“Tessie”–Dropkick Murphys

14 Mar

Tonight I ran 5 miles again. Rather than bore you with the details of the run, again, I’m limiting my tale to one mile.

Specifically, Mile 4.

You see, I was plodding along the bike path, happy to be having some relatively pain free, albeit slow, miles when this song came on:

“In 2004, the Boston-area Celtic punk group Dropkick Murphys recorded a cover of "Tessie," released on an EP of the same name. The Murphys said it was their intent to "bring back the spirit of the Rooters and to put the Red Sox back on top." The goal of the Murphys was realized when later that year the Boston Red Sox won their first World Series in 86 years.” (From Wikipedia)

I have mentioned to you guys what a ridiculously huge Red Sox fan I am, right? As in watch every possible home game (mostly on TV because lets face it – tickets are expensive, and the beer is even more expensive). My boss also has season tickets to the Pawtucket Red Sox – minor league, yes, but it’s often where the major players go when they need to rehab, and I just so happen to have first dibs on tickets so I’ve seen Josh Beckett rehab, Jacoby Ellsbury, David Ortiz, etc… it’s pretty freaking cool…but I digress…

The version of this song that is in my iPod is from the Dropkick Murphy’s Live Album Live on Lansdowne (Boston, MA).

The second that song came on it was like my legs just came alive. You see the live version immediately starts in on the piano part with Ken Casey yelling “Take it away Jeffrey” (as in Jeff DeRosa – the piano and every other instrument other people in the band don’t play player…).

And now that you know more about this song and the Dropkick Murphy’s than you’ve probably ever cared to know…back to my run.

I was FLYING. My legs kicking out from under me like I haven’t run in weeks! I was singing and smiling and even had goose bumps (yes I am one of THOSE crazy sports fans – or maybe it was pain free speedy legs?).

It was amazing.

Next thing I know that mile is over and I ran it in 9:17. And what about my calf? No problem. Seriously.

It felt amazing the blow off the cobwebs and get a fast mile in after my last two frustrating runs.

And now, 3 hours post run? Everything still feels great. My abs/upper body hurt more from two days worth of strength training than my legs. It’s crazy.

Here’s to hoping I’m singing the same tune tomorrow! Yoga tomorrow, then more running this weekend. Fingers crossed it all holds up!

Do you have a specific song that just gets you cranking, no matter how you feel?

P.S. 5 miles, 52:32, 10:30 average pace. 2:22 faster than yesterdays run, 28 seconds per mile better pace. Things are looking up! Woohoo!

Signature

10 Responses to ““Tessie”–Dropkick Murphys”

  1. Veronica (@duncandesign) March 14, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    “Do you have a specific song that just gets you cranking, no matter how you feel?”

    Yes, but it’s very embarrassing 🙂

    P.S. Love the PawSox!

  2. Lynda@ Hit The Road Jane March 14, 2012 at 10:23 pm #

    That is awesome!!! I’m thinking that I need a new playlist. I used to have so many great power songs and have lost them through the years.

  3. jobo March 15, 2012 at 9:32 am #

    I LOVE when that happens!! For me, for some reason, it’s “Happy’ by Leona Lewis. It struck me once during a 5 mile race I was doing at a point where I was REALLY fighting and I listened to that song twice through and it really got me through a couple tough parts. So every time I hear it, it brings me back 🙂

  4. Heather Montgomery (@runningwithsass) March 15, 2012 at 9:41 am #

    thats awesome! I don’t have a specific song but I have a few!

  5. JessSutera March 15, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    no WONDER you and Scott get along so well -he is a HUGE HUGE HUGE sox fan!! 🙂

  6. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal March 15, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Awesome run! I love the Dropkick Murphy’s and have tons of their music on my running playlists. Something about the celtic sound and the angry yelling just does it for me 🙂

  7. jshade77 March 15, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    Love the Dropkick Murphys!! My pump up song is “Pride-In the Name of Love” by U2. It always gets me moving faster. 🙂

  8. eatingforexcellence March 15, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    GO BOSTON!

  9. Miz March 16, 2012 at 7:15 am #

    justin timberlake.

    shhhhh 🙂

  10. AmyC March 16, 2012 at 10:24 am #

    I don’t listen to music when I run, but it definitely perks me up when a song I like comes on in the car when I’m stuck in traffic or behind a slow driver!! Glad to hear your recovery from your marathon is going so well!

Leave a Reply

