Totally Random Thursday

26 Jan

Wow it’s late already – I had a whole bunch of randomness on the mind today, so here goes:

First, I ran the 3 miles I owed Michele tonight. Which was the first time I’ve run since Sunday. I’ll get to that in a minute.

2012-01-26_18-03-51_196 Now I wonder, how did I ever live without a foam roller?  I was whining about my hip on Facebook the other day, and how I don’t own a foam roller – and next thing I know, my wicked awesome friend Don sent me one right away. How freakin’ cool is that? This thing hurts crazy bad until you’ve rolled over it a few times – and I’m in love with it.

Speaking of my hip – I never told you guys about long run on Sunday because I was too busy watching a very stressful Patriots game. I questioned my sanity on this run more than once – as I dodged puddles, snow piles, cars, you name it. It was a really kick ass run though – until about Mile 13, when I fell completely apart. I don’t know why I fell apart but it was the worst wall I have ever hit in my life. My hip did start to flare up a bit, but this was worse – full body sore, tired, hungry. I’d try to run, it would hurt. I’d walk, and stiffen up. I cried. I swore. My fingers started to go numb (it was COLD) so I’d run more.  I forced a very slow run through Mile 16 to finish, but that sucked worse than anything I’ve ever felt before.

Marathon 3 Long Run 3

However, I’m grateful to Mother Nature for this coming Saturday. 34-44 degrees for the duration of my run, and SUNNY. And, Mother Nature was kind enough to provide us with some unseasonably warm weather to melt away all of the snow from last weekends storm. 18 miles on tap for me Saturday!

Marathon hunger has settled in. I have officially hit the point in my training where I am always hungry, no matter what I do. I’m trying to do my best to control myself, but I can’t always help it. I ate two huge servings of spaghetti with broccoli for dinner plus 3/4 of a sandwich roll turned garlic bread. Good thing it’s Carb Thursday!

I went to the doctor Tuesday for this nagging cold. Lucky, it’s just a cold. Lucky, my doc is a marathoner and cleared me to run my 18 as long as I listen to my body. Woot! I asked his opinion on “juicing” – not as a diet or a cleanse, but as a supplement. He’s all for it – so I went to the grocery store and spent an absurd amount of money on produce. I’ll share some recipes and ideas with you tomorrow. Here’s a sneak peek:

2012-01-24_18-42-36_628

…what other randomness do I have to share with you tonight?

Ooooooh yeah….I remember. I am now the Official Distance Running Advisor for fellow FitFluential Blogger, Mike Schiemer! His blog is called  Frugal Fitness and is CHOCK FULL of workouts, recipes, articles, nutrition info, etc… Check out the affiliate’s page for more info! I am beyond excited to be working with Mike in this aspect, as well as with FitFluential. Do me a favor and check out his blog if you don’t/haven’t already. If you like to save money, this is the blog for you!

Phew, that was super random. There may be more, but it’s bedtime for this girl – another thing the doc told me, MAKE SURE I get enough, if not more than enough, sleep while marathon training, and especially now because I need to kick this cold.

Hope your Thursday was awesome!

Signature

5 Responses to “Totally Random Thursday”

  1. Kristin January 26, 2012 at 10:12 pm #

    We are definitely having similar experiences! My 30K was tough for me. It was all mental and silly. I have to get better at getting a handle on that. And as far as eating…OMG. That run unleashed a savage animal or something because I cannot stop eating this week! The usual suspects have come out to play so I’m partially blaming that but jeez, I wanted to hop off the bike tonight just so I could forage for some chocolate. I hope it’s not like this for the next 5 weeks or else you’ll have to roll me across the finish line. 🙂

  2. jobo January 27, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Wow, awesome job powering through that run when you just wanted to be done and with that cold weather too. you are amazing woman!!!! and you are going to do great with your 18 tomorrow, I just know it. Congrats on being the running advisor! that is so great, you give awesome advice 🙂

  3. JessSutera January 27, 2012 at 11:15 am #

    SO glad you’re foam rolling now, it’s a LIFE saver. I fairly recently started rolling and stretching a lot more and it’s made a HUGE difference. I hope your hip hangs in there for all 18 on Saturday!! And ps. the marathon hunger thing – OMG I better brace myself when my time comes, huh? Oy!

  4. Mike "Frugal Fitness" Schiemer March 20, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    You rock! Very glad to have you on board. Maybe April or May we could do a couple fitness videos for YouTube since you live close to Boston? Let me know! Keep up the great work!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 18 Miles of Awesomeness « Running and Cupcakes - January 30, 2012

    […] I never imagined my long run would go as well as it did this past Saturday. Especially after a not so fun 16-miler last Sunday.  […]

Leave a Reply

