Tuesday Tempo

17 Jan

I’m so clever. Really I just love alliteration, and rhyming. I’m strange, I know, you can tell me.

Anyhoo so I’ve been MIA for 2 days right? I am having a problem with time management.

I’ll get it figured out though, don’t you worry!

In the meantime, tonight is a shorty, just to tell you all I’m still alive and haven’t dropped off of the face of the Earth.

I’m changing up my run schedule by adding another run, starting this week. I’m hoping this along with my long runs helps build the endurance I need to kick boo-tay in Nawlins. It’s all about endurance baby. I can run fast – my 5k PR is a 7:56 average pace. Not as fast as some, but WAY fast enough to blow a 4:30 marathon time out of the water (and a 2 hour half marathon) – if only I had the endurance. Hence, the run-schedule change up.

Out with the old:

Old Run Schedule

In with the new:

New Run Schedule

So, it’s not that different. But now I have 3 days of running back to back – with leg rest before my long run, and after a hard weekend. I’m hoping both the 3 days back to back, and the post-long run recovery, not only build strength, but endurance. Along with my long run of course.

I have no idea how this will workout – and of course I’ll pull back if I start to feel like things aren’t working out. I’ll sacrifice a weeknight run if my legs are particularly unhappy with me, because I know I can’t sacrifice the long run (Coachy will kick my ass!).

I hope this is my ticket to a sub 2-hour half and a sub-4:30 marathon. Wish me luck!

Signature

8 Responses to “Tuesday Tempo”

  1. JessSutera January 18, 2012 at 12:16 am #

    I like your plan! Seems a little scary to have three runs in a row but at the same time? It might be what you need to buld that rundurance, like you said. I’m gonna watch you and see how it goes but may decide to up my runs a bit too, at least maybe leading into Providence (if I want to PR it…) and then I’l pull back a bit – do NOT want to risk overtraining once it’s time to focus on my marathon, so we’ll see. For now, I’m good with the four runs a week – pray for me tomorrow that my run mojo is back though, that run today was BRUTAL city. Oy.

  2. Don Matteson January 18, 2012 at 7:32 am #

    You have a great mix here. The only tweak I’d make is to swap your Monday and Tuesday workouts. I like to have a rest/cross-training/recovery day between quality runs. A medium-hard tempo run and speed work back-to-back might compromise recovery (read: strengthening and adaptation) and increase your injury risk.

    • runcupcake January 18, 2012 at 5:06 pm #

      Thanks Don. I’ve thought about what you said, and I’ll definite play the tempo/speed days by ear, throwing recovery in between if my body says so

  3. jobo January 18, 2012 at 9:45 am #

    The three in a row could get tricky, but knowing you, you will focus on quality runs and make sure your legs are ready to go for each and every run, right?? 😉 Your schedule looks great, and it has a great combo of variety – cross-training, running, strength. Rock on girl!!

    • runcupcake January 18, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

      I should have said that this isnt 100% fixed….I’ll swap things as necessary, while making sure I always get my 3 quality runs in

  4. Michele @ nycrunningmama January 18, 2012 at 2:42 pm #

    This is great, Samantha!!! Glad to see you doing 3 quality workouts! I think you are going to crush 4, let alone 430 =) So excited for you!

    • runcupcake January 18, 2012 at 5:02 pm #

      Thank you so much Michele, you’re such a great supporter!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Defining Self « Running and Cupcakes - January 23, 2012

    […] pour every ounce of my heart and soul into my training to get farther, faster, stronger, with every […]

Leave a Reply

