Taper (No Treadmill) Tuesday

21 Feb

With Marathon #3 12 days away I have officially begun tapering. YIKES. I’ve written about how taper affects me a few times:

Taking Advantage of Excess Energy

Oh So Hungry! (A Long Story, Advice Needed!)

Let the Taper Begin

And of course, the always not-so-fun

Unplanned Taper Madness (Day 25 – TGIF) 

So far I’m not suffering during this taper, but I did just run a half marathon two days ago, and have been recovering from some sort of stomach something or other.

I do plan on running today though – and I plan on running outside. At least 2, if not 3, of my 4 weekly runs have taken place on the treadmill since November 2nd (I actually titled my Garmin data for that run as “Last Post Work Outdoor Run for Winter” hah!).

That’s 2-1/2 months of treadmilling during the week. That is quite enough for this girl!

Now that I’m tapering and shouldn’t be doing any sort of speedwork – I’m definitely saying goodbye to my old friend, the treadmill.

no-treadmill

Source

And welcoming my other friend, the road.

Asphalt_Road

Source

I’m very much looking forward to a night-time, post-work run. Nothing like the road and fresh air to take away all the stress and tension of a day!

Have a great Tuesday everyone!

Signature

7 Responses to “Taper (No Treadmill) Tuesday”

  1. Tiff February 21, 2012 at 6:13 am #

    Enjoy the run! 🙂 Happy Tuesday to you too.

  2. Tina @ Best Body Fitness February 21, 2012 at 6:14 am #

    I definitely prefer the road to the treadmill. Hope you have a great run later today and that the taper crazies stay away. 🙂

  3. Robin February 21, 2012 at 7:47 am #

    Yay, for leaving that treadmill alone for a bit. The treadmill has it pluses and it has its negatives, but your legs will be thankful for the road runs on marathon day.

    • runcupcake February 21, 2012 at 9:19 am #

      That was one of my biggest reasons for transferring back to all road – with marathon day so close, I want my legs used to road only!

  4. jobo February 21, 2012 at 10:36 am #

    I am Soooooo over the treadmill too! Excited to run outside in warmer temps tomorrow, for sure 🙂 Enjoy your taper, embrace it! 🙂

  5. eatingforexcellence February 21, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    I can’t run on the treadmill for more than 3 miles….TOTALLY prefer the roads! Good luck tapering this time around, I’m sure it’ll be fine 🙂

  6. Running Backwards in High Heels February 21, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    I hate running by myself on the road.. Our sidewalks randomly end around here and then you are in a busy road.

Leave a Reply

