Guest Post: Fueling for a Long Run (And a Recipe!)

3 Mar

Today’s guest post is brought to you by Cat from Breakfast to Bed. She is one hilarious lady, and always has the best looking food and the yummiest sounding recipes (adult beverages too!). I can’t believe I hadn’t found her blog before I became a FitFluential Ambassador (she is also an Ambassador) but I’m so glad I know about it now! Check her out when you get a chance, you won’t regret it!

************************************************************************************************************

Hello all, as you know, the fine Samantha is really busy with all the marathoning she’ll be doing, so she asked me to jot down a quick ditty for all of you fine Running and Cupcakes loving cuties. You can usually find my hyperactive banter at Breakfast to Bed. I am a mother runner, actor, sometimes professor, food freak, and I am married to the sexy sexy cop.

I feel like you need a really up close view of my mug a breath into the post.

I am a distance runner, not because it’s trendy, but because it keeps me sane. Did you see the part up there where I said I was a mom and married to a cop AND an actor? I am not good at choosing “low stress” situations. My body NEEDS the distance to shut my brain the heck up. I’ve gotten pretty decent at it, too. My 26.2 PR is 3:36. My halfie PR is 1:41:31. I am proud of my stats on speed, but I am even more proud of my carbo loading. I have made it an art. Ok, maybe not. Maybe I just REALLY like bread, rice, and pasta; so when I can hurl myself into indulgent oblivion in the name of preparation, I make it memorable.

When you’re loading up to run longer than most people would consider rational, a few things are really important:

-white foods are best, “keep it white to keep your intestines right”

-pace yourself. If you overstuff yourself at lunch, you won’t want to eat dinner, thus missing another opportunity to make the employees at the buffet cry quietly in the back fill your body with the foods to provide it with the proper amount of glycogen. For full crazy, (26.2) I load for 2 days leading up to the run to the asylum.

-for a good amount of how much you should be eating, check out this endurance calculator.

-don’t neglect your need for magnesium and other essential minerals; calcium, and to a lesser extent, selenium; to help your muscles perform at their peak.

-avoid trigger foods. And the trigger I’m talking about isn’t indigestion, it’s foods that increase the risk of making you crap yourself at mile 15. I’ve seen it happen, and it’s not pleasant for anyone, least of all the one who inevitably slips in it. (again, I’ve seen it.) Trigger foods are often milk, fiber, licorice, certain supplements, corn tortillas, etc.

What do I eat? Low fiber fruits and vegetables, delightful pasta with garlic and oil, banana bread, pancakes, rice, the fear of my competitors, and swedish fish.

Lucky you, I’m not selfish. I’ll totally share a recipe with you. I’d suggest this one be made for lunch the day before you decide to pound the pavement for a ridiculously long time.

Sweet Potato and Banana Dumplings with A butter and brown sugar glaze.

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sweet potato, cooked
  • 1 large, overripe banana
  • 1.5 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • +for the glaze+
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar

Instructions

  1. combine all ingredients in a mixer until a soft dough forms
  2. if the dough is too wet (should be a little wetter than a gnocchi dough) add more flour
  3. bring a pot of water to a rolling boil
  4. using a fork, scoop out about 1 tsp of dough at a time, lowering it into the boiling water, pushing it off into the water with a knife if needed.
  5. repeat process until dough is gone
  6. when all dumplings float, remove from water
  7. some may fall apart, don’t freak, it’s all good.
  8. start the glaze
  9. melt butter and brown sugar in pan until sugar gets a bit darker
  10. toss dumplings in glaze
  11. serve with more butter if you wish.

I really hope you enjoy this recipe. It’s sweet and just a little bit crazy, just like so many runners I know. Good Luck, Samantha. I know you’ll do awesome.

3 Responses to “Guest Post: Fueling for a Long Run (And a Recipe!)”

  1. Lisa @ RunWiki March 3, 2012 at 6:36 am #

    Look forward to trying and pinning this wonderful looking dish and to heading over to Cat’s blog. Happy Carb loading!

  2. Miz March 3, 2012 at 7:07 am #

    I love me some CAT.
    and you.
    and the two of you together?!
    perfection.

    • runcupcake March 7, 2012 at 10:30 am #

      Awww you’re such a sweetie! XOXO Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

