Everything Happens for a Reason

29 Mar

I’ve heard this a few times since I got the diagnosis on my leg last night. And it got me thinking.

146-coffee-cup-everything-happens-for-a-reason-fall-apart-fall-together-Favim.com-40989

(Source)

I am a huge believer that everything happens for a reason. What are the reasons for this injury?

…I have approximately 7 weeks to finish studying AND test for NASM. Without 3 1/2 – 4 hour long training runs, I have more time.

…I now truly realize the importance of leg strength as part of my running routine.

…I will most likely run my favorite half marathon course with one of my favorite people and her awesome hubby. And no matter what I get to spend time with them, with Jo and M, with Coachy, and with lots of other friends and family that day.

…I am stepping back and becoming more aware of what I eat (that’s a whole post on its own.)

…I am going to OWN the Chicago Marathon in October.

thingsthatmattermost

(Source)

What has happened to YOU lately that has made you realize everything happens for a reason?

Signature

 

22 Responses to “Everything Happens for a Reason”

  1. Bruce March 29, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    Good thoughts. It is when we step back and start to notice what has been given to us. That we really and truly start to live life to the fullest. Good luck in recoveryfrom injury and training.

  2. runningwiththelambs March 30, 2012 at 12:12 am #

    I keeP hearing that things happen for a reason. I was training for Boston Marathon. Was up to 18 miles for my long run. Then, I broke my big toe last week and I can’t run for 6 weeks!! Trying to figure out the good in this. Perhaps it’s good because I am starting a new job on Monday and now I will be more focused on that.

    I too am planning to kick some Chicago Marathon butt in October!!

  3. runningwiththelambs March 30, 2012 at 12:20 am #

    I’ve been told many times over the past 11days that things happen for a reason. I was training for the Boston Marathon. I was up to 18 miles and feeling really good. Then, I tripped going up the stairs in our house and shattered my big toe on my left foot. No running for 6 weeks–and I consulted 3 doctors who said the same thing.

    Here are some possible reasons why this happened:

    I’m starting a new job on Monday and I need to focus on that

    One of my running friends is running her first marathon in October, so now we can both do our first marathons together–I was doing Boston with a charity bib

    I may have avoided something worse that would have happened if I had run the race ( I don’t really buy this theory)

    Maybe I will never know the real reason. Maybe people just say that to make us feel better!

  4. Jess Sutera March 30, 2012 at 8:44 am #

    YEAH!!!! That’s a HELLS YEAH to all of the above! LOVE the spirit of this post friend, you are going to be stronger and stronger and an even bigger rockstar runner for it. And selfishly, I can’t wait to run side-by-side on May 6!! (PS I plan to OWN Chicago too, eee!!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      😀 Rockstar runner, LOVE IT! I can’t wait to run together, it’s gonna be GREAT!!!!

      And yes, you are going to OWN Chicago! I can’t wait for that!

  5. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 30, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    I love this positive attitude. I have tried my hardest to find the positives out of my injuries as well. Like new workouts, more strength training, maybe starting fresh with running (though that’s proving to be tougher mentally than I’d hoped).

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      Starting fresh with running is tough, mentally. I’m thinking tomorrow about 4 miles. 4 miles? I run marathons! Right?! Sheesh!

  6. the MF Dre March 30, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Yes! You will OWN the Chicago Marathon in October. You have the right attitude lady – as hard as it sometimes is to reframe it. Great job. xx

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:55 pm #

      THANK YOU! I feel pretty confident about owning it, even if it is 6 1/2 months away! haha!

  7. jobo March 30, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    I LOVE this perspective and pulling back and just seeing all the goodness in your diagnosis, despite the crappy part of it, too. You sound SO much better and more optimistic in this post!! I can’t wait to watch you rock the Chicago marathon (and the Providence half!). You will own both. And I can’t wait to read your post on eats!!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      😀 I hate misery and negativity, so I did what I had to in order to make the best of a crappy situation!

  8. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) March 30, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

    I felt the same way with my stress fracture in novmember. chin up, you will heal before you know it!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

      I can only hope! I just have to be careful to not re-injure!

  9. Wild Things Run Free March 30, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    way to see the positive side! You’re absolutely right, everything DOES happen for a reason! 😀

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      It does, it may be hard to accept at first, but we’re only human! 🙂

  10. cottercrunch March 30, 2012 at 10:08 pm #

    yep, totally agree. and rest with in fact build you up STRONGER

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Exactly! Rest, recover, rebuild, and get STRONG!

  11. Jan Scott March 30, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    Kudos to you for having such a great attitude! I too strongly believe that everything happens for a reason. It will all work out!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      It will definitely work out! Thank you!

  12. Carissa Bealert (@CarissaAnneB) March 31, 2012 at 9:37 am #

    Girl I’m feeling you. I love your mindset and it’s helping me keep focused too. It’s just part of the process of pushing your body…sometimes it pushes back! Thanks for keeping me positive about recovery too!

    • runcupcake March 31, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Glad I can help keep you focused too! We’re both going to be back at it and kicking booty in no time!

Leave a Reply

