Five for Friday: Attitude Adjustment Time

17 Feb

Lately I’ve found myself a little whiney, a little complainy, a little not-so-positive. When I started thinking about the things I was whining and complaining about I smacked myself back to reality, realizing I was being straight up bratty and selfish.

Today I’m taking that whininess, sending it packing, and giving myself a 180 degree attitude adjustment.

  1. “I need a new job so bad, I just can’t stand this one anymore.”  It is no surprise that I don’t love my job. I’ve been there almost 7 years, doing just about the same. damn. thing. while I went to school. Well, so? At least I have a job right? The unemployment rate is Rhode Island is 10.8% – that is a HUGE number. So today, instead of whining about my job, I’m grateful. Grateful I’m not struggling to make ends meet. Grateful I’m not stressing day in and day out about not having a paycheck. A less than ideal job is always better than no job.
  2. “I’m always so busy all the time, it’s exhausting.” Yet everything (almost) that I do is FUN. I blog. I run. I do yoga. I bake. I cook. I travel. I’m studying to be NASM Certified. Well duh, of course I’m busy! I’ve very recently started really listening to my body in terms of being tired – learning the queues my body gives me when it’s truly tired, or when I’m just being lazy and unmotivated. If I’m for real tired, I take a break. I unwind with a book and a glass of wine. No more complaining about being so busy when everything I do to make me so busy is stuff I have chosen to do and enjoy.
  3. “Tapering sucks. I’m way more tired than I am when I run. I haven’t run since Sunday (don’t run on Mondays, was too lazy to get to the gym yesterday morning since I had a night time appointment).” A direct quote from me on Facebook. I’d like to thank Jess for setting my ass straight on this one, she said: “whenever I get anxious during taper or whatever, I try to remind myself: at least I’m able to run and am only not running today because I’m in taper mode. Not because I’m injured or literally unable to run for another reason. it usually gives me the slap of perspective I need to snap out of the taper-sucks funk” I love that girl! And you know what? I had a totally butt kicking tempo run last night too.
  4. “I’m so sick of the treadmill. Is it Daylight Saving’s yet so I can run outside?” I don’t feel safe running outside in the dark near my house because I live on a 45 mph road – and you know that the speed limit is merely a suggestion to most people. WHAT THE HELL AM I COMPLAINING ABOUT? I was nervous going into this training cycle that winter was going to F with my training, and my long runs. I’ve run every single long run outside in stellar weather. (Other than my 16 miler the day after a snow storm). So I have to run 50% of my runs on the treadmill and I’m COMPLAINING. Bad me. Very bad me. No more. Especially because the treadmill has it’s benefits – such as last nights run. Forcing myself to negative split 3 fast tempo miles. I could’ve done it outside, sure. But on the treadmill it’s do or die. No slowing down, keep pace or fall off. I don’t want to be scraped off of the wall behind the treadmill at the gym.
  5. “My family is driving me crazy, I can’t wait to get my own place so I can have some peace and quiet.” Really Samantha?! BAD ME. Again. My family is noisy (that’s where I get it from). They’re quirky. My mom has this crazy obsession that every time the dogs go out at night they’re going to get sprayed by a skunk. My dog is petrified of my step-dad (90% of the time) and he loves to make a point every day of how bi-polar she is. Me and my brother get along awesome – most of the time. When we don’t? We fight like we did when we were kids. But without them I’d be struggling. And living alone isn’t always all it’s cracked up to be – although I do miss the peace and quiet coming whenever I wanted it. But I’m grateful that they’re here for me, they helped me through a rough time, and are helping me get back on my feet. They put up with me when I wander around the house all day after a long run eating, and defending myself with “I ran blah blah blah miles today.” Who else would put up with that?

Thinking about this, and writing it out, was really therapeutic. Next time I want to get whiny/bitchy/complainy about nonsense stuff – I’m going to remember this.

What do you do for yourself when you need an attitude adjustment?

Signature

27 Responses to “Five for Friday: Attitude Adjustment Time”

  1. Nicole February 17, 2012 at 6:09 am #

    we all need an attitude adjustment every so often. i usually do the same thing as you and turn about my whines and remind myself why i should be grateful! happy friday!

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

      Yes! It makes life so much nicer!

  2. Miz February 17, 2012 at 6:16 am #

    I do just what you did.
    and I gave myself a BIG OLE ONE last week.

    xo

  3. tonee78 February 17, 2012 at 6:51 am #

    I whine and complain too much. I agree with everything you have said, when I take a step back my life is pretty good!!!

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      It’s kind of crazy isn’t it?

  4. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean February 17, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    at least you can recognize that you need to make one! a lot of people don’t even get that far!

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      I hate feeling crabby/cranky/unhappy etc. I love being perky and happy, so when I start to feel the other way, I realize I have to do something!

  5. Tara Burner February 17, 2012 at 7:38 am #

    I got a ‘tude adjustment last night
    I’ve had a majorly rough go at things lately and yesterday hit the bike for a hot sweaty workout and read Power Thoughts by Joyce Meyer and this one comment (“Be content with what you have, refuse to focus on what you dont have, love others, stay hopeful concerning what you want & need”) hit home and today I have a better ‘tude…

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:07 pm #

      That is a great quote. I REALLY like it! 😀

  6. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf February 17, 2012 at 7:44 am #

    I love this post. I’ve been going through the same thing and have been so super whiny lately especially since I can’t run or exercise which is usually how I kick my attitude to the door. Nothing like a sweat drenching workout to send my tail into a spin. Also, I appreciate that you included the complaints in your post. Makes it more real 🙂

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:05 pm #

      I love a good old fashioned speed run to get rid of a bad attitude – or some power yoga! 🙂

  7. Jessica M February 17, 2012 at 8:01 am #

    I need to do the same thing! I think I will package mine up along with the bum hip and send them off! 🙂

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      GREAT IDEA! Get well soon you have a race coming up!

  8. Heather (Where's the Beach) February 17, 2012 at 8:15 am #

    Oh love this b/c I could use some major adjustments too. And Jess is great about helping keep you straight sometimes – just gotta remind her of the same later on 😉

    • JessSutera February 17, 2012 at 10:56 am #

      hehehee LOVE that you totally called me out on that one – you are SO RIGHT, I do need to take my own advice sometimes, and I don’t always do so well with that, clearly 😉

      Regardless Sam – I’m glad my words could help just a wee bit. But honestly, sometimes just blogging it out is ALL that snaps me out of it, so I’m a big fan of going that route too. Nice perspective shift friend – and way to kill your tempo run last night!!

      • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

        Thank you thank you! 🙂 Your words always help, you’re very wise! 😉 XOXO

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:04 pm #

      That’s why we all connect so well – we’re all good at giving each other that reminder, slap on the ass, whatever it is, when we need it!

  9. Krissie J February 17, 2012 at 8:40 am #

    I find a hot bath and a glass of wine, followed by a nice nap is a good form of resetting. 😉 It’s really easy to let the day to day stuff pile up though!

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

      Oooh hot bath, wine, and nap, is a fabulous idea! I’m definitely going to try that one next time I need an attitude adjustment!

  10. jobo February 17, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

    perspective!!! we all need that slap upside the head with it…even me, ms puppies and rainbows 😉 It’s the ability to turn it around and see the positive, despite whatever is frustrating, that makes the difference. You just did that and you know what really matters, and that, my friend, is all that matters. We all have our days, we are all allowed to bitch and moan once in awhile, it’s picking ourselves up and seeing the positive that makes the difference 🙂 XOXO

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

      Ms Puppies and Rainbows – you are TOO cute! XOXO 🙂

  11. Wild Things Run Free February 17, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    I think we’re all guilty of having this kind of attitude at one point or another. We’re only human. Sometimes it takes something small to snap out of it, sometimes it takes something bigger. I know recent events in my life have given me a HUGE attitude adjustment.

    It’s awesome that you’re realizing it on your own and trying to change it! I applaud you for that.

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

      XOXO Thanks hun. It’s not easy to realize – until you suddenly think, wow I’ve been kind cranky lately!

  12. Emily @FamilyNLifeLV February 17, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I totally love this post! In fact, I may just have to do one for myself. I love the idea of writing down the negatives and turning them positive! Hang in there with that Taper. 🙂

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      Do it! I feel so much better now that it’s been written and off my chest!

  13. triing2survive February 17, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

    I have to remind myself of this all the time. At least I have a job. Keep up the positive side.

    • runcupcake February 20, 2012 at 8:00 pm #

      It’s hard to do, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

