10 Songs You DO NOT Want on Your Marathon Playlist (And Sparkly Soul Winner!)

6 Feb

Happy Monday everyone! Let’s start the week out with a fun, funny post shall we?

I have been listening to my iTunes library on constant shuffle lately, trying to come up with a 4 1/2 hour playlist for RnR New Orleans. I won’t listen the entire time, I’m sure of it, but when I need to turn off my mind during a hard part of a race, having amped up music helps with that.

As I was listening, so many songs came on that made me think “Eek, I could NEVER run to that song.” I also turned to my fellow FitFluential Ambassadors and my group of crazy running friends for input.

So here you have it, 10 Songs You DO NOT Want on Your Marathon Playlist:

10 Songs You Do Not Want

I could never run to any of these songs for various reasons from the slow tempo, to negativity, to talk of death and pain and bodies hitting the floor. YIKES!

What would you add to this list?

AND NOW what you’ve all been waiting for, the winner of the Sparkly Soul Headbands!

Sparkly Soul WinnerLucky #100 – is Kristine from Shape Up NYC. Congrats girl! E-mail me (by 8 a.m. EST Wednesday, Feb 8th please!) runcupcake {at} gmail {dot} come with your two color choices and your shipping address!

And if you didn’t win, don’t forget, Sparkly Soul is offering 15% your order from now until March 1st when you enter the code “FitFluential” at check out!

Signature

18 Responses to “10 Songs You DO NOT Want on Your Marathon Playlist (And Sparkly Soul Winner!)”

  1. Miz February 6, 2012 at 6:31 am #

    LOL at the TAKE MY BREATH AWAY
    Id add anyany kids music.
    any 🙂

  2. Lisa @ RunWiki February 6, 2012 at 8:00 am #

    Pinned it! 🙂 love your list

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) February 6, 2012 at 8:16 am #

    LOL – I was waiting for this post. I thought it was a brilliant idea!

  4. JessSutera February 6, 2012 at 8:45 am #

    I totally just pinned that top ten list, I love it and I don’t even listen to music when I run! hehe

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      I only do in safe places…TM at gym, bike path, stuff like that

  5. jobo February 6, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Haha! What a great idea for a post, and some goodies (to hate!) on here!

  6. Krissie J February 6, 2012 at 9:02 am #

    I own the album that Drowning Pool song is from. 😉 I’m a rock girl at heart.

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:54 pm #

      Im a rock girl too, and I like that song. It’s just a bit too hard to run too…that and I dont want to think about my body hitting the floor while im running LOL

  7. mileswithstyle (@ahatfield08) February 6, 2012 at 4:02 pm #

    That song list is pretty funny. “Mad World” would be the worst marathon song EVER!

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:53 pm #

      Its a good song, but its sooooooo sleepy

  8. Kalee February 6, 2012 at 7:18 pm #

    hahaha! I hate it when I am getting into my rhythm and then John Mayer or something comes on! It kills me! What about I’m a Loser Baby?

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:52 pm #

      Ooh yeah that’s definitely another do not run to song…such a downer

  9. Meredith @ DareYouTo February 7, 2012 at 12:06 am #

    Haha funny playlist!!! Creative idea. Thanks for the laugh.

  10. Suzanne February 7, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

    Congrats Kristine! Hadn’t really thought about what NOT to have on a playlist before!

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:45 pm #

      Its silly but funny right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

