Guest Post: Race Day Packing List

1 Mar

While I’m putting the finishing touches on my packing for my trip to New Orleans, Carissa from Fit2Flex has written a fantastic post on Race Day Packing – perfect timing if you ask me!

I first “met” Carissa and Kyle when they sent me the cutest Foodie Penpals package back in November – complete with Rudolph Chapstick and a pink bow (they know me!). Check out their blog when you get a chance!!!!

********************************************************************

Hello Running & Cupcakes readers! Nice to meet ya! My name is Carissa and my husband and I blog at Fit2Flex.  Well, I blog…he consults! We are both certified personal trainers with a passion for healthy, active living and clean eating.  I am also a race announcer, runner, and studying to become a registered dietitian.  Stop on by our blog for workouts, meal plans, fit tips, and recipes.

Carissa & Kyle

Note from Samantha – I’ll ignore the fact that Carissa and Kyle are Cowboy’s fans …

I am happy to have a chance to share some of my running tips while Samantha is kicking some marathon butt! I personally have completed 1 full marathon and 5 (6 in March) half marathons. I’m no speed demon, but I enjoy the personal sense of accomplishment, the endorphins, and the post-race cheat meal!

Picture 2mail-7

There’s so much that goes into getting ready to race. Training, nutrition, more training, foam rolling, etc.… But can you imagine if all that goes to waste because you forgot to bring an essential item with you on race day? Eek!

Today’s post will give you a “RACE DAY PACKING LIST” you can refer back to in the future to make sure you are always ready to race your best.

Picture 3
Pin It

One very important thing to do is to run a long run in EXACTLY what you plan on wearing on race day. Everything from your socks to your underwear, shirt, sports bra, sunglasses, headband…wear it all! This is huge! Sometimes certain clothes just don’t work for longer runs. Your heels might blister or that shirt might rub under your arms. Figure it out now and that way it won’t stress you out 11 miles in on race day!

The same goes with food. Pack a food that is non-perishable and that you’ve eaten before a run previously. (I have a whole post on calculating pre/post race needs you can check out here). I like whole-wheat bagels with PB or Kashi cereal using an aseptic almond milk. Tortillas also travel well and don’t take up a lot of space, and oatmeal can be made in a hotel coffee pot.

IMG_4410

In terms of medicines like Advil or decongestants, I would be sure to pack them along with any prescription medications. However don’t take the medicine before the race. Certain medicines will affect your sodium levels and can increase your heart rate.

Also pack more than you need! Weathermen can be wrong! I always pack my “ideal race outfit” as well as a warmer and cooler option.

I find it’s also helpful to actually print out all the information from the race website. Registration directions, packet pick up info, start line directions, course map, and the spectator guide. You will be surprised how many times you reference these things.

Finally, lay out all your clothes the night before. Double check that it’s all there and ready to go. Charge any iPods or Garmins and visualize your success. See in your mind yourself having a great race and you will be “mentally packed” to compete!

IMG_4266

Remember to have fun! Nobody can predict what happens on race day…good or bad. But you only have 1 chance! Remember all your training and the work you put in. THIS IS YOUR DAY! Come rain or shine make sure you cross that line proud of yourself!

I can’t wait to hear about how Samantha rocked New Orleans!

Love and preparation,

Carissa & Kyle

4 Responses to “Guest Post: Race Day Packing List”

  1. Tina @ Best Body Fitness March 1, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    GREAT and comprehensive list!!!

  2. JessSutera March 1, 2012 at 9:40 am #

    Awesome list!! I’ll have to remember to run in my race day gear when it comes to marathon training for me – that’s a good one!

  3. Carissa Bealert (@CarissaAnneB) March 1, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Yeah! Go Cowboys..haha! And have a great race!!

  4. Stéphanie March 1, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Thanks for the great list. For a newbie runner, your post was very helpful.

Leave a Reply

