and regroup for a while when things get dicey. It happens to all runners. You’re gonna kill Chicago! Get well Sambamabanana!

  12. Jess Sutera April 2, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    AWESOME outlook friend. I’m so glad you’ve gotten past the injury part itself and are moving into “let’s fix this thing” mode instead. That is absolutely the smart, right thing to do. You are going to be an even STRONGER runner because of this — your legs will be strong from strength training (yay strength training!) and your mind will be even more determined to kill it in Chicago (and in May with me!, whee!). xoxo you got this!

Leave a Reply

