Giving Back

16 Mar

I’ve been running for almost 2 years now. (Where does the time go?)

In those two years I’ve run 22 races (say WHAT?).

In those two years I’ve worked  0 races. (Bad.)

That’s all about to change:

Boston Marathon Volunteer Acceptance

I am volunteering at the BOSTON MARATHON!!!! I am beside myself with excitement. I didn’t do this on my own though – to be honest, I had no idea how to get in on a volunteer gig for any race, but now that I do, I plan on doing it more often.

I’d like to send a huge thank you to Janine from The Purple Giraffe.  She is a fellow FitFluential Ambassador, fellow beer lover and runner, and all around awesome gal. (Remember, I had the pleasure of meeting and having lunch with her in February after the Half at the Hamptons). She wrote about this opportunity on Facebook a while back and I jumped all over it. Thank you Janine! I can’t wait for April 16th.

So, if you are running the Boston Marathon, look for me at Hydration Station Number 5!

See you on April 16th!

Have you ever volunteered at a race before? What was your experience?

Signature

4 Responses to “Giving Back”

  1. bendiful March 17, 2012 at 9:22 am #

    That is wonderful! I’ve run a lot of races in my day but it’s a different runners high you get when you help out with a race especially at a water station! Have fun!

  2. jobo March 17, 2012 at 10:29 am #

    That’s awesome!! I am so bummed I won’t be able to go to the marathon to watch now 😦 Unless I can sneak out of work for a bit, I can’t take the time off now…taking way too many vaca days and something had to give ;/ BUT this is an awesome opp for you!!

  3. eatingforexcellence March 18, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    What an awesome opportunity! That’ll so much fun 🙂

  4. portia o. (@runportiarun) March 20, 2012 at 12:41 pm #

    Awesome! I’m also doing my first volunteering stint at the Boston Marathon. I’m in charge of watching the clock at the 20k mark. 🙂

Leave a Reply

