18 Miles of Awesomeness

30 Jan

18 Miler Tweet

I never imagined my long run would go as well as it did this past Saturday. Especially after a not so fun 16-miler last Sunday

I took most of this past week off, of everything, to fight off this nasty head cold like I mentioned on Thursday.  By Saturday my legs were itching to run.

The Plan (Per Coachy):

12 Miles at Marathon Pace + 1 minute (10:45)

6 Miles at Marathon Pace (9:45 – well, we were testing 9:45, he thinks 10 is too slow for me)

The outcome:

2012-01-28_13-00-45_232

This is THE FASTEST I have EVER run 18 miles. I not only surpassed my 18 mile training runs, but both of my marathons.

Here’s how it went down:

Marathon #3 Long Run #4 Laps

My legs were getting itchy to speed up at the halfway mark, so I allowed myself one quick mile, knowing I’d have 3 more “recovery” miles before the final speedy stretch.

During the last 6 miles I kept telling myself to slow down, stay closer to 9:45, my intended pace, so I wouldn’t burn out – but my legs just wanted to go. They needed  to go.  I did really push that last mile to make it my fastest – I love finishing strong.

You know how they say that during a marathon the race doesn’t really start until 20 miles? That is the point of running my long run like this.

Coachy wants me to learn to push through the pain, push through the mental anguish (which I did not have any of during this run – another reason it was so fantastic!). The goal is to train my body to defeat that wall, whether it be a mental wall or physical wall. By speeding up during the last 6 miles of my long run – I’m learning to tough out the pain, and I’m also making myself stronger. It’s also teaching my legs what race pace should feel like.

I needed this run. My confidence levels are sky high – I have no doubts that I will run a sub 4:30 marathon in New Orleans.

When was the last time you had a run/workout that you just *needed*? One that boosted your confidence and made you feel amazing?

Signature

21 Responses to “18 Miles of Awesomeness”

  1. bearrunner January 30, 2012 at 8:41 pm #

    great job on the 18 miles… my 10 miles i ran outside on sunday

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

      I love being able to still run outside comfortably in January!

  2. JessSutera January 30, 2012 at 8:50 pm #

    YAAAAAAYYYYYY!!! I LOVE the confidence and pure JOY that emanates from this post!! I am SO PROUD of you for pushing that pace for your 18-miler and for riding the sweetest high as a result. You ROCK my friend! I can’t wait for you to CRUSH it in New Orleans!!!!! 🙂

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:38 pm #

      Thank you SO MUCH my friend. I’m so glad to have friends like you to cheer me on through the good, the bad, and the ugly 😛

  3. Heather (Where's the Beach) January 30, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

    Woohoo! Awesome job!!!!

  4. Jim Dodis (@RunBikeSurf) January 30, 2012 at 8:52 pm #

    Awesome run Sam! Killed it! Executed perfectly 🙂 Them cajuns better stay out of your way in New Orleans 😉

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

      Hehe thanks Coachy for kicking my butt!

  5. Robin January 30, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    Those are some awesome splits for an amazing run. I really feel that your confidence is what is going to carry you to an amazing fast marathon. Great job Samantha. You are really showing people what hard work can do.

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:36 pm #

      Thanks Robin, this really means so much to me coming from you. I look up to you and how far you’ve come 🙂

  6. jobo January 30, 2012 at 9:27 pm #

    YAY! I am SO glad your confidence is high and you had a kick ass run. You are simply amazing, and I am so proud of you!!

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

      Awwwwww thanks sweetie 🙂 you’re such an awesome cheerleader!

  7. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 30, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    you’re freakin’ awesome! i had a awesome night of running tonight 🙂 ran 3 miles 8:12, 8:06 & 8:30…who am i?! can’t wait for you to run your marathon!!

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

      You rock friend! I can’t wait too, its sooooooo close now Eeeeeks

  8. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 31, 2012 at 8:13 am #

    These are AMAZING splits, Samantha!!! You totally killed the 9:45 pace!!! 4:30 is going to be a piece of cake for you =) So glad you had a great run this weekend!!! xoxo

    • runcupcake January 31, 2012 at 2:34 pm #

      Thanks Michele 🙂 I’m so stoked with how this run went!

  9. Heather@Just a Colorado Gal February 3, 2012 at 2:55 pm #

    What a great run! Looks like your training is going awesome!!!

    • runcupcake February 3, 2012 at 5:33 pm #

      Thank you 🙂 it’s going great!

  10. Stéphanie February 8, 2012 at 4:35 pm #

    Great job on the run. I have a quick question. I’m looking to buy a new running watch and I was wondering if you were satisfied with your Garmin. Would you like it to do more or are the features enough for you?

    • runcupcake February 8, 2012 at 5:35 pm #

      Im happy with it…it tracks miles, pace, gives me elevation data and splits at the end…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Juice and Smoothies for Health « Running and Cupcakes - February 1, 2012

    […] (the ones that are not my daily smoothie) every day. If not more. Especially now – I just ran my 18 miler and my 20 miler is this weekend. That’s a lot of time outside, on your feet, in the elements, […]

Leave a Reply

