Are You Ready for Some Football?

25 Jan

Oh yeah baby – my beloved Patriots have yet again been led to the SuperBowl by their esteemed leader, Tom Brady.

giants-vs-patriots-superbowl-cartoon-598x467

Source

Okay so that’s a bit much considering he really played like sh!t on Sunday, but I digress…

As a New Englander, I LOATHE all things New York sports (Yankees, Knicks, Giants, Jets, you name it…) – so when I was approached by one of my favorite new friends, Michele from NYC Running Mama about co-hosting a Superbowl Challenge – much like the one she and Pavement Runner hosted last week – I was ALL over it.

Side note: Michele, those three miles I owe you from the Giants/49ers game will be run tomorrow! I never back down from a bet.

Here’s is how this is going to go down (obviously copied almost verbatim from Michele’s blog post about the same thing…):

We are runners.  Distance runners.  So the loser will be running.

But this isn’t just limited to us – we’d love to have more runners join us in this friendly competition!!

Rules of this challenge (same rules as the previous challenge!):

If your team loses, you have to run the point differential in miles. Simple. For example, when the Giants beat the Patriots (for the 2nd time in 4 years) Patriots beat the Giants (because payback’s a bitch…yo…) 24-4, Michele and anyone else who is rooting for the Giants will have to run 20 miles. (Here’s where you hope you’re a Patriots fan).

Mile limit: In the occurrence that the Giants blow out the Patriots (not likely to happen), we’ve capped the miles to 20 — meaning the most either of us would run is 20 miles. This works for us because we have a solid base and can log the distance. If this mileage is too high for you based on your current training, feel free to cap it at 10 – or whatever distance you feel comfortable!

To be run by: Within a week of the game sounds fair, but outstanding circumstances are understood.

Prove it: Tweet out a photo of your garmin in shame… LOL.

You don’t need to challenge an individual, just make an agreement with yourself to run the difference after you pick a team. If you couldn’t care less about stupid football, but are forced to watch the game, at least you’ll have something to root for.

So tell us…

Are you participating in this running wager?  (to sign up, leave a comment below!)

Which team are you rooting for???

P.S. Michele is a bad bad person and posted a bad bad video of highlights from Superbowl 43 – I refuse to do that. (And of course I’m kidding about her being a bad bad person – she’s a sweetheart and awesome).

Signature

23 Responses to “Are You Ready for Some Football?”

  1. the MF Dre January 25, 2012 at 8:29 pm #

    I’m In! BTW, great job on #fitblog last night.

  2. Fancy Nancy January 26, 2012 at 5:22 am #

    2008 was a fluke!!! We are going to be nice and warm in our homes while they are running around!!!

  3. jobo January 26, 2012 at 8:53 am #

    That is awesome!! Obvs I am rooting for the Pats, and I will enjoy watching this little wager go down 😉

  4. JessSutera January 26, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    I wrote on her blog that I’m in so I’ll tell you the same — IN!! Though let’s hope it doesn’t end up being 20 miles, because um, I’ve never run farther than 13.1…yet. 😉

    Who am I kidding? The Pats are gonna CRUSH THEM!!!!

  5. Sarah January 26, 2012 at 10:55 am #

    I am new here but I am so in with this challenge! I am ALL THE WAY GIANTS!

  6. Louise Rothwell January 26, 2012 at 11:39 am #

    Patriots all the way. Problem is, if and that is a BIG IF the Pats lose I will have to run the distance in my marathon on Feb 19th if it’s a big loss!

  7. Janine @ThePurpleGiraffe January 26, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    I’m in, and the Pats are going to destroy Michele’s beloved Giants. Bam.

  8. Amy January 26, 2012 at 1:26 pm #

    Oh i’m so in! And i am a Giants fan:)

  9. Tanya January 26, 2012 at 3:17 pm #

    I’m in. Boston born girl, so clearly my loyalty lies with the Patriots!!

  10. kaliesthoughts January 26, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    Im in patriots all the way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Michelle @ Running with Attitude January 26, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

    I’m in — Go Pats! (I left a comment on Michele’s blog too).

    I know what you mean about loathing all NYC sports teams. As a New Englander, the 7 years I spent living in NYC were torture as a sports fan!

  12. Kalee January 26, 2012 at 8:02 pm #

    Patriots!! Love my dreamboat Brady!

  13. Emz January 26, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Such a freaking awesome idea.
    Love it!

  14. Jen Thomas January 27, 2012 at 10:35 am #

    I’m totally in!! PATS all the way! FYI for excel spreadsheet – don’t have a blog (yet!) but twitter name is JThomas822

  15. Jim Dodis (@RunBikeSurf) January 29, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    Coachy’s in! Put me down for NYC LOL, Im ornery that way 😉

  16. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 29, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    Ok! Everyone who asked to be included up to and including Jim is now on the list!! =)

  17. Kelly @ Cupcake Kelly's January 31, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    Love this! GO Patrioits 😉

    • Kelly @ Cupcake Kelly's January 31, 2012 at 9:07 am #

      And I can’t spell….I blame the baby up early and no coffee yet. Let me try again. Go Patriots!!

  18. readytogetsweaty February 4, 2012 at 4:54 pm #

    I am SOO in and will proudly be watching the game in the GIANTS shirt! Gotta root for the hometeam…I may live in NE right now, but I will always be a NYC girl 🙂

  19. M.Shots February 5, 2012 at 9:49 am #

    I want to root for the under-dog, but can’t. Go Patriots. (i’m limited to five miles though).

  20. Katy February 5, 2012 at 11:33 am #

    Go Pats!

  21. Katie momslrb February 5, 2012 at 12:01 pm #

    Im in! How creative! Since my STL rams are no where close to being a super bowl winner, I’ll root for the team with the cutest QB. Tom Brady. That’s right guys! That’s how I pick’em. 🙂

Leave a Reply

