Defining Self

23 Jan

If you had asked me a year ago if my life would have taken the turn it has taken I would’ve answered with a  resounding “ARE YOU CRAZY?”

I never imagined I’d be a blogger writing for anymore than my friends and family who are nice enough to just read it for me.

I never imagined I’d be involved with the most amazing group of men and women that exists – my FitFluential Family.

I never imagined I’d be sharing my story, day in and day out, with all of you.

I never imagined I’d be a 2x (soon to be 3x and 4x) marathoner.

I never imagined I’d change my entire career path so that I could help people find fitness like I found it.

Running is my #1 – I put everything I have into running.

Blood/Toenails

Toenail Headband

Skin/Scars (I still haven’t figured out how to remember TO ACTUALLY USE the Body Glide…)

Sweat. Lots of sweat. Lots and LOTS of sweat.

Tears. Happy tears. Sad tears. “My legs don’t want to move and I have 3 more miles to go” tears.

I pour every ounce of my heart and soul into my training to get farther, faster, stronger, with every workout.

But it’s not just about the run. Without a fully fit lifestyle – I wouldn’t be able to reach the running goals.

That’s why I share with you my passion for yoga, strength training, healthy recipes. It’s why I tell you about my relationship with food.  It’s all part of living a fit and healthy lifestyle. 

I share my photos with you and crazy stories about my dog and family to prove that living this fit and healthy lifestyle is fun, fulfilling,  and it’s the fuel that keeps me going. 

It’s also why I’m training to become an NASM Certified Personal Trainer – I want to extend my passion for health and fitness to anyone I can possibly help.

Just ask my family – I am always doling out advice – whether they asked for it or not.

You may be asking yourself, why is she telling us all of this?

I am at a place right now that I finally feel like I can define myself – and every word I use to define myself will fuel my workouts, my food choices, my writing, and my personal relationships. And that makes me HAPPY.

I am a runner

DSC00861CharlestonJan15-2011-Sam5

I am strong

Early RaceSamJimFinish

I am a baker/cook, forever looking for ways to healthify that recipe so that me, my friends, and my family can have the best of both worlds – nutritious AND delicious

2011-12-18_17-35-52_362  Choc Cherry Cupcakes 2Chicken N Pasta

I am a writer – sometimes serious, sometimes silly, always ME, always original

I am a daughter/sister/friend – always there to lend a hand, an ear, advice, or a shoulder

I am a little lot crazy

001 (7)CrazyFun

I am free, happy, and ready to continue on this crazy journey we call life.

I hope you will all continue to follow along because there’s LOTS more where this came from.

Signature

6 Responses to “Defining Self”

  1. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 23, 2012 at 10:42 pm #

    loved everything about this! you’re such a fitness inspiration for me 🙂

  2. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 24, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    So beautiful, Samantha!!! I love following you and reading your witty and interesting blog!! =)

  3. jobo January 24, 2012 at 10:02 am #

    I love this!! You are so passionate and driven and focused on your goals. I love it and love that we’ve met and connect in so many ways! And that you are ever helpful as I work on my own running goals 🙂

  4. Christine @ Love, Life, Surf January 24, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    Such a great post and it makes me so happy for you. I can almost hear a big sigh of relief when I read your description of yourself. So satisfying when everything that you’ve worked for starts to click together.

  5. Kalee January 24, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    It’s a great feeling! You are such an inspiration Samantha!! 🙂 I hope I will be able to do the same “ARE YOU CRAZY?” in a year from now with some of my goals.

  6. JessSutera January 24, 2012 at 9:23 pm #

    I love your heart. That’s what comes out so loud and clear in this post. You are full of LIFE and are so passionate and THAT is what makes me heart you more and more everyday! This was an awesome post!!

Leave a Reply

