Snowy Day Run

21 Jan

I hit the road first thing this morning for a snowy day run. About an inch had fallen by 8:30 a.m. – the roads weren’t clean, but there were also hardly any cars out.

It was 19 degrees, the wind chill made it feel like 7. My gear for this run consisted of:

  • Under Armour Base Layer 1.0 – this is my absolute favorite base layer EVER.  They’re super lightweight, the outside is slippy so you can slide any top layer over them easily, and the inside is soft and fuzzy. And of course, they’re WARM!
  • Saucony Omni Tights – These are the only pair of running tights I own, and I will never buy any other kind. They’re comfortable, warm, and fit perfectly – they never slip or fall down.
  • Long sleeve tech tee from a race
  • Saucony Ethereal Jacket – more gear I love. This jacket is the perfect lightweight running jacket. I wear it practically year round – it protects perfectly from snow, rain, cold weather, and wind!
  • Balaclava, gloves, sunglasses, and Smart Wool socks to protect all my extremities
  • Yak Trax over my Kinvara’s

2012-01-21_08-49-07_76

I was 100% comfortable on this run and I really loved it – proof that if you’re dressed properly you can endure most any weather (you won’t catch me running in a tornado!).

I felt great, but about 2 miles in my shins started to feel funky (Yak Trax perhaps?) so I knew I should just head home. It was truly beautiful out though and I enjoyed every second of it.

2012-01-21_08-33-11_781

2012-01-21_08-48-31_519

Yak trax footprint in the snow

2012-01-21_08-33-06_774

I’m glad I did this for so many reasons, but the #1 reason is:

There is always a way to fit in a workout. Do NOT let excuses get in your way of your success.

What do you do when the weather threatens to get in the way of your training?

What is YOUR No Excuses Mantra?

Signature

13 Responses to “Snowy Day Run”

  1. hshawjr January 21, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    Way to go, running in the snow is not bad, usually the hardest part is getting geared up and opening that door, once you get started, it is actually fun. No one else is around, the view is usually pretty awesome. But come around the middle of March, I will be ready for some warmer, snowless running 🙂

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      That’s why I did it early, before I had time to think about it!

  2. jobo January 21, 2012 at 5:47 pm #

    Great message, friend…there is always a way to fit in some sort of exercise whether it’s a snowy run, some yoga, whatever it may be! And I gotta check out these yak trax I am thinking. Maybe ;-P Cute pic btw!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

      Still would’ve been better eating sushi with the girls though 😉

  3. Heidi @BananaBuzzbomb January 21, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Great job girl! Have always wanted to try Yak Trax. May have to give them a try.

  4. eatingtheweek January 21, 2012 at 6:58 pm #

    Nice work! I snuck out a little ahead of the snowfall for today’s 8-miler, so I only had to deal w/it during the last 20 minutes or so. The Yak Trax sound great – I also run in Kinvaras, and I love them, but they’re like little sleds in the snow!

  5. Brigid (@LiveHuzzah) January 21, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I got a pair of Yak Trax for Christmas. It hasn’t been snowy enough around here for me to use them, so I’m glad to hear from you that they work! I wish we had some real snow this year in the DC area.

  6. Jessica M January 21, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

    My shins were sore too, I think it’s because of the way your stride changes while running in the snow. I wasn’t wearing Yaktrax, but it happened to me too 🙂 I totally agree that it was beautiful. I ran along the beach!

  7. Suzanne January 21, 2012 at 10:35 pm #

    Great job on your run today!

  8. JessSutera January 22, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    Gorgeous pics! I love your message at the end, too – there truly is always a way to fit in a workout (unless its a rest day of course, so important!) even if its not the workout you planned for or envisioned, you can always improvise and get ‘er done. For me, I never have an excuse to miss a run with the treadmill upstairs (SO thankful for that), but if I’m ever not home, traveling, etc., I always bring DVDs I can use in my room, or plan to create my own in-room workout using whatever I have (resistance bands, water bottles, whatever!) to get in a quick strength workout, with lots of body weight style work like push-ups, planks, tricep dips, etc. No excuses! 🙂

  9. Ara M (@aratris) January 22, 2012 at 7:29 pm #

    Awesome job on the run. I love Saucony, so I’ll have to check out those running tights. I’m definitely in the market for cold weather running gear.

    I don’t necessarily have a mantra to get my workout done, I just know it HAS to be done with the races I’ve already paid for.

  10. Marty January 22, 2012 at 11:49 pm #

    I don’t know how you do it. Running in those frigid temps must take everything you got to get going. I live in South Florida and when it’s in the 40’s I have to convince myself to get up and get going.

  11. Christine @ Oatmeal Bowl January 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm #

    While it looks like you had an awesome run and would be something I would potentially do…. 19 degrees is a bit chilly for this so. cal. girl. 😉

    Nice to see winter has come.

Leave a Reply

