Marathon #4–Cox Rhode Races

7 Mar

Now that Rock N Roll New Orleans is behind me (already!) it’s time to start thinking about Marathon #4 – Cox Rhode Races.

As you all know, I am a blogging ambassador for the Cox Rhode Races, which will take place May 5th and 6th this year. I’m not quite ready to get into training for it yet, but I do want to tell you why you should run this race!

1) Scenery – The race starts and ends in Downtown Providence – the start and finish line are at the same place. At Mile 2 the Half and the Full Marathoners split from each other. I don’t know if this is new this year – but the full marathon starts at 7:30 and the half at 8, soooo it looks like even though the course splits, the full and half runners don’t run together. The half marathon continues through the East Side of Providence – out and back you will run down Blackstone Boulevard, which is lined with trees and is gorgeous in the spring – there are also MANY spectators along this part of the course to keep you amped up. Miles 9-11 bring you through Blackstone Park, where you will have some gorgeous waterfront views.

SamCelebrate2

Mile 9 (of the half)

SamMile10

Mile 10 (of the half)

IMG_1812

The full marathon heads over the Henderson Bridge and into East Providence right before Mile 3.

Henderson Bridge

Source

From here you’ll run on and off the East Bay Bike path, by two golf courses, and through Haines Memorial Park. I run the East Bay Bike path often and can attest to it’s beauty. More often than not when you are on the bike path you can see the water. There is a big bridge crossing at Mile 24 – I don’t know how that feels, because I haven’t run the full yet, but I can tell you what it looks like and that’s beautiful. You can see a lot of water as well as a lot of the city on that crossing!

Iway Bridge

Source

The last couple of miles of the race (both the half and the full) bring you through India Point Park (more beautiful water views AND amazing spectators), up South Water Street, and back into Downtown.

2) Spectators – The crowds for this race are absolutely amazing. There were so many spectators last year – I only ran the half, so I don’t know how many people venture to the other side of the bridge (it is Rhode Island after all 😉 ) to spectate the marathon. The areas are densely populated, and there’s plenty of parks and areas to spectate from, so my guess would be great crowds on the full marathon side too! One thing I do know is that once you are back Downtown, you cannot miss the energy coming from the finish line – it’s truly incredible.

(I have a really great finish picture – once I find it and scan it I’ll share with you, you can see the crowd and everything!)

3) Race Organization – Almost everything about this race is organized. The only thing I don’t like is the lack of true corrals  – just designated “pace places” (I don’t really know what else to call them?). Packet pick up is a breeze. Getting to the race is a breeze. After the race? You get funneled right through from the finish to your medal, a space blanket, water, then on to the food. Everything is right there – quick and easy to find, readily accessible for all athletes.

IMG_1803

See –”Pace place”

IMG_1806

4) The beer. Yes, that’s important. I’ve been offered some pretty terrible post-race beer options. Not to mention that most of them are from the “big-wig” brewers. Here in Rhody we do it up right with Narragansett, a local micro-brew. Still not my #1 choice, but as you can see from last year’s beer garden pic, I wasn’t terribly concerned. Winking smile

Gansett

5) The medal. Duh. Check this bad boy out:

021

And of course it is also going to be my “two-year race-iversary” so that makes it important no matter what!

Have I convinced you that you want to run this race yet? **

Signature

** Disclaimer: As a Cox Rhode Races Blogging Ambassador, my race fees have been waived in exchange for posts such as this one. However, I was not asked to write a post “selling” this race, I really do just LOVE IT THAT MUCH. **

8 Responses to “Marathon #4–Cox Rhode Races”

  1. jobo March 7, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

    That looks awesome! I am excited to see you and Jess run the full and half!! Fun!!

  2. Courtney @ Pursuit of Healthiness March 7, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    Great post! I’m pretty nervous about this upcoming race (I’m doing the half) because I’m assuming there are a lot of steep hills. Is this true? This will be my first 1/2 so I’m starting to get a little anxious about it!

    • runcupcake March 7, 2012 at 10:00 pm #

      I ran it last year, and according to my Garmin it’s 400-ish feet over the entire 13.1 miles – the hills are there, but they won’t kill you!

  3. AmyC March 8, 2012 at 7:33 am #

    Great write- up; now I am even more excited to run my half! =)

  4. JessSutera March 8, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    Ohhhh YAY!!!! reading this and seeing your pics make me EVEN MORE excited to run this course!!!! Ahhhhhhh 🙂 🙂 🙂

  5. Dan March 8, 2012 at 9:55 am #

    I think I’ve found my Rhode Island race! Thanks for the write-up – it definitely convinced me to run it. However, not this year. My race schedule is already extremely saturated in May, so this might have to wait until 2013. Alas, I’m spoiled for choice!

  6. Susan March 8, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I was really really hoping to be able to run the Providence 1/2 this year. I ended up registering for the 5K instead because I just couldn’t put the training time in that would be needed to do well. I probably could have completed it, but I learned the hard way from the Blessing of the Fleet last year that you really do have to have sufficient training for the longer distances if you want to finish w/o paying for it at the end. (I finished the Blessing with what I thought was a decent time for me all things considered, but my body let me know loud and clear afterwards that it was not happy with me!) I’m hoping to be able to do the Newport half in the fall instead. Wishing all the best with your training!

    PS. I think I found your blog via the Cox Providence website. I also did the Jingle 5k in December which I see from your photos you did as well!

Leave a Reply

