January Recap

7 Feb

January was an awesome month for me. I wrote at the beginning of January how I resolve to not resolve. Then I went on and on about a bunch off stuff I want to accomplish this year.

Here’s how January stacked up in the “goal department”:

  • Run a 4:30 Marathon – With RnR New Orleans less than 4 weeks away I’m feeling extremely confident that I will accomplish this goal. I had a wicked 18 mile training run and a wicked 20 mile training run to boost my strength and confidence.
  • Run a sub 2-hour half marathon – February 19th is the day. Hampton Beach, NH is the place. Coachy says “You can bust 2, I know you can.” How can I not be confident about doing it when I have my Coachy, who oversees every aspect of my training, telling me I can do it?
  • Run 1200 miles in 2012 – I ran 133 miles in January, making it my biggest month EVER. I’m well on my way.
  • Improve my upper body strength through weight training. I made it to the gym to lift 3 out of 4 Monday’s in January. A couple of my weights are already going up, and I am starting to see more definition in my biceps, triceps, and shoulders.
  • Stretch more (more like every day – even if just a few minutes here and there) – This is not difficult to do when you run 133 miles in a month because your body craves it. I am always stretching now. I also now have a foam roller, which I’ve been using A LOT!
  • Work my abs more – I’ve been combining core work with upper body work on Monday’s at the gym. My brother told me an interesting fact the other day – the abdominal muscles are the fastest recovering muscle in the body. He told me I could work them almost every day if I wanted to. I am already starting to see more strength and definition there too, so I plan to add sets of core work after most workouts going forward.

So far so good for January! By the numbers, here’s how January went down:

Total workout hours: 28 hours, 8 minutes

Miles run: 133

3 upper body/core workouts

4 yoga workouts

2012 is off to a phenomenal start!

I have also officially been off the red meat and pork wagon for 4 full weeks. I feel fantastic. I started taking a B12 supplement (little bro says it’s necessary if you don’t eat red meat). I’ve also been 95% of the way good about what I eat (reading labels, avoiding processed, etc.). I say 95% because I am still eating plenty of chocolate, drinking enough beer and wine to go around, and also ate at Wendy’s one day (when I crave a Spicy Chicken sandwich, I just allow myself to have it, and go back to normal eating with the next meal).

How is your 2012 so far?

Signature

22 Responses to “January Recap”

  1. bearrunner February 7, 2012 at 6:28 am #

    You can do it… believe in yourself!!!!

    cheers

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      My long runs lately have helped build my confidence 🙂

  2. Nicole February 7, 2012 at 7:02 am #

    You are rockin’ 2012 so far! and you SO can do a sub 2 hour half! 🙂

  3. Sarah February 7, 2012 at 7:31 am #

    I have been trying to increase veggies and fruits and it has been awesome so far!! Great job on your goals!

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

      Thanks 🙂 fruit and veggie increase is pretty easy once you put your mind to it

  4. Krissie J February 7, 2012 at 8:32 am #

    I haven’t accomplished a whole lot in 2012 so far, but I just kicked off my half training today and looking forward to running a lot of miles again. 🙂 I’m also aiming for a sub-2:00 half. I definitely think we can do it! 😀

  5. JessSutera February 7, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    KILLER month my dear! That is a shitton of miles!! I’m proud of you for sticking to your strength/stretch/core work too – you are flying high these days!! Can’t wait for you to crush your two PR goals!!!

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:40 pm #

      Thank you dear 🙂 I’ve never felt so great!

  6. eatingtheweek February 7, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    What a start to the new year! Having followed your training over the last month, I am as confident as your coach that you’ll break 2 hours in the halfathon. I did two of them in 2011, narrowly beating 2 hours both times (1:56 and 1:53) after training regimens nowhere near as strenuous what you’ve done w/relative ease. Crush it!

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      Wow really? Awesome! Thanks for telling me that!

  7. jobo February 7, 2012 at 11:19 am #

    You are KILLING 2012 so far!!!! I am so impressed at that mileage and I think you can totally hit sub-2 half and sub-4 full…you are the most determined and competitive (with yourself!) person I know 🙂 XOXO

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

      Sub 4 full? You have hugely high hopes for me, love it 🙂

      I can’t compete against anyone but myself, might as well make it interesting, right?

  8. Nicole W. February 7, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    You are all over those 2012 goals! Way to go!

    And you can totally run a sub 2 half!!

  9. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal February 7, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    That’s a lot of miles! Way to go!

  10. Krysten Siba Bishop (@darwinianfail) February 7, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    You are doing amazing! Can’t wait to see how your races go! You can do it!

  11. eatingforexcellence February 7, 2012 at 10:27 pm #

    Those are some serious goals you accomplished-congrats!

Leave a Reply

