Recipe Makeover: Carraba’s Chicken Bryan

23 Feb

I absolutely love the food at Carraba’s. For a chain Italian restaurant their food is delicious! Recently, I just happened to have everything I needed to create my very own version of their Chicken Bryan, which is my favorite dish on the menu.

From their menu:

Chicken Bryan
Topped with goat cheese, sundried tomatoes and a basil lemon butter sauce

Sounds delicious, right? My version was almost identical to theirs – and it’s pretty simple to make!

Chicken Bryan (Modified from Recipe found on CDKitchen, Inc.)

Ingredients:

3 Cloves minced garlic

1 minced shallot

2 tbsp. olive oil

1 stick butter

1 1/3 cup lemon juice (this can be to taste, I like to really taste the lemon)

1 cup chicken broth

1 1/2 cup chopped sun dried tomatoes

1/4 cup chopped fresh basil

1/2 teaspoon sea salt

1/2 teaspoon white pepper

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (marinated in your choice of marinade – I used Annie’s Goddess salad dressing, which is lemony/vinegary/olive oil type dressing)

8 ounces goat cheese

1 pound cooked pasta (of your choice, I used spaghetti)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sauté garlic and onion in olive oil over medium heat until tender. Add lemon juice and butter, increase heat to medium-high. Once butter is melted, add tomatoes, basil, salt, and white pepper, continuing to simmer until sauce is of a somewhat thick consistency, lower heat to keep sauce warm.

While the sauce is cooking, grille chicken until it is approximately 75% of the way done.

Remove chicken from grille and place on a baking sheet. Top each piece of chicken with goat cheese and the sundried tomato-lemon sauce.

Bake in the oven for approximately 15 minutes, or until chicken is cooked through.

Mix the remaining sauce in with the pasta, and serve chicken over pasta.

Enjoy!

Chicken Bryan

Plated Chicken Bryan

Chicken Bryan Plated 2

Let me know what you think if you make this!

Signature

10 Responses to “Recipe Makeover: Carraba’s Chicken Bryan”

  1. Tara Burner February 23, 2012 at 6:49 am #

    going to have to give this a try because my daughter loves it from caraba’s

  2. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean February 23, 2012 at 8:07 am #

    love recreating recipe food! great job!

  3. eatingforexcellence February 23, 2012 at 9:25 am #

    WOW those look so good!!

  4. JessSutera February 23, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I have never been to Carraba’s believe it or not. Mainly because I’m spoiled by Italian cooking from my father-in-law I think! BUT I LOVE sundried tomatoes, actually had them in a salad while in Little Rock and thought that was a genius use of them! I totally want to try this chicken though – you wanna make it for me?? ;-P

    • runcupcake February 23, 2012 at 10:06 am #

      Of course I’ll make it for you!!!!

  5. Cat @ Breakfast to Bed February 23, 2012 at 10:10 am #

    I basically want to devour that cheese, tomato sauce and the pasta. I don’t want to come up for air.

  6. Tina @ Best Body Fitness February 23, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    I didn’t even know Carrabas had a dish like this but YUM! Now I’m glad i can try a healthier version at home.

  7. Carissa Bealert (@CarissaAnneB) February 23, 2012 at 2:23 pm #

    That looks great! I need to make it because I’m addicted to that dish! I’ll try to use less butter…do you think that’s possible?

    • runcupcake February 23, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

      The sauce may be a little thin if you do use less butter – with the amount I used it was the perfect consistency.

  8. Wild Things Run Free February 23, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    this looks SO good… I’m mildly addicted to carrabas, but don’t allow myself to go too often because i’d be well.. 900lbs haha

Leave a Reply

