Making Some Changes

19 Jan

I alluded to some dietary changes I’d be making a couple weeks ago.

It has now been ten days where the only meat that has crossed these lips has been chicken and fish (does fish count as meat?). And not much, at that.

So far, I don’t feel different. My energy levels haven’t changed, my satiety levels haven’t changed.

So what is happening here…?

1) The obvious. I’m no longer eating red meat and pork. I may eventually cut back on poultry too. One thing I will never give up – seafood. I love it too much, see:

004 (17)

006 (7)

Give up sushi and lobster? Never in a MILLION years!

2) I will never go full blown vegan. I will still eat yogurt, cheese, butter, eggs (I don’t really eat that many eggs – but I do bake a lot!).  I don’t drink milk – that’s related to a severe acne flare up I had when I increased my milk intake (something about the hormones in dairy and excessive dairy consumption – it can screw with people who are prone to acne problems).

3) I have to get more creative in the kitchen.  As an athlete (can I call myself that?) I know how important protein is. So, it’s time for me to get creative. I have two vegan cookbooks that I think will be extremely helpful (Peas and Thank You and Skinny Bitch: Ultimate Everyday Cookbook). I plan on making lentil “meat” balls for me and my brother on Saturday night.

Books

That top book won’t do me much good in the kitchen, but it’s a great read!

Tonight I had Mama Pea’s Spanish Quinoa, which I added pinto beans too for extra protein.

2012-01-18_19-49-51_455

4) The challenge. Living with 3 other carnivores (5 if you count the dogs…). My mother wants to make steak and it makes her sad if Sunday dinner isn’t something everyone likes. I’m perfectly content with a black bean burger, a turkey burger, or a chicken breast… she’ll probably get used to it just in time for me to move back out on my own. But I did thank both her and my brother tonight because neither one of them has uttered a peep of dislike or judgment towards my lifestyle change. And for that I am grateful.

5) I had a #5 but it slipped my mind… I guess that means it’s time to wrap up.

What does a runner who doesn’t eat meat do for protein other than the obvious beans, dairy, etc.… please send me your suggestions!

Signature

26 Responses to “Making Some Changes”

  1. Nicole January 19, 2012 at 6:19 am #

    Brown rice, quinoa and millet have about 5-6 grams of protein per serving. Also oats. I like making bean burgers in large amounts so I’ll have it for the week. I saw that you don’t like soy, but what about fermented soy like tempeh?

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

      It’s not that I don’t like soy, but I’m afraid of it. My mother had estrogen fed breast cancer (she survived and is doing well, which I am so grateful for), so I don’t actively seek out soy products because of the estrogen.

  2. Miz January 19, 2012 at 6:33 am #

    it’s number three here, too.
    I neeed to git my creative on 🙂

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      I’m definitely going to sit down and read those cookbooks, the mama pea cookbook is truly amazing!

  3. Tara Burner January 19, 2012 at 7:08 am #

    swear by quinoa, brown rice, natural homemade peanut butter… black bean burgers are yummmmy too

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

      I LOVE black bean burgers so much!! Homemade peanut butter? What do you do?

  4. ali January 19, 2012 at 8:24 am #

    quinoa, tempeh, beans, nothing unusual… just stay away from processed vegetarian “substitute meats”… also another great resource is the “veganimicon” cookbook and mark bittman’s “how to cook everything vegetarian” and check out http://www.nomeatathlete.com. his most recent post is about resources for new vegetarians and although he is vegan there is lots of good info especially for athletes! good luck with the marathon training!

  5. JessSutera January 19, 2012 at 9:11 am #

    I am dying to make my own veggie burgers, no idea why I haven’t done it yet but that would be a great way to get lots of protein bang for the buck with the right ingredients, right? Yum! (and see? now I’m hungry lol)

  6. jobo January 19, 2012 at 9:13 am #

    I love the tweaks, I am pretty similar to you in that I actually just tend to eat more chicken and fish (and pork!) and not as much red meat so cutting back on that wouldn’t be that bad and I also love chicken and veggie burgers too! I think with the combo of things you have here, you still have plenty of protein as a runner!

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      I thought so too, I just have to make sure I’m diligent about including protein sources at all meals. I have no problem sitting down with a huge salad of nothing but veggies.

  7. Lindsay @ The Lean Green Bean January 19, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    you absolutely are an athlete!! your new diet sounds pretty darn similar to mine 🙂

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:11 pm #

      Thank you dear! I’m going to have to stalk through your recipes and find some good stuff to make!

  8. mileswithstyle (@ahatfield08) January 19, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Good for you for making these changes!! I am on my way to doing these things as well….it is hard to get started, that is for sure!

    P.S. I have this same blog layout 🙂

    Ali

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:10 pm #

      Awesome, we can keep in touch about all the changes!!!!

  9. Jocelyn @ Enthusiastic Runner January 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm #

    I love how you forgot #5 – That happens to me all the time!

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      I was writing my Five for Friday post and almost forgot #5 again, perhaps I should stop blogging while tired!

  10. Tina @ Best Body Fitness January 19, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

    I’m big on quinoa, beans, protein powder in recovery shakes, eggs, some dairy, and the occasional use of edamame or tofu. I do eat some meat as well but mostly veg and those are my regular go-to options.

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:09 pm #

      And you don’t find that you’re missing out on any important nutrients, right?

  11. krissy m. murphy January 19, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    Quinoa black bean burgers are so good! I also love just mish mashing random things together…BBQ tofu, for one, was a surprise hit for my meat-eating hubby!

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

      Quinoa black bean burgers? Sounds delicious!

      BBQ Tofu huh? I’ve never tried tofu other than in a recipe when you couldn’t tell it was there.

  12. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 19, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    This is exactly how I ate for years (6 or 7) until I got pregnant! Then I started craving red meat so much that I decided it was my body’s way of telling me it needed it! Since then, I have continued to eat red meat – but in moderation. I don’t eat pork, sausage, etc! =)
    There are some really great cookbooks out there that focus on vegetarian diets! I make a lot of things with beans, quinoa, and veggies!!! =)
    Good luck on your new journey!!! =)

    • runcupcake January 19, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

      I’m sure their may be a time if I see a really nice steak that I’m going to want it, and I won’t resist, but I’m not seeking it out. Never been a big fan of other red meats anyway.

      I need to look into more cookbooks, and start getting creative! I love beans, quinoa, and veggies so this should be easy!

  13. Heidi @BananaBuzzbomb January 20, 2012 at 8:08 am #

    Hey girl! Having turned vegetarian in 2008 and then going vegan in 2010 I’m familiar with this. I second darn near everything everyone has said. I’d also like to say, don’t get hung up on the idea that you need a ton o’ protein. So many think you do. If you eat regularly, good/whole foods, chances are you will be fine. It’s when you eat the junk and only live on that…then you’ll have problems. Good luck and I look forward to following your journey!

    • runcupcake January 21, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

      Thanks hun, I feel great so far, and I’ve had so many great recommendations – I’ll be in touch!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Defining Self « Running and Cupcakes - January 23, 2012

    […] share with you my passion for yoga, strength training, healthy recipes. It’s why I tell you about my relationship with food.  It’s all part of living a fit and healthy […]

Leave a Reply

