Five for Friday: Marathon Training (A Quickie Post)

20 Jan

Marathon training is a crazy thing in life… weird things happen to your mind, your body, your appetite, your everything. Here’s what I’m noticing this time around…

1) I have no life. I mean really. I spend 4 nights a week at the gym, either running or lifting, or both. I run on Saturday. I run on Sunday. Where did my life go? Oh yeah, I left it somewhere out on the road to New Orleans…

2) 9 p.m. feels like a perfectly acceptable bedtime – and when the alarm goes off at 5:30 a.m. sometimes I feel like I haven’t slept.

Tired Kitty

3) I. can’t. stop. eating. As of today I have run 85.5 miles. I’ll break 100 this weekend. Normally I’m pushing myself at the end of the month to break 100 miles – now, it seems like it’s come fast and easy. Perhaps that’s what’s happening to my metabolism? I’m currently eating M&Ms…

mms

Mine are dark pink, light pink, purple, black, and blue from my trip to NYC M&M Store

4) I can’t forget to cut my toenails, apply body glide, and buy GU. Otherwise I’m going to lose toenails (I already have a bruised one with 6 weeks to go til marathon day), have severe chafe (sports bras  and my thighs give me hell – I really can’t win), and bonk during a long run. Which reminds me that I need to hit up REI on Friday night – I don’t know if this goes for all REI locations (it must?) but if you buy 12 of any of the GU/Hammer/Honey Stinger/etc. type products you get 15% off. It’s a good deal and my friend Jen works there so I get to see her (as long as she’s working – it doesn’t always work that way).

I won’t show you a pic of my busted ass toenails – although I almost did…

5) I’m nervous as all hell. I should stop saying 4:30 is my goal, because it isn’t. SUB 4:30 is my goal. 4:29:59 would be perfectly acceptable though. I know I can do this but I’m freaking out.

What if it’s super hot out?

What if my hip gives out?

What if I don’t bring enough GU?

Eeeeeeek somebody make it stop…do these nerves ever go away (somebody please tell me they do or I may go freakin’ postal).

This is all for today. I hope I didn’t scare anyone away from running a marathon, and I hope I can calm down in the next 6 weeks!

Have a GREAT Friday everyone!

Signature

31 Responses to “Five for Friday: Marathon Training (A Quickie Post)”

  1. MizFit January 20, 2012 at 6:02 am #

    ahhh the M&M store in Vegas.
    We hearted ye.

    HAPPY FRIDAY CUPCAKE 🙂

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 5:57 pm #

      It’s a good thing I don’t live near an M&M store… that is all 😉

  2. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 20, 2012 at 6:05 am #

    Samantha – you shouldn’t worry about things out of your control on race day! Obviously not bringing enough gu will be on you (haha) but the other ones are possibilities – you just have to have the confidence in your training that you will be fine regardless of what is thrown at you.
    I really believe you will have no issue with 4:30 (I think you can do it much faster too)! You can do mile repeats sub 8 – running at a 930 min pace for the marathon will be a piece of cake!
    And I agree with all points you made – when I really get in deep with marathon training – my social life disappears (but I think it’s worth it in the end!)
    Great post!!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      You are such a great cheerleader Michele, thank you so much for all of your help, words of wisdom, and encouragement!

  3. bearrunner January 20, 2012 at 6:58 am #

    Isn’t it fun?????? haha

    cheers

  4. Nicole January 20, 2012 at 7:16 am #

    trust in your training! No point in worrying! Happy Weekend! 🙂 I also love the 9 oclock bedtime..you’re not alone!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 5:58 pm #

      I know if I worry too much I’ll just drive myself crazy! I’m trying to overcome the worry – more long runs will help build the confidence I need.

  5. Nikki January 20, 2012 at 7:20 am #

    I am on week 2 of training and my toes sure are blistered! I also think I feel shin splints coming on….oh the life of a runner!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 5:59 pm #

      Blistered toes and shin splints? Yikes! Are you wearing the right shoes?

  6. jobo January 20, 2012 at 9:17 am #

    as long as they are good nerves, I think they are just fine 😉 for me, nerves paralyze me, or have in the past, so I try to channel those nerves into something positive! but I think you definitely will reach your goal, and even if you don’t, you will STILL rock your time, because no matter what, it will be freaking awesome. And now I want some M&Ms!!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      You’re awesome 🙂 They are good nerves – I’m ready for this!

  7. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 20, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    quite honestly i can’t imagine running 100 miles in an entire YEAR, let alone a week….so to say you impress me is an understatement! keep it up girl.

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      Thanks girl! I love it, maybe a little too much at times 😉

  8. Tara Burner January 20, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    You got this…no worries 🙂
    and mmmmmmm M&M store in Vegas!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      M&M’s right? I wish I could go to that store all the time…but then again…that could be bad

  9. runningwithsass January 20, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    haha you sound like I did last year before my marathon! I’m sure you will do great!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:02 pm #

      Thanks – it’s my 3rd, but it’s my first with a dead set time-goal, so yeah I’m nervous, but I know I just have to trust in my training.

  10. Madeline@Food, Fitness,Family January 20, 2012 at 9:39 am #

    100 miles … in a week?? Or a month? Haha. Either one is AMAZING! Just let go of your anxiety … you got this!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

      Oh gosh, in a month. My body would leave me if I tried to do that in a week!

  11. JessSutera January 20, 2012 at 10:19 am #

    YOU GOT THIS.
    That is all. 🙂

  12. janetha January 20, 2012 at 11:54 am #

    I have no life and I am not marathon training. I blame it on age 😉 I can’t run for more than 3 miles without being bored out of my mind, so I salute you!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

      I only get that bored on the TM – Otherwise I’m good!

  13. Tina @ Best Body Fitness January 20, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

    I have no doubt you can reach your goals! Although I get the nerves. My full isn’t for another few months and I’m already like “am I really doing this??”

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:04 pm #

      HAHA Wait until it gets closer. But, I will tell you that first one is like nothing you will ever experience in your fitness life (I’d say life – but you have two beautiful children – I don’t have any kids so I don’t know how that one feels!)

  14. lindsay January 20, 2012 at 5:42 pm #

    the nerves will cease and you will get excited instead. That first mile is hard, but then you will settle in. Don’t overthink, just enjoy the ride…. well as much as you can. hehe.

  15. Suzanne January 20, 2012 at 10:04 pm #

    You’re going to do great! Obviously you are well prepared and have put the training in. You’ll be fine!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:06 pm #

      Thank you for the encouragement!

  16. Ruth (@Imakemyself_) January 25, 2012 at 12:02 pm #

    I am training for my first marathon (gulp) Im on my 5th week now. I get anxious every now and then wondering if my training plan is good enough, if I will be mentally and physically ready and like you say…I can’t believe how hungry I am -all the time!!!!!- I’m battling to make smart food choices when my body is asking me for a huge burger! I also feel that my body is sore! I was joking the other time with my husband telling him I don’t remember what is like not feel muscles soreness anymore! when is your marathon? mine is in april!

  17. sweetopiagirl January 27, 2012 at 1:30 am #

    Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

Leave a Reply

