That Gut Feeling

27 Mar

I had big plans for tonight.

Big plans that included running to the ugly church and back.

2011-11-13_11-41-42_578

Big plans that did NOT include my Garmin.

No Garmin

Big plans to just run. Run at a steady, slow if necessary, pace and log some miles.

Sometime through the afternoon I had this steadily increasing feeling that I shouldn’t run. Even though my legs feel fine (other than when I stretch and foam roll – perhaps indicator #1?).  I told myself “Suck it up Sally, you’re just nervous about having a good run because you haven’t had one since race day.”(True story) 

Even when I got home, I dilly dallied a bit, slowly stretched and foam rolled prior to the run, and finally hit the road.

From the minute my feet hit the pavement I knew this run was doomed. I tried to stick it out, telling myself it was tight, it would loosen up.

But, the sun was shining just right where I could watch for my form in my shadow. That shadow spoke to me.

It said:

Look at your right leg compared to your left. (My right being my injured leg).

I saw compromised form.

I felt my left leg hitting the ground in a way it should not hit the ground.

So I stopped and walked home. Probably not even half a mile in.

Tomorrow, I call the doctor. I honestly have no idea what it could be. My leg has gone through so many symptoms since race day.

From limping post race with pain/pulling down my knee, around my calf, and into my ankle to a steady tightness in my calf, and now it feels like it may be my IT Band, pulling. I also have hot spots in all 4 major areas of my leg – quad, hamstring, IT band, and calf, that when I foam roll has me crying for mercy. My left leg doesn’t have that, so something tells me this isn’t right.

I want to worry, I want to kick, scream, and cry with frustration. Cox Rhode Races is 38 days away, and to not run that marathon brings tears to my eyes. I wrote this post a while back, “selling” this race to all of my friends, and there’s more to it. I’ll explain in another post.

For now, I’m going to go to bed so I can wake up in the morning and call my doctor. It’s all I can do right now.

One day at a time.

Signature

P.S. Keep Coachy in your thoughts too – he’s also suffering with a bum knee, and he’s also training for Providence. Boy what a good pair we’ll make gimping the streets of Providence. Winking smile

24 Responses to “That Gut Feeling”

  1. Stéphanie March 27, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

    Get well soon! I hope your doctor has the answers. If not, maybe try a physical therapist or a sports therapist. Just so you know, you sold that Cox Rhode Race to me! I can’t go this year but I will definitively add it to my list next year!

    • runcupcake March 27, 2012 at 9:56 pm #

      That’s great, I’m glad! It’s a really great race.

      My doc is a sports doc, and a marathoner, lucky me! I’m sure he’ll do whatever he needs to do!

      • Stéphanie March 27, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

        Lucky you! Then I’m sure he’ll know what to do.

  2. Wild Things Run Free March 27, 2012 at 10:03 pm #

    oh girl i am SO sorry. uffffff. have so been hoping it would gradually go away for you. At this point you are definitely making the right choice. its been way too long for you not to be feeling back to normal.

    i hope everything is okay!

    • runcupcake March 28, 2012 at 8:59 am #

      Thanks Charlotte! Me too – ugh ugh ugh! Here’s to hoping!

  3. fancynancy14 March 28, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    Oh Samantha!!! I hope it is just something small and you’ll be back on the road soon!!!

  4. Tina March 28, 2012 at 6:23 am #

    Listen to your body and hopefully get it taken care of sooner rather than later so it’s just a few days or a week or so off. Smart thing to do!

    • runcupcake March 28, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      Thank you! I figured that it was post marathon soreness, but it’s been over 3 weeks now, with two of those weeks completely off of running, so it’s definitely time to get it taken care of.

  5. MizFit March 28, 2012 at 6:46 am #

    Hugs. And please keep us posted.

  6. Heidi Henry (@BananaBuzzbomb) March 28, 2012 at 7:35 am #

    =( Hoping for good news. Fingers crossed.

  7. Robin March 28, 2012 at 7:48 am #

    I’ll be thinking about you today. You will get through this. It seems like when we get injured that time freezes. Our bodies take time and yours will heal. Luckily, you have such a good base that once your calf feels better you will be back to your normal training self.

    • runcupcake March 28, 2012 at 8:58 am #

      Thank you Robin 🙂 It does seem that time is so slow and healing is so far away. Especially for someone like me that has zero patience. I’ll keep you posted 🙂

  8. Jess Sutera March 28, 2012 at 7:59 am #

    You KNOW I am here for you my dear. Always. I also know how much this is tearing you up inside – but please,please, please do two things for me. 1 – take it one day at a time, put the race out of your mind for the near-term and focus on you. 2 – continue to listen to your body and it’ll never steer you wrong, I promise. And 3 – have a glass of wine tonight on winesday, sounds like you could use it. ((hugs)) (and good luck at the dr. today)

    • runcupcake March 28, 2012 at 8:57 am #

      Thank you so much! I am not good with one day at a time, but I will try, very hard.

      And the wine sounds great, I am all for that.

      XOXO

  9. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 28, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    I am so sorry to hear that there is still something going on with that leg. The doctor is a smart move at this point – maybe it’s nothing too serious that a little PT won’t fix. It’s frustrating I know. Been there…stil doing that. I’ve cried, cursed, been ok then repeated.

    • runcupcake March 28, 2012 at 8:56 am #

      It is frustrating, and I know that you know exactly where I’m coming from. I haven’t gotten to the crying/cursing part yet, because I thought I was getting better, but now it’s coming. I can feel it.

  10. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) March 28, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    you are doing the right thing going to the dr. get it taken care of now and hopefully you will be back to it in no time!

  11. MCM Mama (@mcmmama) March 28, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    Hope you get some answers today, especially good ones that get you running soon!

  12. jobo March 28, 2012 at 9:52 am #

    One day at a time is very hard to stomach when you are looking at something 38 days away…and those 38 days seem far too close, I am sure, for your liking. But you are being smart and getting it looked at. I hope it is nothing major and it gets taken care of. Thinking of Coachie too! hope you are both better soon!

  13. dutchdegay March 28, 2012 at 10:33 am #

    I totally understand your frustration but you HAVE to focus on finding out what’s wrong and getting healed up before this gets worse and you miss more races this year. I speak from experience, all the sprains, breaks, surgeries and extra recovery time I’ve had to deal with could’ve been avoided if I’d just taken care of myself up front.

    Hope you’re back on track soon.

  14. Britne @ Shabbott's Habits March 28, 2012 at 12:54 pm #

    Oh no! Fingers crossed that it’s nothing major. I hate to say it, but it just seems like that with running, eventually there is injury. I’m laid up myself and it is SOOOO frustrating.

Leave a Reply

