I Went to Whole Foods

24 Mar

And only spent $18. I’m damn proud considering I wanted one of everything.

Me and my bro took a little trip this afternoon so I could look for almond milk yogurt. I wanted to buy a bunch of other stuff too but he told me, “Don’t buy anything here that you can buy at another store.” That made total sense to me, since the prices are a little high.

Here’s what I got:

WF1

WF4WF3wf2

Not much for $18 huh? Also, what’s with the cheese? And the macaroni and cheese? Whoops, I’m apparently still forgetting about the whole “no-dairy” thing, even though I went to Whole Foods for non-dairy yogurt.

I was told by someone that sheep’s milk is low in lactose and well…that’s wrong. I looked it up, it’s actually higher in lactose than cow milk. Goat’s milk has about the same amount. Goat cheese is up on that list of “Things I Will Never Give Up”, right along with ice cream and seafood.

Alas, I will eat the sheep cheese anyway (aka Roquefort). I bought a baguette, kalamata olives, and a bottle of Riesling to go with it, for what me and my brother have dubbed “Oh, you fancy” Happy Hour (which is about to take place). (Hope he doesn’t mind if I show up in sweats…)

I was very pleased with my first time in Whole Foods. Everyone that works there is super friendly, and was always asking if we needed help with anything (or I just looked lost?). I will definitely go there to find things like chicken sausage and almond yogurt, as well as produce my regular grocery store may not carry.

If I could afford to just shop there, I probably would. Their produce all looked gorgeous, and even the meats made me wish I ate them. According to the bro we need to go to the other Whole Foods location (closer to our house) because their cheese case is to die for (here we go with the cheese again. What is wrong with me?).

I also went to the regular grocery store today and picked up almond milk and frozen fruit for some smoothie experimentation – hopefully recipes to come soon!

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’m late for “Oh, you fancy” Happy Hour!

Hope you’re having a fantastic Saturday!

Signature

5 Responses to “I Went to Whole Foods”

  1. Rachael @ Ready To Get Sweaty March 24, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    I had the Amande soy yogurt for the first time this week, not bad. And don’t worry, I’ve been to Whole Foods tons of times now and I’m sure I still look like a kid in a candy store – SO much to take in. Oh and I agree with your brother, only buy things at WF that you can’t get anywhere else (e.g., your soy yogurt, certain granola, crackers, etc.). Glad you enjoyed your first visit 🙂

  2. Miranda @ Biting Life March 24, 2012 at 10:40 pm #

    My day is never complete without some goat cheese. I can’t get enough of it!

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 25, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    I definitely agree on just buying there what you can’t get somewhere else. But every once in a while, they are actually cheaper. I know that sounds like a big fat lie, but for lots of the vegetarian/vegan items and Daiya cheese, they are cheaper (up to $2) than my local grocery store. And your happy hour sounds pretty darn good!

  4. JessSutera March 25, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Freakin’ love Whole Foods. We usually do our big shop at the regular grocery store and then go to Whole Foods for specialty items. Yesterday I went there to get the scallops for my contribution towards the dinner party at Jo’s – they were the BEST scallops I’ve ever had, and the price tag made them totally worth it! I legit walked out of there with one bag and four items – scallops, coconut oil (a new find for me), a mango and bananas. $65 bucks. Cha-ching! LOL! (so yeah, you did WAY better than me, ha!)

  5. jobo March 25, 2012 at 11:22 am #

    I love Whole Foods too, but also just for speciality items, because it is usually more expensive. But for the things you can’t find very easily elsewhere, it’s worth it! I love the ambience in there too, weird to say about a grocery store I guess huh 😉 But it’s very friendly and fun! (and to Jess’s point, best scallops ever!!)

Leave a Reply

