My First Yoga Class

10 Mar

Today I attended my first ever yoga class, Power Basic. From the studio’s website:

Power Basic:  This class is geared toward the beginner that desires a challenge while enjoying a non-judgmental place to try something that might be brand new to them. This class revolves around various sequences of poses that flow from one to another while focusing on breath. The room is HOT with the temperature set to approximately 90 degrees to to aid in creating deeper flexibility and detoxification. Options are shown to modify poses to suit all levels.

I woke up this morning a little anxious, a little nervous, a little excited. I didn’t know what to expect, but honestly I was expecting a room full of thin, Gumby-like people that made me look like I’ve never practiced yoga in my life.

I started the morning with one of my typical green smoothies. Their website says “practice yoga on an empty stomach” – well I can’t do anything on an empty stomach – so I drank it 90 minutes before class, making sure it had plenty of time to digest.

2012-03-10_08-45-53_150

Pre-yoga breakfast of champions!

I arrived at the studio about 15 minutes ahead of time, still feeling a little uneasy. Not only about the aforementioned possibility of Gumby-like people, but because the only yoga mat I own is a Wii fit yoga mat, and I was dressed in running clothes (capris and a tank top).

It didn’t take long for the unease to settle. I walked to the front desk and proclaimed “I’ve never been here before.” The girl working knew exactly who I was, thanks to a message I had left the day before inquiring about how to redeem my Groupon. She got me set up in the system, told me where everything was, and sent me on my way.

I entered the studio, found a nice spot at the back of the class, rolled out my mat, and set up my towel and water. Then I sat down and observed. No one in that room looked any different than me, and most of them were using the rental mats provided by the studio, so my Wii Fit mat didn’t make a world of difference. I also noticed everyone else’s outfits looked very similar to mine. Okay, good, I don’t look ridiculous wearing running clothes to yoga class.

The instructor, Julie, came over, introduced herself to me and I made sure she knew it was my first yoga class. She asked me if I practice regularly, and I told her that I do, just at home. She is a super nice person – and a fantastic instructor.

Right before beginning instruction Julie asked if anyone had specific areas they wanted to work one – one girl piped up and said “hamstrings” and I chimed in and said “hips”. Perfect, lets work on those running muscles!

Class started nice and easy – some sitting postures, and sun salutations, before moving into more technical poses. I was sweating before she even began, but by about halfway through the class I had to spread my towel across the front of my mat so I wouldn’t slip off from all the sweat. She made sure she really incorporated a few excellent hip openers – like lizard pose.  And the only person other than the instructor that was truly Gumby like in the class was the girl that was working the front desk. I actually felt pretty good about myself that I didn’t have to modify any poses, or take a break!

The relaxation at the end of the class was amazing. When I first laid down, my lower back ached, but by concentrating on my breath and really giving into my body, I relaxed and my back found it’s way to the floor.

I can’t believe it has taken me this long to take a yoga class! I loved every minute of it – and have already signed up for the same class this coming Thursday!

Now I’m chowing down a delicious lunch before getting on with the rest of my Saturday.

2012-03-10_13-30-06_62

Whole wheat bagel spread with Laughing Cow Chipotle Fresco, spinach, and tomato. Apple Cinnamon Chobani – my new FAVORITE flavor!

Hope your weekend is going great!

Have you ever taken a yoga class? Were you feeling like I did before it?

Signature

12 Responses to “My First Yoga Class”

  1. OFitCarla March 10, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this. I also imagine that everyone at a yoga class is double jointed and I’d be the odd man out.

  2. jobo March 10, 2012 at 3:47 pm #

    Nice!! I still have yet to love yoga. I try and try and TRY but I can never get into it. Maybe I will soon 😉 lunch looks yumtastic! love that flavor chobani! (and passion fruit!)

  3. Wild Things Run Free March 10, 2012 at 4:57 pm #

    eee! how fun! I am OBSESSED with yoga. The ex gymnast in me is in love with the fact that now I can still do ridiculous things we probably aren’t supposed to be able to do 😉

    you’ll be amazed at how quickly you become way more flexible if you keep up with it regularly though!! 😀

  4. pure2rawtwins March 10, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    oh man this really makes me miss going to a yoga studio!! so glad you had a great time!

  5. Jessica M March 10, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Where did you go? I almost got the Groupon for Ocean State Bikram. I love hot yoga! So glad you had a great experience! We should go together some time! 🙂

    • runcupcake March 10, 2012 at 8:36 pm #

      I went to Yoga One in Seekonk! We should definitely go together sometime!

  6. Kierston March 11, 2012 at 8:42 am #

    I haven’t taken Yoga in over 11 years. I signed up for a class this coming Wednesday! I’m super looking forward to it! Glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

  7. JessSutera March 11, 2012 at 3:01 pm #

    SO glad your first yoga experience was a good one!! That is so awesome, yay for cross-training and hip openers 🙂 PS. that bagel sandwich looks yummy!

  8. Heidi @BananaBuzzbomb March 11, 2012 at 5:37 pm #

    Sounds like an excellent experience. I’ve been wanting to try yoga but am so nervous to be the “newbie”. You’ve inspired me!

  9. Madeline@Food, Fitness,Family March 11, 2012 at 8:46 pm #

    Power yoga is my FAVORITE! I am so excited that you went out of your comfort zone and tried it. Lizard pose is such a great one too!

  10. Alicia at Poise in Parma March 12, 2012 at 3:03 pm #

    I absolutely adore this recap of your first yoga studio class! Just be warned: it’s addicting!!

    • runcupcake March 14, 2012 at 9:04 am #

      Thank you! I’m glad it’s addicting – as much as I love yoga, it’s so much easier to go to a class than force myself to do it at home. And a way better workout!

Leave a Reply

