What a Week

18 Mar

I decided that my second post-marathon week was a good time to get back into the swing of full blown workouts – a week off was quite enough!

I’ve started on my quest to be in what I refer to as “personal trainer shape.” I definitely lack in the upper body and core department! Here’s how Week 1 went down:

Monday: Upper Body Strength Training Day 1 (Chest, Shoulders, Biceps), plus 10 minutes on the elliptical to loosen up my lower body for stretching, and abs.

Tuesday: Ran 5 miles

Wednesday: Upper Body Strength Training Day 2 (Triceps, Back), abs, and 5 mile run.

Thursday: Power Basic Yoga

Friday: REST!

Saturday: Walked 3 miles.

Sunday: Ran/Walked 4 miles

Phew! I’m ready to take on Week 2 – but with a minor change to my schedule.

No running. My calf that I’ve been going on and on about all week is still not feeling like running for me. When I do try to run on it, my form suffers, and I get pain in strange places like my foot and shin. So, I am going to suck it up and take Monday through Friday of this week completely off of running. I will instead either ride the stationary bike, or the arc trainer.

Between no runs, and a massage that I have scheduled for tomorrow night, I’m hoping my legs will be up to normal running again come Saturday or Sunday. I’m playing it safe here because it is getting better. I can walk normal and stairs aren’t agonizing anymore – but it still acts up when I run, so I know that the only way to heal it 100% is to not run on it.

I’ll probably sneak in a couple of lunch time walks and/or doggy walks this week too – since it’s supposed to be gorgeous all week! Smile

*************************************************************************

In other news – did anyone else have an incredible weekend like I did?

Yesterday started with that 3 mile walk, followed up by an amazing trip to Boston for lunch with Jess, Jolene, and Meaghan. LOVE these ladies – we had lunch at Snappy Sushi and chatted for a good 3 hours. It was so much fun – I feel like we’ve all been friends for so long, since we just fall into a perfect chatty friendly comfort zone. I’m pretty sure none of us wanted to leave, if only we could sit and talk and eat sushi all. day. long.

MeaghanSamJessSamMeaghanJo

Pictures shamelessly stolen from Jess Winking smile

Awesome times, can’t wait to see these ladies again – SOON!

Then I had to rally for fun times #2 of the day – dinner with Jen and Paul. They made an incredible boiled dinner – complete with corned beef from Whole Foods. I’ve never had Whole Foods meat before – holy, it was delicious. We sat, and ate, and talked, and ate some more for a good two hours! Then me, Jen, and Alison (sorry if I spelled your name wrong!) walked to the Irish pub down the street from Jen and Paul’s house for a couple of beers, where we sat and talked and talked and talked some more.

Funny how that’s what us girls do, isn’t it? I never get tired of talking LOL

Today I woke up (kind of late – staying out til 1:30 a.m. will do that) to a beautifully sunshiny day! After studying for a couple of hours, I headed out into the beauty for some yard work (aka cleaning up after my dog and filling in all the holes she dug!). I was in running capris and a tee shirt all day – amazing!

My legs felt great thanks to this little contraption that I used at Jen and Paul’s house:

Medidyne Pro Stretch

Medi Dyne Pro Stretch

But, alas, not good enough to run the entire 4 miles. Hence, my decision to take a few days off. I also bought one of these because it feels amazing.

I wound down the afternoon with some stretching out on my deck, with a “tropical slushy” that I created!

2012-03-18_16-48-01_5292012-03-18_16-45-18_53

Then later in the afternoon it was a beer on the deck with mom before dinner! I love being able to spend so much time outside!

2012-03-18_18-22-47_557

How was your weekend? Anything exciting or particularly awesome happen to you?

 Signature

16 Responses to “What a Week”

  1. eatingforexcellence March 18, 2012 at 8:53 pm #

    Taking a break from running sounds like the perfect thing to do to get your calf feeling better! Have a great week, i hope you’re calf feels better! And enjoy your massage tomorrow 🙂

    • runcupcake March 19, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

      Thank you thank you! I hope the two combined do the trick!

  2. AmyC March 19, 2012 at 7:29 am #

    I hope you figure the calf thing out. I have had problems with a tight calf muscle coming & going…drives me crazy! Feels like we’ve tried all the same things. I hate taking time off too, but that seems to be the one that works 😦 Hopefully it will be better at the end of the week!

    • runcupcake March 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      I didn’t give it time off because I was being stubborn – the time off is DEFINITELY a last resort! Have you figured out how to prevent it?

  3. jobo March 19, 2012 at 8:11 am #

    It WAS an awesome weekend! So much fun on Saturday!! And I hope your calf feels better dear! Take it easy mmkkkk? 🙂

    • runcupcake March 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

      I am, I am. I rode the bike today – argh, so hard to not run!

  4. JessSutera March 19, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    YAY for fabulous weekends spent with fabulous long-lost-lifetime friends!! It was SO GOOD to see you again on Saturday!! NYE was SO LONG ago, ha! And to think that in just about a month we get to hang again, wooohoo!!!!

    PS. I’m so proud of you for taking the week off from running, I KNOW you really didn’t want to so thank you for listening to your body and doing right by it!!

    • runcupcake March 19, 2012 at 12:17 pm #

      I kept thinking about what you told me, and what other have told me, and I know it’s the right thing, it’s JUST SO HARD!

  5. Heather (Where's the Beach) March 19, 2012 at 8:28 am #

    Sounds like a great weekend – especially hanging out with the girls!

    • runcupcake March 19, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      It was wonderful! Hopefully we’ll all be able to do it someday?!?! 🙂

  6. Miz March 19, 2012 at 9:12 am #

    I can relate to your hating to take runningtime off as I really would feel the SAME WAY about the weights.
    Youre being so smart stopping and taking care.of.you.

    • runcupcake March 19, 2012 at 12:20 pm #

      It’s a good thing there are times the sensible side of my brain over rules the irrational side!

  7. sprint2thetable March 19, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

    That sounds like a great week of workouts! I love the idea of being in “personal trainer shape.” I want to do that too! 🙂

    Looks like this was the weekend for blogger meet ups. We had one in ATL as well. Yours looks like a fun group!

  8. bendiful March 19, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

    I nominated you for a versatile blogger award! You can see it here: http://bendiful.wordpress.com/ I love all your running stories!

  9. nycrunningmama March 19, 2012 at 9:02 pm #

    I think it’s so smart to take a little time off…no sense in rushing into anything and hurting yourself even more. I also say that I want to get my whole body into shape…sometimes I feel like I neglect so many body parts when I’m training for a big race =)
    Sounds like a fantastic weekend!! xoxo

Leave a Reply

